We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faultless - we could not recomend this hotel highly enough to do it and the staff justice !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bonham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bonham
Ranked #52 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Faultless - we could not recomend this hotel highly enough to do it and the staff justice !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2009

The hotel, service, rooms, resturant, food, decor, layout and everything else was faultless - proberbly one of the best small hotels we have ever stayed in (we never stop in the larger chain hotels)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChestersTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    411
    148
    69
    15
See reviews for
95
772
45
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baldock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2009

From the moment of arrival we found the service and coutesy of all the staff extremely good - from initial welcome, to carrying bags to room and to parking car in their car park for us (all at their suggestion). Rich decorations in public areas and an air of tranquility all enhanced the stay at the hotel. Room (third floor rear) was very well furnished and lived up to expectation created by the brochure and internet adverts. It had a lovely view over parts of the City and to the Firth of Forth.

Located in the "New Town" it really is just a 6-7 minute walk from the Western end of Princes Street and George Street and probably about 15 minutes from the Royal Mile.

On the food side, breakfasts were very good. We only ate in on one evening but have to say were a little dissapointed. Maybe because it coincided with fathers day, but the main meal of Duck had run out (by 7pm) and had been replaced by the less appealing chicken breast. The quality of the food however was very good, albeit a pretty sparse on the plate - OK for nouveau fanatics, but really after a day trotting up and down the Royal mile a little more quantity as well as quality would nice.

However overall a very pleasant stay

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2009

This place is a gem. I have had several disappointing hotel experiences vacationing in Scotland and this place was very refreshing.

I was travelling alone this trip and booked this for the beginning of my stay after arriving from the U.S.A. and then prior to departure. The first room (304) was surprising roomy; the second (307) was a bit cramped, but still acceptable since it was just me. Also, the first room was 99 pounds per night; the second 89. This included full breakfast, which was excellent. The rooms were in top condition and quiet.

I was not travelling with a computer this trip and they had a laptop I was able to use. When someone else was using it and I wanted to check e-mail, the staff offered me the use of one of their business computers. I would not abuse this offer, but it gives you the idea of how anxious they are to satisfy.

The hotel is located just slightly to the west of central Edinburgh. It is a nice 5 or 10 minute walk, which is just far enough so that you are not in the middle of "tourist craziness."

The only thing which bothered me was the rooms were a bit warm in the late afternoon and evening. Things may be a bit cooler on the first or second floors. I had the windows open the entire time.

I am probably returning to Edinburgh next summer, this time with my wife and we are planning on staying at The Bonham.

Tip: if you are coming from the airport and can carry your own luggage, just take the express bus to the West End stop - the hotel is a 5 minute walk from the stop. If you are coming by train, Waverly is about a 20 minute walk; instead, get off at Haymarket if your train stops there - it's a 7 minute walk .

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lebboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2009

My husband & I stayed for 3 nights at the Bonham in rm 109, which is located at the rear of the hotel. Our room was light and airy with two windows and the king size bed had high quality cotton bedding & extremely comfortable pillows. The curtains, 4 cushions and a vanity chair were all upholstered in matching patterned fabric & a co-ordinated scarlet throw gave a deluxe look. Our room had 2 full length towelling dressing gowns, which were useful, and molten brown toiletries were also a nice touch.

We paid £320 for 3-nights including full scottish breakfast, which we thought was a bargain as our Dorling Kindersly Scotland book suggested rooms were £150+ per night.

The only thing to be careful of is the parking if you intend to travel during the day as reception do not take any car registration details and cars were often blocked in so visitors were delayed trying to find offending owners so they could move their cars. The hotel is a 10-15 minute walk to Princes Street, but this wasn't a problem as it meant the hotel is located in a quiet location so no problems with noise.

We would strongly recommend this hotel and look forward to returning if prices remain competitive.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TommySteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2009

My wife and I just spent 3 nights at the Bonham. It was centrally located near everything. The staff could not do enough to help.We had a spacious room on the 4th floor: clean & bright. Just no air conditioning. Apparently few hotels have this amenity. All in all, an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2009

I booked the Bonham as a complete surprise for my husband and myself for his 40th birthday. On arrival the receptionist new it was my husbands birthday and had arranged for us to have a complimentary drink - anything we wanted - on his actual birthday the next day. That really set the tone. The service we received was absolutely fantastic, nothing was too much trouble. In fact in our opinion that went way beyond what we would expect. Our only small and I mean small grumble is that our lovely room was very warm indeed (we were blessed I guess to have very good weather). It did make it quite difficult to sleep at night.
Other than that I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and would certainly love to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nena71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2009

I knew it was going to be good .. you don't pay top dollar for a mediocre hotel .. but not as good as this! I booked the long weekend for my partner's birthday and first impressions on registering were very good. Great service, luggage already in our room (We had arrived too early to check in immediately) and it looked good too. When we entered the room we could not believe our eyes as there was a huge bay window with panoramic views across to the Firth of Forth .. a must for room service brekfast every morning. The room was great (the only exception was the tatty robes), the facilities superb. Breakfast was excellent and we had one evening meal in the restaurant which I would highly recommend. Easy walking distance to both old and new town. Try it if you are planning a special occasion.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkSancerre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Channings Hotel
#35 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
New Town
The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#14 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bonham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bonham

Property: The Bonham
Address: 35 Drumsheugh Gardens, Edinburgh EH3 7RN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bonham 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh is a boutique hotel in Scotland with a very contemporary spirit. It occupies a series of Victorian buildings in the West End of Edinburgh, whose soaring natural proportions have allowed us to create a truly dynamic set of rooms and public spaces. At The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh, we have used bold colour, rich texture and contemporary art and photography to build an environment that is fun, upbeat, welcoming and with the unmistakable buzz of being part of a great Scottish city.There are 49 boutique rooms and suites at The Bonham, each individually styled so that, among them, you will almost certainly find the one you have been waiting for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bonham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bonham Hotel Edinburgh
Bonham Hotel Edinburgh
The Bonham Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing