We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hogmanay Break”
Review of The Bonham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bonham
Ranked #46 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2007

My partner and I stayed at The Bonham for the arranged Hogmanay package from Dec 29th to Jan 2nd. Apart from the obvious disapointment of the Street Party being cancelled the hotel was excellent and we still had a great time.

Travel
To transfer from Edinburgh airport to the Bonham we got the airlink bus service. This departs from stand 19 outside arrivals and the ticket is £5 each for an open return. The bonham is just a short walk from the west end stop.

Location
The Bonham is in a good location roughly 10-15 minutes from Princes Street.

Room
We stayed in room 306 which had great views accross the water to Fife. The room was spacious and comfortable and was always clean when we came back.

Food & Drink
The Restaurant itself was smart with 2 tables by the window.
The breakfasts and hogmanay brunch were good with a choice of full scottish breakfast, cereals, pastries, cheese and ham etc.
The evening meals were a nice 3 courses every night with a 6 course meal for new years eve. We really enjoyed the food and there was hardly anything we didn't like. We particularly liked the scollops, halibat, rabbit and duck dishes. The wine list was fine with usual hotel high prices.

Service
We couldn't fault the service. Check in was quick and we were given a map of the area with places of interest being circled.
Restaurant service was superb, didn't feel rushed or forgotten.

Misc.
- A nice touch was a Happy New Year message left outside our door with complimentary whiskey and baileys.
- A nice bar can be found on George Street next to the hard rock cafe, it's called the dome bar and was very nicely decorated for christmas.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Benjamin_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,371)
There are newer reviews for The Bonham
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,262 - 1,268 of 1,371 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2007

Can only commnet about the restaurant as we did not stay at the Hotel. I had booked a Christmas Meal at 65 pounds per person with a set menu. First of all the food was awful. Either cold or just poorly presented. When it did appear it did not taste particulary good. The Spinach still had dirt on it. The service staff was completely overwhelmed which is understandable as they were short staffed, but at 65 pounds a head you would think someone could have planned for the amount of people they would be having. After waiting 45 minutes for our final course we were thrilled to be able to leave. Two evenings later we went to Martin Wishart paid 55 pounds per person and had the most delicious meal with absolutely perfect service. Don't waste your money on the Bonham for ANY meal.

Stayed: December 2006
3  Thank quoguegmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2006

Just got back from the bonham Hotel in Edinbourgh.
We just went in because it looked very nice from outside as we didn't book in advance.And we did well!

The hotel staff was very helpful and willing to help, we found a super professional service either at the front desk and with cleanings in the room.

Our room was very spacious and silent, with a fancy flat screen lcd tv and a nice clean bathroom.

The breakfast was one of the best we've had during our stay in Scotland, with not only excellent food and nice setting but also very kind staff.

We definitely go back again to repeat the beautiful experience.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Live&LoveLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2006

My wife and I just returned from 3 fantastic days in Edinborough's Bonham hotel. The room was spacious and reasonably priced. The service was top-notch starting with the desk right up to the manager. The breakfasts were excellent,too. We couldn't have been more pleased. I can recommend this hotel without reservation.
L.T. Ft. Lauderdale, FL

Stayed: June 2006
7  Thank hockeyplayer28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2006

We were disappointed with our choice of the Bonham. The room was small, with very limited storage space for clothes- and we only had a weekend's worth! Also the room was not cleaned to a high standard .
The continental breakfast selection was mediocre, and the table napkins were a cheap one-ply paper- not what you would expect from a hotel with pretensions!
And to top it all, we found the reception staff to be supercilious and unfriendly.
We travel often in Europe for business and pleasure, and so far this year, the Bonham gets the prize for the hotel that we are least likely to return to.
It did not measure up to its own press- though the location was good, and the restaurant evening meal was more as we would have expected.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Andrea51_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2006

Brilliant, comfortable hotel. Upgraded to superior Room 1, (complete with antique copper bath !). The room was clean,spacious and the bed very comfortable.Staff were very helpful and although we didnt try the restaraunt, the breakfast served in our room was good and plenty of it. It was my partners first visit to Scotland, and she can't wait to go back..........to the Bonham.

4  Thank Spanielman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2006

On 2nd June I attended a close friends wedding at The Bonham - it was marvelous!

On returning from the marriage ceremony at Edinburgh Castle we were welcomed on the front steps by the senior management & staff. I felt that this was a truly personal touch & started off the proceedings perfectly.
From beginning to end the service & attention to detail was 5* plus. The superb wedding dinner would give even Gordon Ramsay a run for his money!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MeringueHume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,385 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,856 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh Charlotte Square
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bonham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bonham

Address: 35 Drumsheugh Gardens, Edinburgh EH3 7RN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#55 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $118 - $531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bonham 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh is a boutique hotel in Scotland with a very contemporary spirit. It occupies a series of Victorian buildings in the West End of Edinburgh, whose soaring natural proportions have allowed us to create a truly dynamic set of rooms and public spaces. At The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh, we have used bold colour, rich texture and contemporary art and photography to build an environment that is fun, upbeat, welcoming and with the unmistakable buzz of being part of a great Scottish city.There are 49 boutique rooms and suites at The Bonham, each individually styled so that, among them, you will almost certainly find the one you have been waiting for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bonham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bonham Hotel Edinburgh
Bonham Hotel Edinburgh
The Bonham Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing