We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
Ranked #46 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

We are a family of 4 and have been in Edinburgh visiting relatives. We have had a wonderful few days, the staff at this hotel are all excellent cannot say a negative word. They are always smiling and you are made to feel that nothing is too much trouble. Great location clean and very comfortable an extra special thank you to the manager (he was on duty both on our arrival on Sunday and again on our departure today at the front desk and actually last night too!) who I am sure is behind the success of this happy team. Have stayed here in the past and would not hesitate to stay here again. Thank you Janis

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKD866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Janis,
Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted that you had a wonderful few days and that you found are staff to be excellent.
I’m glad that you enjoyed our location and felt that our hotel was clean and comfortable.
Douglas will be chuffed to have been singled out for a mention as he always ensures that the team that he is on shift with provide a happy and relaxed atmosphere for our guests to enjoy.
We do hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
Andrew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    632
    201
    37
    9
See reviews for
269
627
30
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed here in February 2013 whist at Murrayfield for the Wales v Scotland Rugby International and enjoyed our stay so much we decided to return for a Edinburgh mini-break.
Like last year, we found the hotel to be ideal for our needs well run with pleasant, courteous and helpful staff. Ideally situated for a visit to the Royal Yacht Britannia which is located just less than five minute walk away, it also has a bus stop right outside with a very regular bus service into the city. The hotel offers a 'free' breakfast which is adequate and plentiful. Pick your time to go for breakfast, get it wrong and it can resemble a bit of a rugby scrum when seating becomes a premium. That said, they do open the conference room which is annexed to the dining area and offers additional seating. The rooms are functional, clean and serviced on a daily basis and ideal for a short stay which is what these hotels are intended for.
Now the one bug bear, the WI-Fi is a pain and slow! Although an improvement on the paltry six hours per day offered last year, it is not; in my opinion, user friendly. We were allocated free WI-Fi for the duration of our stay for which you are given a code to enter along with your name and address. No problem there and in my experience, the norm. The real pain is having to keep entering all this detail each time you leave the hotel and then return later in the day/evening or even sometimes when moving between the bar/seating are and your room. The set up appears not to let your device(s) log on to known networks.
Notwithstanding the above gripe, I think this hotel offers value for money, has everything you need and is ideally located for a quiet break and within easy walking distance of some fine eatery's on what is termed as the 'shore.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear David H,
Welcome back and thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted that you were happy with the most aspects of your stay though I apologise for the frustration that is caused when using our fee wi-fi access.
The good news is that a new log-in portal is being rolled out across our hotels and this will help enormously in eradicating the log in issues that you encountered.
It’s my understanding that this new portal will be available by the end of May and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future when you can take advantage of the improved free wi-fi access that we offer.
Kind regards,

Andrew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester Le Street
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Visited this hotel for a one night stay hotel room clean and tidy staff pleasant an helpfull , but the biggest letdown by far was breakfast . Much is made by the hotel to say breakfast is free but that is no excuse to offer such bland basic food . Coffee and tea from machines not very nice at all . Toasters that are very slow , no tongs ,fruit juice watery mushy grapefruit I could go on ! this is the first time we have visited a Holiday Inn hotel and probably the last !

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlennChesterLeStreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear GlennChesterLeStreet,
Many thanks for posting a review of your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted that you were happy with most aspects of your stay and scored us highly for our cleanliness, rooms and location.
I’m sorry that you did not enjoy our free breakfast as this is well received by the majority of our guests.
I’m also sorry that you will not choose to visit a Holiday Inn again, though I do hope that you may have a change of heart and give the Holiday Inn Express brand another chance.
Kind regards,
Andrew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Review refers to a 4 night leisure stay last week.
We use HIE regularly now and this did not disappoint.
We travelled up to Scotland by car, and wanted somewhere to stay in or close to the city but with free parking and good public transport to all attractions.
This fitted the bill perfectly.
Located near the waterfront at Leith, adjacent to a bus terminus, and with a mall across the road.

Check in was straightforward ( although I thought the reception was a bit too eager to tell me that the IHG priority Club points would not be given as I had made the booking via a third party website rather than directly online- something I had not realised but did not bother me).

The room was a mix up- I must have ticked or not ticked the right box so we ended up with an Accessible room, which we do not need. We offered to change- someone who needed these facilities should have preference- but they apparently had no regular doubles left. The furnishings appear to be of a higher quality than a "normal" room.
Everything spotless, as usual.

Overall an unimpressive start, however everything else was fine.

The included breakfast is beyond criticism. We have only ever found bacon in one HIE.
We always try and get down early to avoid peak times. This HIE has a mix of business and leisure customers- incl several coach tours, but everything ran smoothly- clearly the staff take volumes in their stride.

The strong suit of this location is the ease in getting around the area by bus. you can buy a £3.50 daily pass from the driver and all of the buses stop literally outside.
The 22 is the most direct route to the city centre, takes about 15-20 mins.
Even going right across Edinburgh and out the other side ( to Rosslyn Chapel) took an hour with one change.
There is a useful free city map sheet available in reception.

The waterfront mall opposite, to which the Royal Yacht Britannia is moored, is handy, with several chain eating establishments, and anchored with a Debenhams store. there is a cinema although seems a waste of time when there are so many sights to see.

We did not eat in. Drinks prices from the bar at the higher end.

We intend to come back to Edinburgh again, so much to see and do, and we will stay here as first choice.

Room Tip: make sure you do not ask for an accessible room by mistake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear tripeagle,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for providing us with comprehensive comments regarding every aspect of your stay.
I’m delighted that you found most aspects of your stay to be to your satisfaction, though I apologise for the slight blips during your check-in.
I’m glad that you enjoyed our location and were able to leave your car in our free car park whist you used public transport to explore the attractions of the local area.
I’m also glad that you found your room to be spotless and that you felt that our free Express Start hot buffet breakfast was beyond criticism.
I’m delighted that we will be your first choice when you next visit Edinburgh and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Andrew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a midweek break exploring Edinburgh and it was everything we needed.
The room was everything you'd expect from this type of accommodation, except the tv, that was much better!
The breakfast was fine, nothing special but enough to choose from.
Best bit for us was that we parked the car in the free hotel car park and were able to leave it there all week as there was a bus stop right in front of the inn that took you to Princes street, the royal mile etc for £1.50.
I'd stay here again, as long as the deal was right!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Simon C,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

It’s great to hear that your room was to your satisfaction and I’m pleased that you were impressed with the TV. We upgraded to flat screen televisions in all our rooms in 2013 and they have proven very popular.


I hope that you will be back to stay with us again soon.

Best Regards,
Fiona
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

If and anyone can find a hotel in Edinburgh for 2people including a buffet breakfast for £50 then they have done well. Cannot fault anything about the hotel and the staff. Ideal location for visit to . Royal Yacht. Bus fare from city centre to Hotel is only £1.50p. Cannot believe some of the negative comments from the moaners. Makes me think they reviewed the wrong hotel.
Road noise, watery eggs, lumpy pillows cold rooms..etc etc Utter rubbish. Cannot believe how the management can be so polite when replying to these comments.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chick60Middlesbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMexpressedinburgh, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear chick60middlesbrough,

Thank you for this great review of your stay with us.

I am pleased to hear that you were satisfied with all aspects of your stay. It is really encouraging to hear such lovely comments. We do appreciate all feedback that we receive from our guests as it helps us improve and maintain our high service standards.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Best Regards,
Fiona
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Lovely hotel in all senses. Very helpful staff, amazingly clean rooms, huge variety for breakfast (which is free!), free parking, free wifi, even down to choosing firm or soft pillows!

Even though the hotel is outside the city centre, the 45 min walk to princes street is easy and passes a variety of shops and cafes making it an interesting little stroll. (A taxi only cost £ 8 anyway)

We're definitely staying the next time were up!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meghorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMexpressedinburgh, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Meghorner,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. It’s great to hear that all aspects of your stay were to your satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel next time you are up.

Best Regards,

Fiona
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#41 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#108 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront

Property: Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
Address: Britannia Way, Ocean Drive | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 6JJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#49 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront offering free Wi-Fi, air conditioning, great value rates with an inclusive buffet breakfast. Enjoy free parking at the hotel and its superb location, which is ideal for exploring this charming and fascinating city. The Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront is located next to Ocean Terminal, Edinburgh's newest leisure and shopping destination, the Scottish Executive, the Royal Yacht Britannia & close to all major business areas. The old port area of Edinburgh-Leith has many atmospheric bars, bistros and boutiques & is only 1.5 miles from the city centre. Alternatively you can relax and unwind in our cosy lounge bar. The Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront has good parking with 60 spaces available at the hotel on a first-come-first-served basis and there is also ample additional parking available at Ocean Terminal, opposite. There is a frequent public bus service from the front door making it an ideal location for visiting all of Edinburgh's famous attractions such as Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, The Royal Mile, Princes Street, national museums and galleries. We are delighted to unveil our brand new bedrooms which feature a whole new look. You can enjoy modern décor, irons and ironing boards and brand new hairdryers so that you look your best. Additionally our bedrooms are now packed with even more facilities including a comfy sofa (in family rooms) with a movable table, a wall-mounted TV, USB ports and power sockets next to your bed, nifty reading lights and full-width curtains which will make the rooms even cosier. The en suite shower rooms have also been spruced up with cool, fresh decor. We can't wait for your to experience our cool new look! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express Leith
Leith Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing