We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #75 of 214 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

I have just returned from a 2 night stay in a private double room at the Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel. We arrived considerably earlier than than the 1pm check in time but the reception staff were really friendly and advised that we could leave our bags there for free until our room was ready.

We we returned at 1pm were were promptly checked in with no hassle and the staff politely advised there was a 10 pound deposit for the room key and advised that we would be staying in a separate building merely 100 yards away right on the Royal Mile. We had a little trouble getting into the front door with the key but once we entered the flat we were pleasantly surprised given the nature of some previous reviews. We had a private double room in a flat with a shared kitchen and bathroom.There was one other bedroom but the other guests were hardly there so gave us no issues. The place was spotless and were were given clean towels and toilet rolls.

It wasn't the Ritz but given the price of the hostel I thought it was great value for money and I would have no hesitation staying there again. I must emphasize how amazing the location is. It is central to Edinburgh Castle, Holyrod Palace, Camera Obscura, St Giles Cathedral and Princes Street Gardens.

The only downside was that the check out time of 10am is a little early but we could leave our luggage in the hostel reception until we needed to leave for the airport.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendymcg2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    105
    88
    48
    56
See reviews for
11
86
52
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sesimbra, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

It has been the worst hostel that we have ever been! The photos from the internet can't be from the same place! We staied in another building that smelled bad, in a room w/ a window that give to a wall. The man's bathroom had very poor conditions. My bed was broken and on the third and last night, they made us change places at 11 pm, because they made a mistake. No words for that! Although hostels are cheaper the customers deserve respect.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nadiabalejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed in the backpackers hostel from friday night to sunday, we wanted something cheap and but good, this place wasn't the cheapest but was in a good location. The staff were not friendly, place was so dirty and had a bad smell, Male bathroom was awful no hot water the whole weekend & wifi didn't work. So I wouldn't recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

The location of this hostel really can't be improved upon; it's right off the Royal Mile and within walking distance of all the major tourist destinations, pubs and restaurants in Edinburgh. The reception staff were very friendly, but when we asked them what was worth seeing around the city on a Saturday afternoon they were at a loss. It seems they don't know much about the city other than what they can point out on an organised tour brochure. We stayed in a 14 bed dorm which was okay -- quite dark and rundown (and I was slightly afraid the bunk bed was going to collapse on me halfway through the night), but if you're here for a short time it's worth staying here and taking advantage of the cheap prices.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk, Pomorskie, Poland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

It was awful. We slept 2 nights in 14beds dorm. When I saw the room, and of course smelled it, I wanted to run away. But I had already paid for it and we had ran out of money. There was only one window with a view on another wall, so it was dark all day long. Mattresses were collapsing and there was a disgusting smell everywhere. The fact is, that this hostel is great located. But it's not worth to sleep in such a disguising room. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. But remember that I'm writing about 14beds dorm, I haven't seen any other dorm.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karolina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sosnowiec, Katowice, Poland
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Place in good accomodation and quite cheap( not the best one actually). We took a big dorm and it was in other building. The quality was really cheap , and it was loduly and dirty. Smell was unpleasant because it was below the level of ground. If you need only a bed in old town you may be satissfied. I dont reccommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mateusz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

The hostel was right off the royal mile and just minutes away from airport buses and the train station. Really close to tourist info centres, not that you need them cos the staff are extremely helpful and most are travellers themselves so have done it all too! Robbie was a great guy! Other people staying were respectful of each others food in the kitchen and each other in general. Beds and dorms were cleaned daily. Perfect for a nice backpackers experience! Would recommend to anyone looking to have a fun time and meet great people in a safe environment. Really loved it. From a very happy Aussie backpacker!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happyaussiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Old Town
High Street Hostel
High Street Hostel
#20 of 214 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Royal Mile Backpackers
Royal Mile Backpackers
#46 of 214 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
New Town
Haggis Hostels
Haggis Hostels
#12 of 214 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Baxter
The Baxter
#23 of 214 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel

Property: Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel
Address: 65 Cockburn Street, Edinburgh EH1 1BU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 214 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel has one of the best locations in the city. We have 4 seperate buildings and cater for a wide variety of travellers. We have single, double, twin and quad private rooms (standard & en-suite). We also have 11 dormitories ranging in size from 6-14 beds. Our main building has free WIFI, games room (with pool table), TV Lounge (Sky TV), dinning room and fully equipped kitchen. Each guest is given their own entry key and all dormitories have free lockers (deposit required).All our staff are Backpackers, so we have in depth knowledge on the best and cheapest things to see and do in this amazing city. Our reception is operated 24hrs a day, so someone is always on hand to help with any questions. If you want great value for money and a friendly welcome, Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel is the place to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Backpackers Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing