We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Ranked #115 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

On arrival met by a very efficient receptionist and a speedy check in took place. First impressions of the hotel neat clean and modern. Advised my room was on the 3rd floor and when opening the room door I was disappointed - very tired room that was very cold. Spent a few minutes adjusting the heating and hoped it would work. No shelves in bathroom so no place to do makeup other than standing in the bedroom, lighting also not good. Went out and on my returned hoped the heating would be working it was not - as it was late I added another blanket and tried to keep warm. At 4.15am I was woken by an almighty noise which turned out to be the road sweeper god the noise was unreal and then the trains started! The hotel needs better windows which keep out noise. Slept badly due to being cold and noisy. Breakfast was lukewarm and very disappointing, however the second morning it was much improved and very hot. This hotel is clean but bedrooms need to be modernised and I would not want to stay again.,

Room Tip: Avoid facing the train station and main road ask for back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBB40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    896
    1,445
    882
    359
    186
See reviews for
899
1,316
179
508
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cobham, Surrey
Level Contributor
107 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel, great location with decent views (if you can ignore Waverley station!). Walking distance to all Edinburgh has to offer. If I reviewed on this basis alone I'd give it 5*...

But I can't. It's clean, tidy and modern. But sooooo in personal! The staff always seem to have better things to do. Hmmmm... I'd go again but with lower expectations when it came to service....

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire L, General Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay in Edinburgh. I am glad to hear you liked the location of the hotel . I am extremely disappointed to hear that you found our staff to be impersonal, I normally receive great feedback from guests about our staff in the hotel. I would be grateful if you could e-mail me with the issue you encountered so I can investigate these.

I do hope you visit us again and when you are next in Edinburgh please let me know and I will make the necessary arrangements for you.

Kind Regards
Claire Livingston
General Manager
claire_livingston@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed here for an overnight break last week and found the hotel was an excellent place to stay.
Reception staff were very pleasant (not sure if here name was Inga, couldn`t see her name very clearly on her badge), bedroom very comfortable and clean, only heard a bit of noise from the station up to midnight, we were advised by the receptionist that there could be noise and if there was, we could have a different room but we took the chance because of the view over the city. Excellent buffet breakfast and the good point for me was the fact that we could leave our bags while we went on a tour of the city and then collect them on our way back to the station.
All in all, a great hotel with great staff, unfortunately the one down point was the fact that a mortgage was needed to buy a beer and a glass of wine in the bar.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justback15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed at the Jurys Inn, Edinburgh, with a group of girl friends for a weekend away.
It is located a few minutes walk from Waverley train station and is in a great location. It is a few minutes walk to the Royal Mile and under 10 minutes to Princes Street.
The rooms were clean and comfortable and good value for what we paid. Our room rate included breakfast which consisted of a hot buffet and selection of cereals, fruit, yogurt, croissants etc. The breakfast was plentiful, fresh and tasted good. All of the staff we encountered during our stay were extremely friendly and helpful.
We all had a very enjoyable stay and would not hesitate to book there again for a future stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank musttravelmore1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Chose Jury's Inn Edinburgh to celebrate my wife's landmark birthday. Cousins flew in from Ireland as an extra suprise. Jury's Inn was easy to get to, we travelled by train to Waverley station, 5 mins walk away. Cousins flew to Edinburgh aiport and got express bus to Waverley Bridge, very regular, and again 5 mins walk away. Hotel very central, close to the Royal Mile (About half way along, between Holyrood House and the Castle), Princes Street, shops, pubs and restaurants. Breakfast in the hotel was excellent, wide variety of food (Porridge made to order) in relaxed restaurant setting.
Only negative comment was noise through the night from outside the hotel, think it's work going on upgrading the railway station.

Room Tip: We had "Superior" rooms on 6th and 7th floors, excellent views and large rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mps0302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langholm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

.stayed at jurys for a theatre and shopping break. Ideal location, rooms very clean Staff very helpful in all areas. we thought breakfast very good and value for money. We will stay here again Edinburgh is a lovely city. We would like to thank staff for making our stay so enjoyable

Room Tip: Reception staff asked if we wanted quite room so just ask and im sure you will get what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesley r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kigali
Level Contributor
255 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Clean, practical, really big space room, a king bed and spacious bathroomt - in terms of hotels in Edingburgh I thought this was much nicer than some of the pricier boutique hotels we stayed in . It's about a 3-5 minute walk to the Royal Mile in Old town. Was pleasantly surprised because it's a chain.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 5th floor facing the castle - it was so nice to sleep with the curtains open a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anuka9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Old Waverley Hotel
The Old Waverley Hotel
#104 of 147 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,975 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#48 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Edinburgh

Property: Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Address: 43 Jeffrey St., Edinburgh EH1 1DH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Edinburgh is located in the heart of Edinburgh's beautiful Old Town next to the famous Royal Mile and a 2 minute walk from Waverly Train Station. Prince's Street and Edinburgh Castle are a pleasant 10-15 minute walk away. Whether visiting for sight-seeing, shopping or business at the International Conference Centre, choosing Jurys Inn Edinburgh guarantees all your destinations are within easy reach. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. Enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. If arriving by car, public car parking is available nearby at Waverley Station car park. The hotel has 186 comfortable bedrooms that can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, flat screen TV with Freeview and Free WiFi. Guests who book directly with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, our best price guarantee and can earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme Jurys Rewards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Jurys Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Jurys Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Jurys Hotel
Jurys Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing