We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DESTINATION WEDDING” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jurys Inn Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Ranked #115 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
GreenLeadersBronze level
Needham, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“DESTINATION WEDDING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Jurys Inn was "home base" for a destination wedding this October. Fabulous location..close to castles and transportation. Rooms were immaculate, and the staff was polite and helpful.
Linda Clarke, the manager, was superb in planning activities and transportation to the wedding venue, and providing us with the utmost attention and care to detail. Meals were delicious, and the restaurant and bar staff were the best ! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Edinburgh. Thank you so much for the wonderful memories !!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Rita D,

Thank you for taking the time to write such kind words regarding your stay with us here at Jurys Inn Edinburgh.

It was absolutely wonderful to read that we were able to assist in making your special day perfect for you all. We all remember standing in the lobby on the morning and watching the Bride leave and how beautiful she looked. Linda is a credit to our team and it is great to read when here amazing hospitality is reflected on our guests stay, especially one as important as a wedding day.

Rita D, I do hope we can welcome you back to Jurys Inn Edinburgh... maybe for an anniversary? If you do find yourself flying to Edinburgh please be sure to either contact Linda or myself and we will be more than happy to assist with your travel arrangements.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager


Richard_Pearson@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    859
    1,399
    853
    342
    179
See reviews for
860
1,271
173
488
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (590)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
321 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Very clean and in a great location just off the Royal Mile and within walking distance of the railway station. Rooms are reasonably priced with a good range of facilities. Breakfasts are good and the bar facilities on a cold day just the spot for a quiet drink and to relax.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Nigel L,

Thank you for taking the time to leave comments regarding your recent stay with here at Jurys Inn Edinburgh.

I was delighted to read that you found our Hotel conveniently located for your needs. We understand the need to provide a hearty breakfast for guests, to ready them for a day of exploring our wonderful city and so it is great to read that this was reflected on your stay.

Nigel L, I hope you had a safe trip back to Australia and if you do find yourself back in Edinburgh or the UK, please do not hesitate to contact me and I would be more than happy to assist with any accommodation needs.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager


Richard_Pearson@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Found the hotel and room very clean,and found staff helpful and polite slight, only think should be that when you shower the extractors in bathrooms dont come on when you enter or have a separate switch and bathrooms can get very stemey, But apart from that found every area of hotel quite nice and would not hesatate stopping or recomending it to friends

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Nigel C,

Thank you for taking the time to share you experiences of Jurys Inn Edinburgh.

It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found our staff to be helpful and polite. The team here are always delighted to read that their high standard of service is relfect on our guetst stay. I can assure you also that I shall get our Maintenance team to check the extractor system as this should automatically start when the key is inserted into the power box.

Nigel C, I do hope we can welcome you back to Jurys Inn Edinburgh in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager


Richard_Pearson@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had booked a weekend away in Edinburgh months ago. We booked Jury's and they took our money. We were called a week before to say that they were transferring us to another hotel as they could no longer accommodate us!!!!! We picked the hotel as it is close to the station. The move resulted in additional costs for taxi fares. We were at a show on Saturday night and 4 ladies sat next to us had had exactly the same thing happen to them - beware when you book here because, chances are you wont end up staying here. Very poor customer service, what would make us book with them again?????

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank askjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear askjan,

Firstly let me begin by offering my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you. In an effort to honour all reservations we operate a very consistent method of managing all bookings and arrivals. On this occasion however, due to an error on our behalf, we were unfortunately in a situation where we were unable to accommodate your reservation. I can ensure you that this was an isolated incident and certainly not the norm for our hotel and I apologise again for the inconvenience this caused. I wish to assure you that our shortcomings in both your relocation and the failure to advise you of the problem have been addressed so as to ensure such a scenario does not happen again.

askjan, if you could email me directly as I would like to speak with you directly and welcome you back to Jurys Inn Edinburgh with a form of compensation for the inconveniences caused. Once again, I would like to offer my sincere apologies.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager


Richard_Pearson@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed at the Jury's Inn in Edinburgh for a couple of nights in late October this year and had a good time. The hotel was nice with the room being average (nothing outstanding but clean and with all the facilities you would expect). We had a bit of a problem with the cold water tap in our en-suite when we came back from going out for a meal on the first night. We had left the room a couple of hours earlier but when we got back the cold water tap was blasting out water and it was all over the bathroom floor. We hadn't left it on when we left so we told Reception about it and they came and cleaned it up. They said they would send the maintenance man to have a look at it the following day, we never heard anything after that, but it didn't happen on the next night. Strange!
The bed was very comfortable but as the hotel is very close to Waverley Train Station, it was a little noisy at night as our room was on the front.
Breakfast was very nice with plenty of choice.
Altogether we had an enjoyable time away in Bonnie Scotland!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the front will probably be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Denise M,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback of your recent experiences of Jurys Inn Edinburgh.

We appreciate all forms of feedback to enable us to continue to improve both our service and product. I was pleased to read that Reception were able to resolve the issue, however, I shall investigate the issue with the bathroom taps to ensure this does not happen again in the future. It was great to read that you found our Hotel conveniently located and that you enjoyed our breakfast selection. We are in the process of upgrading the windows in our bedrooms which will prevent any external noise disturbances in the future.

Denise M, should you find yourself in Edinburgh in the near future, please contact me directly and I shall be more than happy to assist with any accommodation needs.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager


Richard_Pearson@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

This hotel room was quite expensive for modest budgets. To be fair, the festival was officially over but actually still had spin-off events that we were not aware of, so that might explain the higher tariff and the lack of room availability elsewhere. The friendly receptionists were helpful, the rooms were clean and and provided basic amenities, but given the size of the hotel, the high price tag and the general location of this hotel, I would have thought that people on business trips often use it. Complimentary wifi is so often offered by even the most basic establishments nowadays. Not only does this hotel not offer complimentary wifi, or even reasonable rates for paid wifi, but it has an inconvenient system to get wifi in the first place. As I have to constantly stay connected when I travel, this marred my experience considerably. It worked in the end though, so not a complete write-off.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of the property. The ones on the front, overlooking the street are qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear A D,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at Jurys Inn Edinburgh.

We appreciate all types of feedback to enable us to continuously improve both our service and product. I can ensure you that your comments regarding our WiFi will be considered for future improvements to our service. We do offer complimentary WiFi for our Jurys Rewards members, which is free to join as a future option should you decide to stay with us again in the future.

A D, I do hope we can welcome you back to Jurys Inn Edinburgh in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager


Richard_Pearson@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night weekend stay and had a lovely time. Hotel is in great location next to the railway station and a short walk to all the sights. We were on the 6th floor overlooking the front of the hotel. Our room was a superior triple which was very clean and adequate for our stay although the shower did go warm to cool and then warm again all the way through a shower.
Breakfast was lovely. You could choose from cereals, pastries, fruit, eggs, bacon, sausages etc which i was surprised with as i had expected a continental only.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Julie S,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such kind words regarding your recent stay with us at Jurys Inn Edinburgh.

Our Accommodation Manager prides herself in the cleanliness of her rooms and is always delighted to read when this is reflected in our guests stay. We understand the importance of a hearty breakfast in the morning also, to prepare our guests for a day of exploring our wonderful city of Edinburgh and so it is great to read you enjoyed our breakfast.

Julie S, I do hope we can welcome you back to Jurys Inn Edinburgh in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager


Richard_Pearson@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#43 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Old Waverley Hotel
The Old Waverley Hotel
#101 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#54 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Edinburgh

Property: Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Address: 43 Jeffrey St., Edinburgh EH1 1DH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Edinburgh is located in the heart of Edinburgh's beautiful Old Town next to the famous Royal Mile and a 2 minute walk from Waverly Train Station. Prince's Street and Edinburgh Castle are a pleasant 10-15 minute walk away. Whether visiting for sight-seeing, shopping or business at the International Conference Centre, choosing Jurys Inn Edinburgh guarantees all your destinations are within easy reach. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. Enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. If arriving by car, public car parking is available nearby at Waverley Station car park. The hotel has 186 comfortable bedrooms that can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, flat screen TV with Freeview and Free WiFi. Guests who book directly with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, our best price guarantee and can earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme Jurys Rewards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Jurys Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Jurys Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Jurys Hotel
Jurys Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing