We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castle Rock Hostel
Nearby Hotels
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$273
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$319
$206
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$726
$565
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$178
$167
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$265
$246
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$99
$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
$147
$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,738)
Filter reviews
1,738 results
Traveler rating
1,052
541
102
18
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,052
541
102
18
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon areaspub crawlmovie roomhuge kitchenroyal milegreat locationinternet roomcommon roomtea and hot chocolatebed dormbathrooms and showersfemale dormperson roomlaundry serviceluggage storageenjoyed my staybeds were comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
1,024 - 1,029 of 1,738 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed at Castle Rock Hostel for three nights during a bank holiday weekend so the place was very busy. I absolutely loved this hostel. The staff at the front desk were extremely helpful and could provide directions to just about anywhere. The rooms were very clean and so were the washrooms. The lounges were so much fun and had a great atmosphere. There was free wifi and board games. A continental breakfast including cereal, juice and a bun. I would definitely stay here again. For all the amenities provided this was worth the already cheap price of £15 a night.

Room Tip: Your security pass gets you discounts at some of the local restaurants.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The Castle Rock Hostel is a great base for exploring Edinburgh and the surrounding region, great location next to the castle and the royal mile, grassmarket and greyfriars only a short walk away. The rooms are pretty good with a great view out the window. Breakfast was only £1.50. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Azza116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I had a great time while staying in Castle Rock. The hostel is medieval style ,awesome, huge, clean, and full of friendly travelers and amazing staff. I didn't have any kind of problem or stress there. Caz , Seamus ( I hope that is right), Cris and all the people that work there make you feel at home. I made a lot of friends there that were traveling solo like me, and we would always go out and visit places together. If you have or made friends that are not staying in the hostel, the allow visitors to spend the day (but only in the commom areas ) till 11 p.m without charging anything for it.I highly recommend !

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I stayed in Rock Castle Hostel for 10 days. It is a really good choice! Rooms, toilets, bathroom and kitchen were clean. There was a choice for breakfast which was good and tastefull as well. The stuff was young, happy, helpful people! There were tours, for example, ghost tours, pub tours etc, while there were leaflets and advise for all the 'must see/do in Edinbra'. The Hostel was vivid and full with young travellers, but it was quiet enough to enjoy your sleep. There were lockers for every traveller inside to each room, and I felt pretty safe for my belogings. Finally, Rock Castle Hostel is at the top of Royal Myle, at the heart of Edinbra, and it was really easy to get anywhere!!! I would definately stay in Rock Castle Hostel again! Oh! forgot to mention that its decoration was quite Medieval and the view at the Castel was amazing!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ioanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The best part of if is the localitation , is in front of the castle,on the top of the hill, on the comercial Street, with lots of restaurants and cafes, whisky musseums and the distance to the train station is 5 minutes walking so all the biggest atractions are very close!!
I went there on my own, people is kind, maybe the guest are less open than in other hostels because lots of them life there, and is les fun if is not holidays.
Clean and big , close to everything, quiet at nights.Price is ok, people working there very kind.
If I go back I will return.Plenty of facilities, the bad point is have a few floors and no lift so, no recomendable if you have movility issues.

Room Tip: Try to have one in the top floor, the ones down stairs are a bit cold
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esther J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews