We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of Character!”
Review of Castle Rock Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle Rock Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Excellent lodging in Edinburgh. The hostel is located right at the bottom of the castle, and you have a lovely view of the city from the rooms. The hostel was huge with may rooms and winding staircases and hallways, much like a castle on its own really. They had many common areas and lounge areas too. Each bedroom is designed with a particular theme, and the decor of the room was matched by that - pretty interesting really! Shower facilities were great : clean and had many cubicles as well. My only gripe was that the wi-fi wasn't strong enough, and having to use the connection while planning the other parts of the trip made it tiresome. Also, service from the staff varies from one to the other ; overall it was good, but it can be better.

Castle rock is situated in a good location 3 minutes walk from the royal mile and 5minutes walk to waverly station and bus stop.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank takingflight123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,628)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,000 - 1,006 of 1,628 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2012

If you expect to find a hostel just in front of Edinburgh Castle... really, just in front of the castle, steps away from the Royal Mile.... this is definitely your hostel!

This hostel is in a big old house, with a lots of rooms and a lots of common rooms, a small home cinema, computers, kitchen, lockers, safe in every room/bed, great people, great staff, great hostel. They do have some activities like a Pub Crawl once a week and so on.

They only downside of being in front of the Castle, is that the Castle is on top of the hill, so the hostel is on the hill too. But, is the price to pay for being in the turistic center of Edinburgh and in one of the best hostels on the city.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yo-no-fui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal B, Manager at Castle Rock Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Hey glad you enjoyed the castle views, and our hostel. Safe travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I have been 2 times to the Castle Rock Hostel in the last 2 weeks.
The Hostel itself is in a very good location. I loved the beds cause they were very comfortable, every bed has its own locker + a safe to store your stuff in. The showers and toilets were clean, although the flushing sometimes didnt work.
The reason I only give 3 points: the kitchen doesnt seem to be very clean and a lot of stuff lying around
The other important thing to me is that the personnel is very unkind. Its more like being dispatched rather than being welcome. And when I called and asked for another accommodation they were just like "you have no credit card? Then you cant book on phone, bye *hangup*". Another point was the fact that someone got a key for my locker (they werent labelled) and they were like "Please use your allocated locker!" but it was definitely mine and they had problems with the keys I guess. Therefore I decided to go to another hostel and im very lucky with that and will not go back to the Castlerock.

The price for a dorm room is okay and breakfast is not included.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal B, Manager at Castle Rock Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Hi there, sorry if there was a staff member rude or short with you. Your right its not very nice when that happens. I promise all the staff are normally friendly people, I think perhaps you caught them in a bad, perhaps stressful situation. No excuses though, it will be addressed.
Thanks, and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Was a great location, really convenient and easy to get to. The double room we got had a really low ceiling above the bed, which was a bit annoying. Other than that everything was really good, the breakfast was very cheap and was reasonable quality. Would stay here again, but ask for a room with a higher ceiling.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizzie406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

The only reason I gave a low score on anything is simply personal preference. Ten years ago I would have thought this place was heaven on earth. I would say its definitely geared toward a younger demographic with its decor, parties and events, and the folks who work and stay there. So I felt a bit old. However, if I were my 20 year old self, I could have stayed there a week and made friends, maybe made a bit of cash from their jobs board, gone to lots of parties and pub crawls... The decor and atmosphere is fun fun fun! They offer a lot of services, free wifi, computers to use for cheap, towels to rent are 25p, breakfast is £1, all the free coffee and tea you can drink with real milk! The place is gigantic! Besides its tall ceilings, big windows that open to gorgeous views, grand staircase that makes you feel important just to walk down, clean, efficient and easy to use bathrooms and showers. I might have wished the staff was a little friendlier, I mean they will help you with information or charging your iPod behind the desk or giving you directions, but they didn't want to have to talk to me any longer than necessary. Ah well, I had some good sleep in a nice place and fell asleep every night dreaming about the castle outside my window.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllisonPerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal B, Manager at Castle Rock Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Hey thanks for your lovely review, sorry we didn't get that chat in ;) but glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is a (sort of) backpacker's hostel, and perhaps I'm not in their usual demographic (age 61)... I felt my age when I was checking out at 5am to catch a London flight and youth were just arriving to go to bed... But I had a good stay there for a couple of Edinburgh Festival days recently. Someone with a bit of imagination has furnished it, the logistics are fine, the reception staff not the least condescending (which you can't take for granted) and its in an excellent location for Royal Mile-type activities. The Tatoo is raucous but (fortunately) over before bedtime and the hostel otherwise peaceful.
Will go again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kate b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal B, Manager at Castle Rock Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Thanks for staying with us, we look forward to seeing you again in the future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Back to Edinburgh for another long weekend at the Fringe and we stayed at the same hostel as last year.

Definitely still one of the best all round hostels I've been to. Common area is huge with a cheap pool table plus extra rooms for IT and just relaxing in a quiet room. Kitchen is big and well stocked and free tea and coffee is on hand 24/7. Only got down for breakfast once but it was pretty decent by hostel standards. Beds are bunks but comfy enough and plenty sturdy, not creaky. Toilets and shower facilities are pretty well provided for however if you go for a night out and want to sleep in, they take hours to clean so you can't use them between about 10am and 2pm it seems.

Staff are all friendly, hostel is clean and well located. Not much more you could want - other than maybe some private en suite rooms?

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidE171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal B, Manager at Castle Rock Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Glad you enjoyed our different lounge areas, the cheap pool table is a great place to hang out with mates or meet new people over a few beers :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Safestay Edinburgh
Safestay Edinburgh
#12 of 217 in Edinburgh
1,719 reviews
Old Town
High Street Hostel
High Street Hostel
#14 of 217 in Edinburgh
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
CODE POD Hostel
CODE POD Hostel
#2 of 217 in Edinburgh
1,098 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Baxter
The Baxter
#23 of 217 in Edinburgh
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Rock Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Rock Hostel

Address: 15 Johnston Terrace, Edinburgh EH1 2PW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Grassmarket
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: $11 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Castle Rock Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Castle Rock Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Rock Hotel Edinburgh
Castle Rock Hostel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing