We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castle Rock Hostel
Nearby Hotels
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$268
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$511
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$275
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$152
$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$248
$207
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
$172
$165
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$180
$166
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$111
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,735)
Filter reviews
1,735 results
Traveler rating
1,051
539
102
18
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,051
539
102
18
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon areaspub crawlmovie roomhuge kitchenroyal milegreat locationinternet roomcommon roomtea and hot chocolatebed dormbathrooms and showersfemale dormperson roomlaundry serviceluggage storageenjoyed my staybeds were comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
1,068 - 1,073 of 1,735 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The location of this hostel is great, for one. You can look out a window and see Edinburgh Castle right next door, and it's right on the Royal Mile. The dorms offer lockers, and though they aren't big enough for larger luggage, they are sizable enough to fit most things you'd want locked up. The staff offer laundry services where they'll wash and fold your laundry and leave it on your bed. Also, they'll charge your electronic devices at the front desk for you as well. The lounge has free wifi, and there's a kitchen for use. Especially for the price, this hostel was a great choice for our trip! Even though the rooms are dorms, people actually didn't keep me up or wake me up like they have in some hostels I've stayed in. They have co-ed bathrooms, though they offer smaller female-only as well. The decor is quite ... interesting, as well, and is quite colorful and unusual.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed 2 nights on two separate occasions. The first dorm was great, up on the first floor. Bright, inviting and good value for money. The second time I was in one of the dorms in the basement, dark, not very nice. It was a 14 bed dorm, the same amount of money as the 10 bed dorm and absolutely no power sockets for the 14 people who were in the dorm. During my previous stay, each bed had two power sockets and the showers were cleaner and better.
For poorer facilities, you should not have to pay as much as a room with better facilities.
I would recommend getting a dorm on the first floor and definitely not one on the lowest level.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonMissG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal B, Manager at Castle Rock Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

The 14 bed dorm on level one is very spacious, with big Victorian windows and high ceilings not sure why you found it dark? The room is also currently in the process of having power sockets installed, hurray! We do also charge phones laptops in the safety of our reception for freeeee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Excellent lodging in Edinburgh. The hostel is located right at the bottom of the castle, and you have a lovely view of the city from the rooms. The hostel was huge with may rooms and winding staircases and hallways, much like a castle on its own really. They had many common areas and lounge areas too. Each bedroom is designed with a particular theme, and the decor of the room was matched by that - pretty interesting really! Shower facilities were great : clean and had many cubicles as well. My only gripe was that the wi-fi wasn't strong enough, and having to use the connection while planning the other parts of the trip made it tiresome. Also, service from the staff varies from one to the other ; overall it was good, but it can be better.

Castle rock is situated in a good location 3 minutes walk from the royal mile and 5minutes walk to waverly station and bus stop.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank takingflight123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

If you expect to find a hostel just in front of Edinburgh Castle... really, just in front of the castle, steps away from the Royal Mile.... this is definitely your hostel!

This hostel is in a big old house, with a lots of rooms and a lots of common rooms, a small home cinema, computers, kitchen, lockers, safe in every room/bed, great people, great staff, great hostel. They do have some activities like a Pub Crawl once a week and so on.

They only downside of being in front of the Castle, is that the Castle is on top of the hill, so the hostel is on the hill too. But, is the price to pay for being in the turistic center of Edinburgh and in one of the best hostels on the city.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yo-no-fui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal B, Manager at Castle Rock Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Hey glad you enjoyed the castle views, and our hostel. Safe travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I have been 2 times to the Castle Rock Hostel in the last 2 weeks.
The Hostel itself is in a very good location. I loved the beds cause they were very comfortable, every bed has its own locker + a safe to store your stuff in. The showers and toilets were clean, although the flushing sometimes didnt work.
The reason I only give 3 points: the kitchen doesnt seem to be very clean and a lot of stuff lying around
The other important thing to me is that the personnel is very unkind. Its more like being dispatched rather than being welcome. And when I called and asked for another accommodation they were just like "you have no credit card? Then you cant book on phone, bye *hangup*". Another point was the fact that someone got a key for my locker (they werent labelled) and they were like "Please use your allocated locker!" but it was definitely mine and they had problems with the keys I guess. Therefore I decided to go to another hostel and im very lucky with that and will not go back to the Castlerock.

The price for a dorm room is okay and breakfast is not included.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal B, Manager at Castle Rock Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Hi there, sorry if there was a staff member rude or short with you. Your right its not very nice when that happens. I promise all the staff are normally friendly people, I think perhaps you caught them in a bad, perhaps stressful situation. No excuses though, it will be addressed.
Thanks, and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews