We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service - absolutely fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bonham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bonham
Ranked #53 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Service - absolutely fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2009

I booked the Bonham as a complete surprise for my husband and myself for his 40th birthday. On arrival the receptionist new it was my husbands birthday and had arranged for us to have a complimentary drink - anything we wanted - on his actual birthday the next day. That really set the tone. The service we received was absolutely fantastic, nothing was too much trouble. In fact in our opinion that went way beyond what we would expect. Our only small and I mean small grumble is that our lovely room was very warm indeed (we were blessed I guess to have very good weather). It did make it quite difficult to sleep at night.
Other than that I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and would certainly love to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nena71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    411
    148
    69
    15
See reviews for
95
772
45
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2009

I knew it was going to be good .. you don't pay top dollar for a mediocre hotel .. but not as good as this! I booked the long weekend for my partner's birthday and first impressions on registering were very good. Great service, luggage already in our room (We had arrived too early to check in immediately) and it looked good too. When we entered the room we could not believe our eyes as there was a huge bay window with panoramic views across to the Firth of Forth .. a must for room service brekfast every morning. The room was great (the only exception was the tatty robes), the facilities superb. Breakfast was excellent and we had one evening meal in the restaurant which I would highly recommend. Easy walking distance to both old and new town. Try it if you are planning a special occasion.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkSancerre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2009

We had one of the lower end rooms at the Bonham. We'd heard the hype about it being the best hotel in Edinburgh from someone who staying in one of the high end rooms with a copper tub. Our room was nice and I loved the natural light in the bath. However, I'm not sure it was really better than other hotels we stayed at in the area, and cost a bit more!

Dinner was good, but again, nothing outstanding for the price. We booked the deal dinner for 30 pounds online, but when we looked at the menu, we saw we could have actually eaten for less.

Also, it's a little bit of a walk to the city centre, though the bus isn't too far. Overall, I agree with the poster below. It's a nice hotel, but I felt something was missing to really make it worth the extra money.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwenifyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2009

Most of us - while travel - stay at the huge hotels which we think we know. Then at the end this is mostly - if for pleasure - not what you expected. Then some of us would say this is indeed not what I wanted. So I'm discovering now the small hotels and enjoy their peace and quite. The Bonham is definitely one of them! It is small hotel very British not so far away from the city center... you can easily walk ad every single thing you want to see can be reached by walking. You have everything what you need. The breakfast is tasty and you can choose what you want to eat since not all of us like such big breakfasts and haggis or black pudding. You have WiFi if you need and enjoy very clean rooms with nice views. Very helpful stuff and always with a smile helping you to find what you want to see. It is perfect for you alone or if you travel with friends or just with your partner. You will feel this peace and quite and certainly enjoy it.
And since I felt in love with Edinburgh already I going back there to see the city properly :-)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeMyszka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2009

this is a good hotel but is missing that something that would make it great. the staff are fine by and large (without being exceptional) and the restaurant is above average. however if you are selling yourself as special or boutique, then I think you are entitled to a bit more. for example the bedroom suites are fabulous but some of the other bedrooms are underwhelming especially if you are paying top dollar. There is no bar as such and the only place at times to sit and have a drink is in the lobby, which is not very big and not ideal if you have people checking in etc..Worth a look if you get a good deal

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ostan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2009

I spent a weekend in this hotel with my boyfriend and another couple while attending a wedding in Edinburgh. The hotel is truely fantastic! The rooms are lovely, room service food is fantastic and staff as equally as good. The hotel is a few mintues walk from princess street and about £5 taxi from waverly and haymarket train stations. Even when we came in at 3am and the hotel was closed up the door attentendant was cheerfull. I left feeling truely relaxed and loved every second.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmacla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2009

We stayed for six nights, the staff were very accommodating. We had the wrong plug converter to charge our cameras and they happily provided one for the whole stay. They even loaned us a laptop to send emails home. The rooms are equipped with internet access through the TV, but we preferred a real computer and it was no problem.
Room was well equipped with coffee/tea even shortbread cookies. Iron & ironing board etc. Lots of room to spread out in. Our room had a large bath, with separate shower stall. And the view over Edinburgh was awesome. Close walking distance to major shopping, Golden Mile and the Castle. Would definitely book there again and will recommend it to everyone going to Scotland. If you stay here include the breakfast it was delicious. Everything from smoked salmon to haggis.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontrealGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Channings Hotel
#35 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
New Town
The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#14 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#28 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bonham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bonham

Property: The Bonham
Address: 35 Drumsheugh Gardens, Edinburgh EH3 7RN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#31 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bonham 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh is a boutique hotel in Scotland with a very contemporary spirit. It occupies a series of Victorian buildings in the West End of Edinburgh, whose soaring natural proportions have allowed us to create a truly dynamic set of rooms and public spaces. At The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh, we have used bold colour, rich texture and contemporary art and photography to build an environment that is fun, upbeat, welcoming and with the unmistakable buzz of being part of a great Scottish city.There are 49 boutique rooms and suites at The Bonham, each individually styled so that, among them, you will almost certainly find the one you have been waiting for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bonham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bonham Hotel Edinburgh
Bonham Hotel Edinburgh
The Bonham Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing