We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic done well”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
Ranked #47 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Basic done well”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Using Holiday Inn Express you are not looking for extra bells and whistles, they are the basic for Holiday Inn group. I have stayed in all the Holiday Inn Hotels of any brand in Edinburgh. This one is on the waterfront in Leith where the Royal Yacht Brittania is berthed. There are restaurants in walking distance and many more within a short trip. Shops at the Ocean terminal complex and close enough to downtown Edinburgh. Good reception, very friendly, the Hotel is clean tidy and well run. Could do with a bit more parking but in fairness there is parking close by as well. No complaints we were well looked after and it is quiet and easy to sleep there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    662
    206
    38
    9
See reviews for
278
650
32
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly staff made this a good stay. It's a basic room, but has got all you need. Shame there wasn't a bath in the room. Breakfast was a bit disappointing, being piled up foods.
Location was great as easy to get into town using buses from Ocean Terminal.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Droesje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMexpressedinburgh, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Droesje,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us.

I’m pleased that our team made this a good stay for you. Providing great customer service is one of our top priorities.

As a Holiday Inn Express all of our rooms have power showers as a standard, unfortunately this means that none of our rooms have a bath.

I’m sorry that you were disappointed with breakfast. This is an area that we are always reviewing so your feedback is most appreciated.

I hope that you will be back to visit us again soon.

Best Regards,
Fiona
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Excellent location which is quiet although near to amenities. Extremely efficient bus service to Princes Street at a cost of £1.50 single per person (saves petrol & parking fees!). Visited for a second time with my wife, sister in law & brother in law. Staff very attentive, efficient and friendly (ALL of them). Cannot fault. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

lovely location and pretty good for a HIX in the UK. staff were friendly, breakfast was actually a better quality that others I've stayed in... Plus not being in the actual city centre was a welcome break.

The bus runs often, cabs are cheap and the walk into the city centre isn't too bad. Plus you pass some amazing bars!

Definitely recommend this if you're on a driving trip, as it has free car parking.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CraigsLists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Spent here only 1 night, for that it was ok for us. Didnt get the room we booked, because hotel was fully booked (kinda understandable). There was no more parking place anymore when we arrived so had to part just outside of hotel fence (5 min walk). Hotel seemed to be very busy so we could understand the situation. Breakfast just like in other Expresses in the UK. Could have a restaurant though, pizza is ok but could have had a nicer dinner within the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Istvan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katanning Western Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed two nights on arrival from Madrid. From what we saw it is a very busy hotel catering for busloads of tourists and business clients. Our check in was very matter of fact but witnessing the traffic of guests it is understandable. Our later dealings with reception were very helpful. It has a good location being across from the Ocean Terminal and Royal Yacht Britannia and nice restaurants. Breakfast average after Madrid! Our room was very comfortable and being close to reception I feared a noisy stay but was happily surprised that it was very quiet apart from guests leaving or arriving to their rooms. Good parking and even though we had a car we took the 22 bus from just outside the hotel, into Edinburgh which was great. Thank you to the staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank camnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

As my title says a comfortable stay at this hotel, again as it says an express there are no frills here but clean tidy although carpets in lobbies are well trod but what else would expect in such a busy hotel, staff helpful and friendly, there is a free breakfast in the morning where there is a good choice of fruits cereals and hot foods yes i would stay again

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bluejames985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#107 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#84 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,504 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront

Property: Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
Address: Britannia Way, Ocean Drive | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 6JJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#49 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront offering free Wi-Fi, air conditioning, great value rates with an inclusive buffet breakfast. Enjoy free parking at the hotel and its superb location, which is ideal for exploring this charming and fascinating city. The Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront is located next to Ocean Terminal, Edinburgh's newest leisure and shopping destination, the Scottish Executive, the Royal Yacht Britannia & close to all major business areas. The old port area of Edinburgh-Leith has many atmospheric bars, bistros and boutiques & is only 1.5 miles from the city centre. Alternatively you can relax and unwind in our cosy lounge bar. The Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront has good parking with 60 spaces available at the hotel on a first-come-first-served basis and there is also ample additional parking available at Ocean Terminal, opposite. There is a frequent public bus service from the front door making it an ideal location for visiting all of Edinburgh's famous attractions such as Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, The Royal Mile, Princes Street, national museums and galleries. We are delighted to unveil our brand new bedrooms which feature a whole new look. You can enjoy modern décor, irons and ironing boards and brand new hairdryers so that you look your best. Additionally our bedrooms are now packed with even more facilities including a comfy sofa (in family rooms) with a movable table, a wall-mounted TV, USB ports and power sockets next to your bed, nifty reading lights and full-width curtains which will make the rooms even cosier. The en suite shower rooms have also been spruced up with cool, fresh decor. We can't wait for your to experience our cool new look! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express Leith
Leith Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing