We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stay Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stay Central Hotel
Ranked #43 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
El Cajon, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

We were traveling with our 3 adult college aged kids, we stayed in the XXL and it was perfect.
The staff is helpful and the rooms are very nice, spacious, windows open for ventilation. The place is fun and very well kept. The breakfast was fine for 5 pounds but like others said slow if you are in a hurry i would not recommend. Though, if you are in Edinburgh, you shouldn't be in a hurry.

Room Tip: the dorm is great if you only need a bunch of single beds, we opted for the XXL but the dorm has som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicki b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Hi vicki b,

Thanks for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review about your recent stay with us here in Edinburgh! It's fantastic to hear you found the staff to be friendly and the rooms to be perfect for your group.

I hope we can welcome you back again – please get in touch if you are returning to Edinburgh and we will sort you out with the best returner rate!

Karen & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    777
    429
    104
    53
    25
See reviews for
265
532
79
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stay Central is an amazing place to stay in Edinburgh. We booked the Dorm Room and a XXL room, and both were great places to stay - and the rooms look like the pictures which I find on other hotel sites can be misleading at times.

The most comfortable bed I have stayed in in a hotel, the rainfall showers were lovely and the Tunnocks tea cakes in the room made everyone very happy.

The staff were lovely and very helpful, would highly recommend to anyone wanting to stay in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Janine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Hi Janine G,

Wow – Thank you so much for choosing to share such an amazing review for all of our future guests to read.

We spent a lot of time trying to create something unique at the STAY Central and I am glad that you got to try out our Pièce de résistance The Dorm Room.

Come back and visit us again soon…

Karen & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Stead at this hotel for two nights and the room was awesome! Very up to date with electronics, hair dryer was better than mine at home. The shower was the best part. The breakfast in the morning was very slow paced so that could be difficult if on a time restraint. Overall great place and worth the money

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Hi Hollie S,

Thank you for choosing to share such a fantastic review on our STAY Central Hotel. It is so lovely to hear your complimentary views of the recently refurbished rooms - I have to admit, the showers in the rooms are one of my favourite features as well!

I will pass on your comments regarding breakfast to the management next door at The Three Sisters; we are always looking at ways to work together to improve our guest's experience.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh soon,

Karen & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Staff was friendly. Room had everything for our comfort. Highly recommend! It is definitely a "happening" place at night. We are a little old for the crowd but the noise never bothered us. Love the chocolate tea cakes!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank dcobyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Hi competres,

Thank you so much for the lovely review - it's fantastic to hear such positive feedback about your time with us :-)

I am glad to hear that you found the staff to be friendly and the rooms had everything you needed to feel comfortable. The Tea Cakes are a love of mine too, its hard to say no!

Please keep in touch to receive the best returner rate on your next visit to Edinburgh!

Karen & The STAY Central Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Stay Central in Edinburgh is an awesome place to stay. Not only are the staff friendly and exceptionally helpful, the place is funky as! The newly refurbished rooms and bathrooms are excellent- even the shampoo and conditioner is funky. The room we stayed in was spacious and very clean. An extra bonus was the ipod connection to speakers in the room and bathroom. Whats better than listening and singing along to music while in a rainforest size shower?

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Hi Skardi,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review about your recent stay with us here at STAY Central Hotel :-)

I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed our newly refurbished rooms, friendly staff and quirky room amenities – I personally also love a good sing song in our amazing Rainfall showers!

We hope to welcome you back again soon,

Karen & The STAY Central Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Entrance is a bit tricky to find :)
The basics of the hotel are excellent, clean and modern design. There are very nice touches of humour at every corner...
Hotel has good wi-fi connection. Location is very close to the Castle and Royal Mile as well as several restaurants and bars, about which you can count on the recommendations of the staff; who are really nice, friendly and helpful. Very good value for money.

Room Tip: rooms at the higher back side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ulug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Hi Ulug,

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that you found the staff to be friendly and willing to pass on great recommendations of where to go in the city. I'll make sure that they all see your wonderful comment

Hopefully we will be welcoming you back to the capital soon!

Karen & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

I found the reviews here extremely helpful - thanks to you all!

First off, as I have discovered before, if any issues arise from comments about an otherwise promising place, I always email ahead to make clear what I want, and it has always worked well. In this case, Stay Central and its bar are certainly extremely popular with young backpacking types till very late (well very EARLY really) who create a lot of noise (as do the bands, etc). If that's what you like, this is definitely the place to go. But if you want quiet there are plenty of rooms they can put you in where you don't hear a sound - we were in two different rooms on our two separate stays and both were fine.

So it's a good place for old gits like me too. The rooms are very nicely done out, with the best and biggest TVs I have come across; the breakfast (£5 if you book ahead of arrival - another reviewer thank-you!) is really very good and brilliant value; the location is excellent - very central to other pubs, restaurants and attractions and very near to Waverley Station. Our only problem was finding it, as the street name plate seems to change to 'Grassmarket' while still in Cowgate - if you have any problems, it's the road running under North Bridge and it's between the two bridge arches, very near the other one (can't remember its name); the young staff are very friendly and helpful - we were emailed and phoned a couple of times beforehand to check that the arrangements were ok for us.

We were VERY satisfied with the venue.

Room Tip: I've already said it - if you have a particular requirement, just ASK!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Hi David P,

Its great to hear that you choose to stay here from all our previous guests reviews. I am glad you decided to then join them with such positive comments!

I’ll be sure to pass your comments on to our team & I am sure they will be as happy as I was to hear that we managed to accommodate your request of a quite room on both of your visits to STAY.

Next time you fancy a visit to Edinburgh don’t hesitate to get in touch with us directly, we would love to have you stay with us again and we have plenty more recommendations of where you should visit!

Karen & The STAY Central Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#48 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,013 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#54 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Central Hotel

Property: Stay Central Hotel
Address: 139 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1JS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At STAY central we aim a little bit higher than just providing you with a good night's sleep. We have 37 fresh and refurbished bedrooms perfect for 2 to share or bedrooms for up to 6 guests. We like to look after you and free Wi-Fi is a must for our guests. Each of our lovely bedrooms have large flat screen TV's, iPod docks, rain fall style showers to get lathered up in and lots of little extras you won't expect. Located in the heart of Edinburgh's eclectic Cowgate surrounding the famous lively Three Sisters bar, STAY Central is a short stroll from everywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Stay Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tailors Hall
Tailors Hall Hotel Edinburgh
Stay Central Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing