We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value Comfortable Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
Ranked #46 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Elgin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good Value Comfortable Hotel”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Myself and my partner stayed here for a weekend break at the end of May as we were visiting Edinburgh to attend a show at the Playhouse Theatre. Having looked at various options, I chose this hotel as it was reasonably priced and not too far from the City.....I made an excellent choice.

The hotel was clean, comfortable and had all the facilities you would need. Our room was more than satisfactory if small - who needs loads of room when all you are really doing is sleeping there. The bed was huge and extremely comfortable with lovely pillows. I loved the bathroom with the walk in shower which had excellent water pressure and the really cool door which doubled up as a door to the bathroom or a door to separate the toilet from the rest of the bathroom - very funky!! The coconut shower gel/wash gel was also nice and the room had the usual free coffee/tea bags. We borrowed an iron and ironing board from reception which was no problem. The only thing missing in the room was a small fridge which would have been welcome to chill the drinks we bought as it was a very hot weekend - the air con was a God send.

The staff were lovely and friendly and gave advice on bus routes etc. The bar area and breakfast area was kept clean and was pleasant to sit in. The complimentary breakfast was more than sufficient considering there was no extra charge for it. I have noticed that some reviews on here have complained about it but how can you complain about something that is basically free?? There were 3 kinds of cereal, toast, rolls, croissant, marg and jam etc. Cold meat and cheese and a selection of fruit. Choice of juices and coffee and tea and also scrambled eggs, beans and sausages. I think this is a generous selection and those who have complained should check out the prices other hotels charge for breakfasts. It was all hot and fresh and nicely cooked.

The hotel is a bit out of town in Leith but the location was great really - the Ocean Terminal shopping centre is just across the road which has a choice of restaurants and places to eat and also numerous shops and a cinema - we went to the cinema and received a discout voucher with our cinema ticket to go and eat at the Handmade Burger Co which I can highly recommend - gorgeous food and great staff at reasonable prices. The number 22 bus comes by the hotel every ten minutes and takes you into the City for £3 ish for a return ticket. We also managed to hop on the open top bus tour from outside the Ocean Terminal for £12 each and you can get on and off as much as you like within 24 hours. It was lovely on a hot day to do the tour which takes in some great places on interest. We got the train to Edinburgh and a taxi from Waverley to the hotel was £10 but if you are driving there is a free car park.

All in all a great place to stay for a trip to Edinburgh and we will most definately return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaneLizzy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    642
    202
    38
    9
See reviews for
270
635
31
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

stayed one night. beds comfortable. pull down sofa bed for our daughter less so. problem with air conditioning leaking onto carpet during night. (not an issue just one of these things noted in an honest review) Choice for self service style continental breakfast with some cooked elements would be ample for most people. close to cinema multiplex and restaurants. We would stay here again. rooms were clean.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lowfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I stayed for two nights over the weekend. The plus side: quiet, clean rooms; friendly efficient staff; good location; provision of non-dairy spread and soya milk at breakfast which is excellent service, and quite unusual. On the downside, my air-conditioning unit didn't work and although I complained it wasn't fixed. Although we wanted a double, we ended up with two single beds which we were unable to push together due to the bedside table being fixed to the floor! On the whole, I would recommend for a value for money stay in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HarryX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Dear HarryX,

I would like to thank you for your continued loyalty to our hotel and your candid review. I am very pleased to hear that you liked our room service, location and breakfast options. However, I am very sorry for the troubles you encountered with the air conditioning issue. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Sincerely,

Bon V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

This is one of the best Holiday Inn Express's I have stayed in.
We stayed one night in May 2012, the night before the Edinburgh Marathon festival. The staff are all very friendly and helpful, and they even opened breakfast early to allow the runners to get an early breakfast before racing.

The hotel is in a nice area, with plenty of bars and restaurants a short walk away in Leith.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KowaIski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, England
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

I stayed here for two nights when I needed to visit Royal Yacht Britannia and attend a trade show. The hotel is quiet and modern with spacious rooms. I found the staff very pleasant and helpful and the breakfast was perfectly adequate. The local bus service is fantastic - the buses stop right in front of the hotel and serve all parts of the city - the No. 22 provides a frequent link with Waverley Station and the centre, so there's no need to use a taxi. I even got a No. 35 bus from the hotel right to the trade show at the Royal Highland Centre which is near Edinburgh airport - £3.50 for an adult day ticket which I also used afterwards to explore the city and go out for dinner later - what a bargain!

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Numismatist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

This hotel is everything you would expect from a budget hotel. It is cheap and cheerful with no added luxuries.
The hotel is in a great location for everything in Leith. The room was clean and the bed was very comfy. No frills but by no means slumming it either. Slept well with no noise issues.
Breakfast was OK, we stuck to the continental options as the sausages looked cheap and nasty and the scrambled egg woefully overcooked. The rest of what was on offer was good though and a good variety on offer.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiroche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Stayed for one night 12TH May. Found the reception staff very helpful and polite and thought it was nice to be offered breakfast as we arrived early , The bus service into Edinburgh was good with the bus stop right outside the hotel. The room was clean and comfortable. The hotel was quiet and the breakfast was fine .Would recommend a visit to the Royal Yatch which is just across the road.Will defintely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#108 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,125 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront

Property: Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
Address: Britannia Way, Ocean Drive | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 6JJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#49 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront offering free Wi-Fi, air conditioning, great value rates with an inclusive buffet breakfast. Enjoy free parking at the hotel and its superb location, which is ideal for exploring this charming and fascinating city. The Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront is located next to Ocean Terminal, Edinburgh's newest leisure and shopping destination, the Scottish Executive, the Royal Yacht Britannia & close to all major business areas. The old port area of Edinburgh-Leith has many atmospheric bars, bistros and boutiques & is only 1.5 miles from the city centre. Alternatively you can relax and unwind in our cosy lounge bar. The Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront has good parking with 60 spaces available at the hotel on a first-come-first-served basis and there is also ample additional parking available at Ocean Terminal, opposite. There is a frequent public bus service from the front door making it an ideal location for visiting all of Edinburgh's famous attractions such as Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, The Royal Mile, Princes Street, national museums and galleries. We are delighted to unveil our brand new bedrooms which feature a whole new look. You can enjoy modern décor, irons and ironing boards and brand new hairdryers so that you look your best. Additionally our bedrooms are now packed with even more facilities including a comfy sofa (in family rooms) with a movable table, a wall-mounted TV, USB ports and power sockets next to your bed, nifty reading lights and full-width curtains which will make the rooms even cosier. The en suite shower rooms have also been spruced up with cool, fresh decor. We can't wait for your to experience our cool new look! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express Leith
Leith Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing