We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castle Rock Hostel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Apex Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$301
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$203
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$151
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$297
$271
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Fraser Suites Edinburgh(Edinburgh)
$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$184
$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$136
$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$225
$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,716)
Filter reviews
1,716 results
Traveler rating
1,036
535
102
18
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,036
535
102
18
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon areaspub crawlmovie roomhuge kitchenroyal milegreat locationinternet roomcommon roomtea and hot chocolatebed dormbathrooms and showersfemale dormperson roomlaundry serviceluggage storageenjoyed my staybeds were comfortable
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
957 - 962 of 1,716 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hostel has it all. Excellent location right next to the Castle, short walking distances from Royal Mile, shopping and Grassmarket. Clean and spacious rooms, many common rooms including a computer room and lounge. Movie nights, pub crawls, and lots more entertainment. Good for lone travellers as well as couples and friends. Mainly young crowd. Very friendly and helpful staff.
Unisex bathrooms. Didnt bother me but just an fyi.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cfstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed for a night on the fringe festival, stayed in a very quiet 12 bed room. Location was brilliant and parked the car right down the street in an NCP.

Great common area too with free tea and coffee, really funky. Nice vibes and music.

Would defo return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneyEmmerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

A bit disappointed because this hostel had great reviews.
I had booked a bed 4 months in advance in a 12-bed room for 6 nights. I had even sent an email to confirm. The day i arrived i was put into a 14-bed room. No excuse, no explanation. Even if the price was the same, the comfort is not. Moreover my bed was just near the door. Since i had booked a long stay i asked whether it was possible at least to move to a bed inside the big room. I would not be disturbed by guys going in and out (the door made lots of noise). There were free beds the day i checked in. They would just have to swap beds with a customer with a short stay.
The staff would just say no. They were not helpful when it comes to what matters most.
So they can change your booking as they like but you just can't, even if it is a minor change. The customers who checked in for just 1 night had better beds than me who stayed a week. It was the same thing with 3 other customers who stayed more than 4 nights and were put near the door. They agreed with me.
Plus some guys at the reception are really cold, no smile, no hello whatsoever.
Hey guys, those things don't cost money and service really makes a difference.
Breakfast is cheap but not that good... Rather go out since they are in the midst of the touristic area.
Excellent location. Nice lounge room and dinner room. Really beautiful surroundings.
Calm neighbourhood except for the Military Tattoo, but then, you come for the festival, don't you?
Wi-fi does not work well in the basement (the 14 bed room).
No plug in the room. You have to go to the lounge to load your battery or give your device to the reception (a bit annoying to disturb them for that, since they are busy with arrivals).

Room Tip: Avoid the 14 bed room.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

A friend and I stayed here for three nights in August. Either the best or worst time to be in the city depending on how much you like crowds. The location was fantastic: view of the castle from our window, walking distance to all the venues we needed to get to for Fringe Shows. It was fairly loud at night, though. Since we could see the castle, we could hear everything going on at the Military Tattoo. Not the fault of the hostel but it is something to keep in mind if you plan on staying here in August. It was clean and nice overall. Our main grievance with the room was the lack of electrical outlets. Staff let you leave electronics with them behind the desk to charge but that is not ideal.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed here in august , during the international festival. That's why in this period the prices for a night were pretty high. Anyway, the hostel is fantastic, situated under the castle and it looks like a castle. Very very clean, with nice relax areas, and friendly, helpful staff at the reception. You can borrow the hair dryer and power chargers for free. The only deficiency was the wifi- often we couldn't connect or the connection was slow.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monique131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews