We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Completely fabulous location right in the Old Town.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Edinburgh Central
Ranked #77 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Completely fabulous location right in the Old Town.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

A lovely new hotel with friendly staff incredibly handy for the Old Town. Out the front door, turn right and two doors up is a Bagpipe makers, complete with man making the pipes on a lathe in the window. The next street is the Royal Mile, so turn left and work your way up the cobbled streets to the Castle, going past all the little shops and looking in the narrow closes and alleyways as you go. All the Old Town sights are there, and it's handy for the Vaults tours and The Real Mary King's Close. We would definitely stay here in Edinburgh again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redcat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    547
    231
    49
    37
See reviews for
410
551
80
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orangeville, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

My Mother and I stayed for 3 nights this week. Considering the proximity to the Royal Mile, you cannot beat the rate. We found the hotel to be very clean and all staff friendly and helpful. Each day the room was restocked with clean towels and coffee and tea. The hotel now offers 30 minutes of free Wi-Fi per day and if more is needed, almost every pub you enter offers free Wi-Fi. Lots of restaurants and stores nearby. Only complaint is that when I booked, the website stated you could reserve parking for two days but this was not the case. I see now they have corrected their web site. Luckily, we had no problem with parking at the hotel. Lots of spaces. Can be a bit noisy from the traffic but we had no problems sleeping. All in all, a great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

There are quite a number of Travelodge hotels in Edinburgh so I am pointing out (where) this one is situated, and it is very central right at the bottom of the Royal Mile and a short walk from the station (Waverly).
As it is this Central it is quite noisy, if you prefer a quieter location see my review of Travelodge Queen street Edinburgh.
This one does have a restaurant and bar facilities, we would use this hotel again if Queen st was not available .

Room Tip: I slept ok but my wife was disturbed with traffic noise, would suggest requesting a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stay in Travelodge's quite frequently and Edinbugh Central was outstanding compared to the others we've stayed in this year.
The bed linen was spotlessly clean and the family room was more spacious than in previous TL's.
The only criticism is the kettle wasn't really big enough for a family of 4 and there wasn't any spare sockets to charge phones, but putting this aside we had everything we needed.
The location is ideal for all attractions, is only a few seconds from the Royal Mile.
Next time we will stay longer as the weekend was too short.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stayed here last month for 3 nights with my wife. Simple, clean, no frills, but fantastic value for a weekend away, and in a great location right on the Royal Mile and a 5 min walk from Waverley train station. Plenty of bars and places to eat nearby. We did not eat in the hotel so cannot comment.
Being out all day, it was nice to come back to the room to relax and I had no problem nodding off and getting a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

This newly refurbished hotel was a delight and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. I have stayed here lots of times and feel this hotel is good value for money I would thoroughly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank worldwidetraveller64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

This hotel is placed in a great spot in central Edinburgh, near from everything. The service is very good and It's very cheap.
You're not gonna get a better value for money in this city, totally recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#45 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Central

Property: Travelodge Edinburgh Central
Address: 33 St. Mary's St., Edinburgh EH1 1TA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Central 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Hotel Edinburgh
Travel Lodge Edinburgh
Edinburgh Travelodge
Edinburgh Travel Lodge
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing