We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Standard Fare, Wouldn't stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
Ranked #46 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Standard Fare, Wouldn't stay again”
Reviewed August 29, 2011

The staff were very nice and customer service was very good. We stayed there due to the low price during festival month. It was also a lot quieter than the bustle of the downtown. I didn't think the rooms were dirty, seemed clean to me.
The rooms were dated, small TVs, bed, was very bouncy and not comfortable, thin linens. The room needs an upgrade. We did have air conditioning, which we didn't need. The parking was free, but there was not free wi-fi in the rooms it was about 9 pounds for 24 hours, it is free in the lobby.
Since it was across from a big shopping center I thought we would have lots of eating options. But the restaurants in Ocean Terminal were not very good. And it was a bit of a walk for me to get to restaurants in Leith. The docks location, just felt a bit grotty.
The buses are frequent and they are right outside. It was fairly easy to figure it out.
I got sick of the breakfast and felt the quality of the scrambled eggs were lacking. I wanted somewhere to get a proper English breakfast, but we weren't that close to another place. It was adequate, just not very exciting and we had the yogurt and museli.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misodiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMexpressedinburgh, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Dear Misodiva,
Thank you for giving feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor.

It is great to hear that you were impressed by our team, that you received good customer service and that you were satisfied with the cleanliness of your room.

Our rooms are continually in the process of being upgraded. We had all our beds replaced last summer and we are replacing our duvets over the coming months.

We do have ‘Comfort Cooling’ air conditioning in all the rooms so that our guests can control their room temperature as required as the Scottish weather can be a little unpredictable at times.

There are many great restaurants and pubs in the area accommodating all tastes and budgets and I am sorry that you did not get the opportunity to explore them during this stay. The popular ‘Shore’ area is a 10 minute walk from the hotel at a leisurely pace or a couple of stops away on the bus.

Our complimentary breakfast is included in all the room rates but for those guests who fancy a change many of these pubs and restaurants offer diverse breakfast menus in the mornings.
We hope that you will have a change of heart and opt to stay with us next time you are in Edinburgh.

Best Regards,

Fiona Scott
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    642
    202
    38
    9
See reviews for
270
635
31
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Visiting the Edinburgh Festival and Tattoo, my friend and I booked this hotel through Alpharooms as it was considerably cheaper than staying in the city centre.
The hotel is situated opposite a new shopping mall and the Royal Yacht Britannia - a must visit
Parking is free and the no 22 bus to Princes St runs approx every 5 min 24/7. £1.30 for a single journey and £3.20 for a 24 hr ticket.
The staff were polite, efficient and could not have been nicer. The hotel is spotless. There is free wifi connection. The rooms are very modern and comfortable with tea/coffee facilites, hairdryer, very comfortable beds, but hard pillows. Very good ensuite, but towels very tatty. I was surprised to find an old style tv in the room as opposed to a flat screen.
The hotel is extremely quiet.
Buffet breakfast is included in the price, somewhat basic but adequate.
I would certainly recommend this hotel and will use it again when visiting Edinburgh

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francesanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Let's be brief- it's a Holiday inn express. If you've stayed at one, you've stayed at them all! What makes this one stand out a little is it's location in Leith. On the waterfront near the Ocean shop and cinema complex. Next door to a cracking indian restuarant( Britannia Spice) and within walking distance of many others. Apart from that don't expect much more than the standard Two pillows a bed and the normal H Inn express bizarre bathroom loo door combo!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spongegod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights on our trip to Edinburgh. We initially booked it because we were on a budget and all of the places in our price range closer to the city center were booked full. We were pleased with our stay though. It's just a pretty basic no-frills hotel. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The tv was dated, but we didn't mind much. The free internet in the lobby was nice (would have been even nicer if they had it in the rooms though) and we really appreciated the continental breakfast. The staff was very helpful and even happily made change for us so we could pay for the bus.
The hotel was rather far from the city center, but the #35 bus stops right outside the front door and takes you right into the city. It was a bit of a hassle, but not too complicated at least.
Overall we felt it was overpriced for what we got, but we were ok with it since we didn't have a lot of options at the time. Definitely not a bad experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wavecrest486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peaches3224
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Stayed here for a night, glad it wasn't longer! Booked the hotel as my husband and I were going to see the Edinburgh Tattoo and thought it would be nice to spend the night in Edinburgh and just relax. I usualyy do this once a year with friends, but had a couples night instead. From the moment i arrived i was wishing i'd booked somewhere else! The receptionist was abrupt, uninterested and quite rude. Gave us no details of the hotel i.e - where breakfast was served etc, handed me the keycard and pointed me in the general direction. The room was clean and good enough for what we needed, but dated. The tv was old and kept losing signal. Bed not very comfortable. And the noise from the corridor was too much. The "complimentry breakfast" was awful. I had paid £185 for the room so really had paid for the breakfast. Scrammbled egg, sausage and beans, or continental breakfast of cheese, fruit and yogurt with crossiants. Breakfast juice was warm, ran out of milk! Not good. And very poorly laid out. My husband couldn't even stomach the breakfast and i had a crossiant which was fine. But for the price of the room would've expected something better. Have stayed in other hotels in the city - Dunstane city being my choice last year, and the staff there and food is far superior at a much better price. I don't mind paying over the odds if the service is good, but that was awful as well. The girl that checked us out of the hotel - Jaqui i think, was very pleasant. Pity the girl that checked us in wasn't. It has put me off all Holiday Inn i'm afraid.

Room Tip: don't accept a ground floor room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peaches3224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMexpressedinburgh, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Dear Peaches3224,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel.

I am glad to hear that you were impressed with our staff on check out but very disappointed that you did not receive the same great service on check in. We are often complimented on the friendliness of our staff and I am sorry that this great service was not consistent throughout your stay. This is an area we will focus on in our upcoming customer service training sessions.

Our unlimited buffet breakfast is included in all our rates and we do try to cater for all tastes offering Kellogs cereals, Muller yogurts, bread rolls, cheese ,warm pastries and also baked beans, sausages and scrambled eggs for those who like to kick off their day with something hot. I am sorry to hear that there was nothing that appealed to your husband.

I can understand you were frustrated that we ran out of milk. We do try to ensure that the buffet is kept well stocked but during busy times there can be a bit of a delay in replenishing items and I am sorry that this was the case on the morning of your stay.

Thank you once again for your comments and I hope that you will consider staying with Holiday Inn Express in the future.

Best Regards,

Fiona Scott
Deouty General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Standard HIX. Adequate room but a few things that could be with fixing. Staff at reception were very friendly and the breakfast buffet was adequate (not fancy, but enough to eat). Not in the centre of Edinburgh but good location for an overnight stay if visiting one of the many restaurants in Leith. Our reason for staying there was because we were going for a meal at The Kitchin - delicious, highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheenaNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We visited Edinburgh during the Fringe Festival so hotel rooms were hard to come by. We settled for the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront without much choice but we were pleasantly surprised with a nicely appointed establishment, clean rooms, and an overall good experience.

The bar in the lobby is open till 2am and the breakfast (which is included with all bookings) is decent too.

The staff is quite nice and helpful.

There's 6 hours of free wifi in the lobby each day and a kiosk for £1 / 20 mins as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoidtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#107 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,126 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront

Property: Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
Address: Britannia Way, Ocean Drive | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 6JJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#49 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront offering free Wi-Fi, air conditioning, great value rates with an inclusive buffet breakfast. Enjoy free parking at the hotel and its superb location, which is ideal for exploring this charming and fascinating city. The Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront is located next to Ocean Terminal, Edinburgh's newest leisure and shopping destination, the Scottish Executive, the Royal Yacht Britannia & close to all major business areas. The old port area of Edinburgh-Leith has many atmospheric bars, bistros and boutiques & is only 1.5 miles from the city centre. Alternatively you can relax and unwind in our cosy lounge bar. The Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront has good parking with 60 spaces available at the hotel on a first-come-first-served basis and there is also ample additional parking available at Ocean Terminal, opposite. There is a frequent public bus service from the front door making it an ideal location for visiting all of Edinburgh's famous attractions such as Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, The Royal Mile, Princes Street, national museums and galleries. We are delighted to unveil our brand new bedrooms which feature a whole new look. You can enjoy modern décor, irons and ironing boards and brand new hairdryers so that you look your best. Additionally our bedrooms are now packed with even more facilities including a comfy sofa (in family rooms) with a movable table, a wall-mounted TV, USB ports and power sockets next to your bed, nifty reading lights and full-width curtains which will make the rooms even cosier. The en suite shower rooms have also been spruced up with cool, fresh decor. We can't wait for your to experience our cool new look! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express Leith
Leith Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing