We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but hopeless for parking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
Ranked #46 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We have stayed here a couple of times before and found it quite comfortable. The free breakfast is a bonus as is parking in Edinburgh. This time however we arrived and booked in at 5.30pm on a Friday evening. There were only a few places left in the car park. We freshened up and went out again for dinner and to see the Christmas markets and all the lights. We returned at 9.30 to find no parking spaces left in the hotel car park. When I spoke to the receptionist she said that it was okay to park on the ajoining road which led to a government building. She said it was quite safe. There were 3 tour buses parked in the car park taking up quite a lot of space. At breakfast the next morning we had to wait for five minutes to get a table and chairs. The bus parties had breakfasted and were waiting in the seats for their departure. On leaving we saw that the sign in the car park said that there was parking for 55 cars but the hotel has over 150 rooms. My tip if you stay here don't leave the car park after 5.30 if you need a parking space.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMexpressedinburgh, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Dear Ray983,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
It is great to hear from a returning guest and I am pleased that you find your stays here confortable.

I am sorry to hear that you had problems parking. Admittedly when the hotel is fully booked our car park can get very busy and as one of the few hotels in Edinburgh offering free parking it is a very popular option to drive to the hotel. As you have mentioned there are free parking alternatives in and around the hotel premises when our marked bays are full. If you are staying with us again we can help you with information on using the excellent public transport connections which operate 24 hours. This will also save your from paying for expensive city centre parking.

I am also sorry to hear that you found breakfast to be very busy. Again when the hotel is fully booked breakfast can get very busy at peak times. Where possible, and especially when there are large groups in house, we try to advise guests of the peak times so that they can be avoided. Unfortunately this can be difficult to predict especially at weekends when most people enjoy a longer sleep in the morning.

I hope that you will be back to stay with us again soon.

Best Regards,
Fiona
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,487)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

824 - 830 of 1,487 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2013

I loved my stay here, its very affordable and extra things like toothpaste and a toothbrush can be picked up from reception - perfect because I booked last minuted and had forgotten mine. The rooms are clean and tidy and have everything you would need and the breakfast is very nice too. All in all great for what it is. It's by no means a luxury hotel but I don't think anyone ever said it was. Staff were also really helpful about getting buses into the centre and local knowledge.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Great location and free parking, not bad for Edinburgh!
rooms are fine and as you would expect with this group, always great showers!
Breakfast is fine the reception staff are always friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: All rooms are fine and remarkably quiet given the location, lifts can be problematic so if you strug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandyHd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Overall the hotel was fine. Only think was the heating wasn't working and the draft from the windows could have cut you in half. The receptionist did tell us in the morning there was a problem with the heating but we could of had a small fire.

Breakfast was very busy and didn't have a lit of choice.

Was cheep and cheerful

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kazza74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Kazza74,
Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us.
I’m glad that you were happy with your overall stay though I apologise if there was an issue with the heating in your room. We do provide spare heaters to help to increase the temperatures in the rooms should they be required by our guests.
We have had an external contractor conduct a survey of our guest room windows and all repairs highlighted in this survey will be carried out in January of next year.
I do hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
Andrew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Nice and clean. Close to the shopping centre. 10 mins away from the area called the shore. It has some nice places to eat. Hotel staff very helpful and professional, could not be more helpful. We had a weekend stay in the hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank bigemf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Lovely hotel with great bus links to city centre.Staff very helpful with bus times. Breakfast was fine if a little bit busy but a table was always available.Will definitely stay here again.Big bonus was the free car parking at hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bike320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location and and cost low.
Breakfast very basic (reflects cost of stay)
Rooms could do with a bit of TLC, mould noted in bathroom around tiles and shower.
Found reception staff friendly and approachable.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotties2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMexpressedinburgh, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Scotties2012,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us and for your kind comments about our team and location.

Thank you for bringing the bathroom tiles to our attention we are always keen to improve our guest’s experiences wherever we can.

I hope that you will be back to stay with us again soon.

Regards,
Fiona
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,634 reviews
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#112 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront

Address: Ocean Drive | Britannia Way, Edinburgh EH6 6JJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $69 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Reception, bar and Great Room lounge are undergoing a fabulous transformation from January to early February 2018. During this time, there will be no food available and guests will receive a continental Grab & Go breakfast. We can't wait to unveil our cool new look! Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront offering free Wi-Fi, cool and convenient bedrooms and great value rates with an inclusive buffet breakfast. Enjoy free parking (limited spaces) at the hotel and its superb location, which is ideal for exploring this charming and fascinating city. The Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront is located next to Ocean Terminal, Edinburgh's newest leisure and shopping destination, the Scottish Executive, the Royal Yacht Britannia & close to all major business areas. The old port area of Edinburgh-Leith has many atmospheric bars, bistros and boutiques & is only 1.5 miles from the city centre. Alternatively you can relax and unwind in our cosy lounge bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express Leith
Leith Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing