We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Ranked #115 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
GreenLeadersBronze level
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good value for money”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed here on a two day break and got a great deal, parking is approx 5-10 min walk from the hotel, the service was good the room was clean and the breakfast was great, nothing to complain about here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steveapop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    920
    1,507
    914
    388
    202
See reviews for
966
1,359
182
531
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (608)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed three nights on a leisure break. As reported by other guests, the hotel is located close to the Royal Mile and convenient for the railway station.
On the first morning, we were rudely awoken by the fire alarm and had to evacuate the building. This was a bit chaotic outside the hotel as can be imagined with all the guests milling around on the road. I think that some thought could be given to marking assembly points for guests, but I appreciate the difficulties involved in this due to the location. Anyway, it was a false alarm triggered by a guest leaving the bathroom door open when showering and the steam setting off the alarm. There is a notice in the shower stating that the door should be kept closed, but no explanation as to why and it was written in English only.

We were allocated room 104 which was at the back of the hotel on the first floor. The room was fine in itself but there is no view as the ground rises sharply behind the hotel. Additionally, there was a continuous hum outside (probably some air-con plant). The next morning, we asked to be moved and the staff were very helpful (Craig) and reallocated a room for us. They even moved our bags to the new room which was on the 7th floor with a view over the station and the city. This was a much brighter room with 4 windows in total. Although there was some noise of trains, in the evening and early morning, we didn't notice any noise at night.

The breakfast is self-service and the quality of the food was very good. Breakfast is served until 10 am weekdays and until 11 am on the weekend. Although we didn't eat in the restaurant I thought the price of an evening meal was comparable to restaurants in the area.

We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have no view but are quieter if you are not on the first floor. Aim for a higher f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyer19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Jurys Inn is right off the Royal Mile in Edinburgh and across the North Bridge from Prince's Street so the location can't be beat! My room had a view across the train station to the New City and was clean, comfortable and well appointed. Two items that I would have appreciated is an in-room safe - there were many notices that valuables be kept in the safety deposit boxes at Reception and a mini-bar. But as the gentleman at reception pointed out, this is a three star hotel so there are few amenities. Note that internet access is five pounds for an hour and ten pounds for 24 hours. I guess free internet (which is available on city buses!) must come with four star hotels and above. However, I would consider this a step above the cramped room of the Star Hotel in Copenhagen - also a three star, which did provide free internet.

Room Tip: I liked the street view - although some people outside can be rowdy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

The staff were brilliant, the location is one minute from the Royal Mile. Comfortable beds, good breakfast and easy check in and out. We have stayed here before and will stay again. Not many better located hotels in Edinburgh

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patron116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Seed, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for you positive feedback, we really appreciate guests taking the time to inform us of their stay & we would be happy to have you back at the hotel any time. Please contact me if you’d like any help arrange this or if there is anything else we can do for you.

Kind Regards
David Seed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We were 3 friends staying over for weekend in edinburgh. Had comfortable room - double and a single bed. Hotel relatively basic but clean. Ideal location for train station and surrounding tourist attractions, restaurants and shops - all within a 10 minute walk. The price reflects location rather than hotel amenities - but its ideal if thats what ur looking for.

Helpful?
Thank KatPieTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mascoutah, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed 3 nights on business. Great location, decent rooms with a small european shower/bathroom. Great view from the room but I would suggest not staying on the street side as it gets a little loud with people coming home late and the train tracks across the street. Overall stay was great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmk2463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Seed, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly thank you for leaving feedback for the hotel, we always appreciate guests taking the time to inform us how their stay went and either passing on good comments or giving us ways to improve.

I’m glad to hear you enjoyed you stay overall, the rooms at the front of the hotel do offer better views but can be a bit noisier for light sleepers. Should you be staying again please don’t hesitate to contact myself or a member of the team and we can ensure you get a room at the back of the hotel – which don’t have as good views, but are quieter.

Kind Regards
David Seed
Deputy General Manager
David_seed@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds (Kent), Ηνωμένο Βασίλειο
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Generally good hotel, ideal location next to the train station, really nice and clean room, amazing dinner at the restaraunt, friendly staff. Poor view from our room's window.
Will visit again and recommend to others!!

Room Tip: rooms behind have poor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hols_Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Seed, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly thank you for leaving feedback for the hotel, we always appreciate guests taking the time to inform us how their stay went and either passing on good comments or giving us ways to improve.

I’m pleased to hear you had a nice stay; & I will be passing on your positive comments to the staff. Should you be staying again please don’t hesitate to contact myself or a member of the team and we can ensure you are allocated a room at the front of the hotel with a nice view of New town & Carlton Hill or if there is anything else we can help with.

Kind Regards
David Seed
Deputy General Manager
David_seed@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#46 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,519 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#84 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,314 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#65 of 149 in Edinburgh
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Edinburgh

Property: Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Address: 43 Jeffrey St., Edinburgh EH1 1DH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Edinburgh is located in the heart of Edinburgh's beautiful Old Town next to the famous Royal Mile and a 2 minute walk from Waverly Train Station. Prince's Street and Edinburgh Castle are a pleasant 10-15 minute walk away. Whether visiting for sight-seeing, shopping or business at the International Conference Centre, choosing Jurys Inn Edinburgh guarantees all your destinations are within easy reach. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. Enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. If arriving by car, public car parking is available nearby at Waverley Station car park. The hotel has 186 comfortable bedrooms that can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, flat screen TV with Freeview and Free WiFi. Guests who book directly with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, our best price guarantee and can earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme Jurys Rewards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jurys Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Jurys Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Jurys Hotel
Jurys Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing