We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and extremely good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
Ranked #46 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Checkin was fast and efficient and two room key cards provided without being requested.
Two lifts available to take you to your floor.
The room was fairly well proportioned and although we were only staying 3 nights, would easily provide enough room and closet space if you were staying on a longer break.
A large work surface for a laptop and one double electric socket at desk height. Which meant if you needed to recharge two phones and two iPads you had to hunt for a free socket elsewhere in the room.
Tea/coffee making facility in the room, and just enough coat hangers to get all our clothes hung.
A real disappointment in the room was the old fashioned portable TV. Although it worked, you get used to most hotels providing larger flat screen TVs for  improved sound and vision quality.
One door led to the bathroom and when swung round (on 180 deg hinges) also doubled up as the door to the separate toilet.  Seems to work quite well.  The shower was reasonably powerful but used a shower curtain which you had to make sure was inside the shower tray, otherwise your floor was flooded as I found out on the first shower.
A liquid soap dispenser was available inside the shower and another beside the wash hand basin. I do miss soap bars nowadays.
Even though it was July, the weather was miserable and on the first night we were absolutely frozen. I visited reception and told them the room was very cold, so they manually reset the heating in the room and this worked in heating the room within 40-50 minutes, but later the thermostat went back to automatic and only cold air was being thrown around the room.  It was the same on all three nights, however, on night three we requested a small heater just so we could control the temperature.
If this was a problem, I just didn't understand why a repair could not be made. Instead, guests need to have conversations with reception for temperature control.
There are no evening meals offered but that is not an issue as there as so many restaurants within minutes walk of the hotel.  However, you could opt for a Pizza which was could be eaten in the bar or restaurant area.
There was a small 'honesty' shop selling waters, juices and snacks.  A microwave and an ice machine near reception.
Breakfast was included in all room rates.  There was scrambled eggs, sausages & beans and the sausages were excellent, really tasty.  Hot fresh croissants or bread rolls.  White and brown bread for toast, two toasters.  Two fresh ground coffee machines that dispenses americano, capuchino and other types of coffees.  The coffee was excellent quality.  There was plenty of fruit selection, cheese and yogurts and muffins.  Not a bad selection overall.
Breakfast was served through till 1030 each morning and 1100 on saturday and sundays. So really sensible breakfast times when on holiday.
The bar backs onto the reception, so no problem getting service and a drink from the well stocked bar. Some really good wines available and I appreciated it when we ordered two large glasses of red wine the receptionist advised us to take a bottle for an extra few quid rather than buy by the glass.
The location of the hotel is perfect near Ocean Terminal or Leith Waters. Big car park and buses run into the centre every few minutes.  We walked to the end of Princes Street and it took us around 30 minutes at a casual relaxed pace.
As mentioned the only negative point was the failure to resolve the heating problem from day 1 of our stay.  
The staff were all courteous and professional and helped us with advice when requested so definitely 10 out of 10 to the staff.

Room Tip: Back of hotel gives best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,024 - 1,030 of 1,450 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2012

Stayed here for three nights to attend a conference. Room was fine, typical modern, clean HI Express. Wireless Internet in the room costs, but free access available in he lobby.

Friendly welcome and attentive staff throughout my stay.

The HI Express is ok - ample cereal, toast, croissants. The cooked breakfast is meagre - but it's free!

Without a car, and working in the City Centre, maybe consider a more central location to stay.
However, this hotel is right beside Leith docks, including good shopping centre - best cinema screen I've ever seen - so a great value option for a break.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Easy to find hotel, parking on site and/or close by.
Speedy efficient check-in, pleasant welcome.
Good room, slept well.
Nice room for breakfast, which for the price is very good, well apart from the coffee which is cheap.
Hotel is across the road from a shopping mall, through which you gain access to the Royal yacht Britannia.
All the usual restaurant chains can be found nearby, plus a few independents.
Buses run from outside the Ocean Terminal Shopping centre into Edinburgh at around 10 minute intervals, a day ticket is £3.50.
No issues, would readily use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iggi_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Arrived here in the early morning of 1st Jan 2012 after having a nightmare night with some Guest House. Although it was too early to check in, the lady at the reception was very friendly and invited us to have breakfast for free. This was the best way to start 2012.
The views around the hotel are amazing.....there's a shopping mall 3 minutes walk away and lots of Chinese take aways nearby.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FoxWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Seemed a brand new hotel in the North of town tight next to the shopping mall with very good restaurants and a cinema too.
Cheap travel by bus into town center from here or by taxi too.
Staff were a little non friendly but the hotel itself was nice, clean and a fantastic free breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank top_kella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay. The hotel was in a very convenient location and the room was clean and comfortable. The biggest plus for us was the staff, nothing was a problem and the girl (sorry I have forgotten her name) at reception went out of her way to help us. On site parking also good.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Niffer6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

good location. friendly staff. Nice comfortable rooms
the hotel does not have a restaurant but there is an small curry place across the road which was very nice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#108 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,252 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#86 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,576 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Leith
Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront

Address: Britannia Way, Ocean Drive | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 6JJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#49 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $71 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront offering free Wi-Fi, air conditioning, great value rates with an inclusive buffet breakfast. Enjoy free parking at the hotel and its superb location, which is ideal for exploring this charming and fascinating city. The Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront is located next to Ocean Terminal, Edinburgh's newest leisure and shopping destination, the Scottish Executive, the Royal Yacht Britannia & close to all major business areas. The old port area of Edinburgh-Leith has many atmospheric bars, bistros and boutiques & is only 1.5 miles from the city centre. Alternatively you can relax and unwind in our cosy lounge bar. The Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront has good parking with 60 spaces available at the hotel on a first-come-first-served basis and there is also ample additional parking available at Ocean Terminal, opposite. There is a frequent public bus service from the front door making it an ideal location for visiting all of Edinburgh's famous attractions such as Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, The Royal Mile, Princes Street, national museums and galleries. We are delighted to unveil our brand new bedrooms which feature a whole new look. You can enjoy modern décor, irons and ironing boards and brand new hairdryers so that you look your best. Additionally our bedrooms are now packed with even more facilities including a comfy sofa (in family rooms) with a movable table, a wall-mounted TV, USB ports and power sockets next to your bed, nifty reading lights and full-width curtains which will make the rooms even cosier. The en suite shower rooms have also been spruced up with cool, fresh decor. We can't wait for your to experience our cool new look! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express Leith
Leith Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing