We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sunshine on Leith”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
Ranked #47 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Great location and free parking, not bad for Edinburgh!
rooms are fine and as you would expect with this group, always great showers!
Breakfast is fine the reception staff are always friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: All rooms are fine and remarkably quiet given the location, lifts can be problematic so if you strug...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandyHd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,432)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

776 - 782 of 1,433 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Overall the hotel was fine. Only think was the heating wasn't working and the draft from the windows could have cut you in half. The receptionist did tell us in the morning there was a problem with the heating but we could of had a small fire.

Breakfast was very busy and didn't have a lit of choice.

Was cheep and cheerful

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kazza74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Kazza74,
Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us.
I’m glad that you were happy with your overall stay though I apologise if there was an issue with the heating in your room. We do provide spare heaters to help to increase the temperatures in the rooms should they be required by our guests.
We have had an external contractor conduct a survey of our guest room windows and all repairs highlighted in this survey will be carried out in January of next year.
I do hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
Andrew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Nice and clean. Close to the shopping centre. 10 mins away from the area called the shore. It has some nice places to eat. Hotel staff very helpful and professional, could not be more helpful. We had a weekend stay in the hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank bigemf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Lovely hotel with great bus links to city centre.Staff very helpful with bus times. Breakfast was fine if a little bit busy but a table was always available.Will definitely stay here again.Big bonus was the free car parking at hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bike320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location and and cost low.
Breakfast very basic (reflects cost of stay)
Rooms could do with a bit of TLC, mould noted in bathroom around tiles and shower.
Found reception staff friendly and approachable.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotties2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMexpressedinburgh, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Scotties2012,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us and for your kind comments about our team and location.

Thank you for bringing the bathroom tiles to our attention we are always keen to improve our guest’s experiences wherever we can.

I hope that you will be back to stay with us again soon.

Regards,
Fiona
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

just back from scotland,i took three kids and stayed at the fab holiday inn express,the staff were so helpful and the breakfast was well worth waking up for.I had a wonderful 50th birthday and found the edinburgh fantastic,also good bars and food in leith,so didnt have to travel to city each night

Room Tip: take yourself some tea bags and coffee with you,although you get a couple each day,its handy at nigh...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulwilliams1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Had an excellent stay at the Holiday Inn Edinburgh, Waterside. The location is superb, an easy trip into Edinburgh Centre, some great bars and restaurants nearby and on the doorstep of Ocean Terminal and Britannia.

The rooms are bright, modern and comfortable, but the staff here are the stars of the show. Nothing was too much trouble and they were always welcoming and helpful.

I'd be surprised if you could find better value for money in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarrenCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#108 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#87 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,549 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront

Address: Britannia Way, Ocean Drive | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 6JJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#49 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $85 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront offering free Wi-Fi, air conditioning, great value rates with an inclusive buffet breakfast. Enjoy free parking at the hotel and its superb location, which is ideal for exploring this charming and fascinating city. The Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront is located next to Ocean Terminal, Edinburgh's newest leisure and shopping destination, the Scottish Executive, the Royal Yacht Britannia & close to all major business areas. The old port area of Edinburgh-Leith has many atmospheric bars, bistros and boutiques & is only 1.5 miles from the city centre. Alternatively you can relax and unwind in our cosy lounge bar. The Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront has good parking with 60 spaces available at the hotel on a first-come-first-served basis and there is also ample additional parking available at Ocean Terminal, opposite. There is a frequent public bus service from the front door making it an ideal location for visiting all of Edinburgh's famous attractions such as Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, The Royal Mile, Princes Street, national museums and galleries. We are delighted to unveil our brand new bedrooms which feature a whole new look. You can enjoy modern décor, irons and ironing boards and brand new hairdryers so that you look your best. Additionally our bedrooms are now packed with even more facilities including a comfy sofa (in family rooms) with a movable table, a wall-mounted TV, USB ports and power sockets next to your bed, nifty reading lights and full-width curtains which will make the rooms even cosier. The en suite shower rooms have also been spruced up with cool, fresh decor. We can't wait for your to experience our cool new look! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express Leith
Leith Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing