We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #62 of 212 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Location really good, in the heart of Edinburgh.But little atmosphere. Since I had my room on the first floor I didn't find lack of a lift as a big problem, but the story would be completely different on the top floor. I stayed there one night during the Fringe Festival so was busy and a bit expensive. The worse thing is the cleanness didn't meet my expectation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana-laska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    111
    98
    51
    59
See reviews for
11
102
62
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed there for 4 nights. It was the worst experience ever, very dirty rooms, that were never cleaned, severely dirty toilets and showers. terrible kitchen too, no place to keep anything and impossible to cook there due to the lack of properly functioning hotplates. If you do want to eat something there is no place to sit in the dining room, for such a large hostel the dining room is tiny with 3 small tables and a couch and this is made worse by the fact that the so called employees of the hostel take up half the room all day long, because they are not really bothered about cleaning anything. Also, to get to the top bunk on the bed is really difficult because there is no ladder. Truly a terrible experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mac665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed for three nights during Edinburgh Fringe. Our room was one of the 'penthouse' apartments at the very top of the building. It's a long way up (100 steps) and there's no lift, but we did have a room that was more of a full on studio flat with it's own kitchen and substantial living space (a large bed, sofa, chairs and plenty of floor space). The staff were very friendly and we didn't have any of the hot water issues that the previous reviewer experienced - our room had a power shower.

If you're a bit precious then this place isn't for you, but if you're happy to ignore a bit of wear in exchange for having what is essentially your own city centre flat then I'd definitely recommend staying in the room that we did. We had no issues with noise and found everything to be very clean (if a little tatty). The bed was comfortable and huge and we were very happy with our stay.

Room Tip: Penthouse room 3 was our room and it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken_Justice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We booked this hostel to accommodate our stay during the Fringe Festival 2012.
Upon arrival we found the location to be ideal for the fringe as it was just off the Royal Mile and easy to locate.

Walking in to the hostel we were greeted by very friendly staff and enjoyed the complimentary Walkers Shortbread on the counter. The hostel reception is manned by 24 hour staff and has plenty of fringe posters and information posters and guides.

Our room was a private room on the top floor. 100 odd steps up to the top and when you are a little tipsy and in heels - it's pretty horrific. However this hostel is in an old building and Edinburgh does seem to have hills, steps and mountainous climbs everywhere!
Also on the top floor there is a random mound of dirty slippers and shoes which is a little bizarre.

One criticism of this hostel is that there was no hot water from 11am onwards and many days we had cold showers. The shower curtains were pretty see-through and it was awkward to navigate the shampoo/hot water/towel drying situation. They were however cleaned daily.

Our stay here was generally good for a hostel stay. The curtains didn't exactly meet in the middle and our lamp in the room didn't work. However we didn't bring these items to the attention of the staff so it wouldn't be a criticism as we didn't encourage them to rectify the situation.

On checking out it is a minor outrage that they charge you £3 per bag. This is the sole reason I am dropping a point on TA. Typically hostels and hotels do not charge for this service and it was pretty cheeky.

All in all we had a good stay and I wouldn't rule out staying again due to the staff and location. I'm pretty sure that i'm going to avoid shared bathrooms for the remainder of my adult life.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PradaShoes11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton Agnes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed here in August 2012 for 3 days,completely missed the entrance,
booked a twin room for 2 nights expecting 2 beds but found out it was bunk bed,, very noisy on nights listening to other party goers,
spent 3rd night in a double room, very nice..........
there were a few things to consider
electric sockets that didnt work,broken plugs on lamp wires(exposed metal pins), shower extraction fans held up with string,(health and safety officer would have a field day)
lots and lots of steps to climb to your room which kept us fit.
the staff were very friendly and polite. Be aware purchasing breakfast vouchers for the cafe next door,
you can buy this voucher for £4.95 for a so called full scottish breakfast from the cafe next door,thus saving you £2 .Fantastic you may think but you don`t actually get the full breakfast, cos they miss off xtra sausage and bacon, otherwise it`s good,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lord_colin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I stayed here at the end of June 2012 for 3 days in a mixed room. It was nice. It can be quite noisy, specially in the night, but the staff is very nice, and the localization is just great!

Be aware of the 100 steps to get upstairs! Heheheheh

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camilamolyveira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Nice breakfast, a little bit noisy.
a good place to stay and start to get to know the city...
good bathrooms

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aconc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Royal Mile Backpackers
Royal Mile Backpackers
#35 of 212 in Edinburgh
166 reviews
Old Town
High Street Hostel
High Street Hostel
#17 of 212 in Edinburgh
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Haggis Hostels
Haggis Hostels
#16 of 212 in Edinburgh
403 reviews
Old Town
Castle Rock Hostel
Castle Rock Hostel
#3 of 212 in Edinburgh
1,541 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Baxter
The Baxter
#21 of 212 in Edinburgh
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel

Property: Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel
Address: 65 Cockburn Street, Edinburgh EH1 1BU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 212 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel has one of the best locations in the city. We have 4 seperate buildings and cater for a wide variety of travellers. We have single, double, twin and quad private rooms (standard & en-suite). We also have 11 dormitories ranging in size from 6-14 beds. Our main building has free WIFI, games room (with pool table), TV Lounge (Sky TV), dinning room and fully equipped kitchen. Each guest is given their own entry key and all dormitories have free lockers (deposit required).All our staff are Backpackers, so we have in depth knowledge on the best and cheapest things to see and do in this amazing city. Our reception is operated 24hrs a day, so someone is always on hand to help with any questions. If you want great value for money and a friendly welcome, Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel is the place to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Backpackers Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing