We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“moderate standard - lots of additional charges & awful food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Ranked #114 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“moderate standard - lots of additional charges & awful food”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I selected this hotel because of its proximity to Waverly bridge (and the airport bus) and because it had internet.
I hadnt read the (overly!!) discretely placed smalll print that the internet was not included in the room price. In this day and age i cant believe that hotels are still charging for wifi. And it was incredibly expensive at £5 for an hour.

My room was small - just a single bed as i had booked - and of standard quality.
I didnt like that the bedrooms are in a different building to the hotel reception and anybody can walk in off the street into teh building unchecked.
You must use your key card to operate the lifts, but you can go up and down the stairs at will without a key card. I've stayed in hostels with better security,
Food in the restaurant was poor. My salmon and prawn tagitelle was bland and very heavy and definitely overpriced. Having seen others get teh chocolate fondant I suspected it didnt have cream or ice cream with it (unusual) but when I asked about it, I was offered a scoop of ice-cream. NObody told me i'd get charged extra on my bill for the ice-cream. Ridiculous. When I questioned the waitress and mentioned that she hadnt mentioned the extra money when offering, she said that its just teh way it was!!!
I regret staying in this hotel, particularly eating in it and wont stay here again.

Room Tip: choose a different hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishGirl-late20s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire L, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Firstly thank you for leaving feedback, we always appreciate guests taking the time to inform us about their stay to let us know what we did well or areas we can improve on.
We do offer internet included for all superior rooms, however to allow us to offer lower prices on the standard bedrooms we do have an additional charge of £10 for 24 hours – as not all guests choose to use the wi-fi this allows them to save money by offering a lower price overall.

Both the lifts and the stairs to the bedrooms are permanently locked and only accessible with a guest room key, in addition to this we also move our reception to the main building overnight so that we have a member of staff at the main entrance to the rooms every night to prevent non guests entering the building.

I am disappointed to learn that you didn’t enjoy the Salmon Fillet with Prawn Tagiatelle, we serve this with a garlic and cream sauce for flavor and it is usually a well received dish, so my apologies if your meal was not to our usual standard. Although while we offer cheaper prices & dishes in the bar, we have a reasonably priced fine dining set restaurant menu for under £20 for 3 courses.

Kind Regards
David Seed
Deputy General Manager
On Behalf of Claire Livingston
david_seed@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    912
    1,479
    903
    377
    197
See reviews for
932
1,343
181
526
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I have stayed here on a few occasions on business and on a mid week break , but my recent stay was suffered by an infernal lorry driver unloading at 6 am, leaving his engine running. This has happened before and at the same time. If you need a stay, ask for a rear room as the front ones will all suffer this.
Apart from this, the hotel is great, really good staff, and its a pleasant location - you could not ask for more.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

5 minutes walk from the back of Waverly Station (Market Street exit) and 5 minutes walk to the Royal Mile you couldn't get a better placed hotel, if the price is right! (£44 room only from Booking.com for a Sunday night). It was for us so we have no complaints at all!!

Our room was at the front so there was a bit of train noise with the window open, but when it was shut it was fine. Bed was comfy, plenty of pillows. Bathroom was clean. We didn't eat at the hotel, but why would you when there's so many restaurants and bars around.

We would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faffalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed at jurys inn for two nights on a weekender saver deal room was at back of hotel facing bins of dirty laundry room was clean but all through night you could here noise which sounded like central heating kicking in didnt complain as we only had to put up with noise for two nights hotel is only 3 min walk from waverly station and five min walk from princess street the royal mile shops bars and eating places are up some steps from back of hotel about a minute away would stop here again but in diffrent room at front of hotel

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellshill
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

this hotel is located in the heart of Edinburgh everything you need is in walking distance very nice hotel rooms large and spacious and very nice, bed comfy and two fluffy pillows each which is not always the case in some hotels, breakfast is buffet style which i was a bit wary about but i was wrong the breakfast was lovely would recomend this hotel for any going to Edinburgh.

Room Tip: rooms at front have great views over Edinburgh.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dorry8574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is a perfectly comfortable 3* hotel in a great location in Edinburgh. It is just off the Royal Mile, and is only a couple of minutes' walk from Waverley train station. It is perfect if you just want something reasonably priced and comfortable, and close to all the action.
The rooms are spacious and the beds are very comfortable. The bathroom is a little cramped, but perfectly functional. Our friends had a different layout in their room (same type), so it could just be luck of the draw. All the staff were very friendly, and I would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the train station have a good view, but are a bit noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barryjf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Visited Edinburgh for the Xmas Market and spot of shopping. Rooms as expected from this chain of hotels very good - buffet style breakfast which staff struggled to keep stocked and turnover of tables meant short wait before being seated. Overall very good - close to Waverley Station and Princess Street area. Would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#46 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#88 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,277 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#24 of 149 in Edinburgh
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Edinburgh

Property: Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Address: 43 Jeffrey St., Edinburgh EH1 1DH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Edinburgh is located in the heart of Edinburgh's beautiful Old Town next to the famous Royal Mile and a 2 minute walk from Waverly Train Station. Prince's Street and Edinburgh Castle are a pleasant 10-15 minute walk away. Whether visiting for sight-seeing, shopping or business at the International Conference Centre, choosing Jurys Inn Edinburgh guarantees all your destinations are within easy reach. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. Enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. If arriving by car, public car parking is available nearby at Waverley Station car park. The hotel has 186 comfortable bedrooms that can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, flat screen TV with Freeview and Free WiFi. Guests who book directly with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, our best price guarantee and can earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme Jurys Rewards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jurys Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Jurys Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Jurys Hotel
Jurys Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing