We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel with excelent service”
Review of The Bonham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bonham
Ranked #48 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel with excelent service”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

The hotel is situated in a very nice and quiet street and close to everything.
The rooms are very nice, some are better than others so if you don't like yours, do not hesitate to ask for another one.
The staff is very helpful, they chat with you and try to make you feel very comfortable and they succeeded in doing that.

Room Tip: Rooms 306 and 308 are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tam Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    420
    149
    69
    15
See reviews for
97
784
47
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

I recently celebrated my 50th birthday at 'The Bonham' with my husband and three other couples. From start to finish our stay was a delight. Staff are very friendly and helpful and we even stayed an extra night as one couple I had paid up front for as a 'best of the Bonham' deal couldn't make it on the Sunday and it was no trouble to let us stay an extra night so that I didn't lose my money. Food on both nights was top class and the room and bed extremely comfortable. I would not hesitate to recommend this beautiful hotel .

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phatjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Service, service and service were the highlights of our stay in Edinburgh as guests of this nice boutique hotel The Bonham. Our room was number 308 with a perfect view of the city skyline. There is a lift in the building, so you feel yourself in a traditional Scottish house with amenities of 21th century: wi-fi, excellent shower and space, much space. But there is more : a new bar with a great variety of single malt whiskies. If you are in doubt, taste Mccallan or Bowmore. And the hotel team makes the difference! Very kind and helpful people with whom I could practice some Hungarian (Suzane), Italian (forgot her name) and Portuguese (works at the bar).

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Assis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Check in and reception staff were great, friendly and helpful. Room was good, nice views very comfy bed and a good nights sleep.
Restaurant was a let down however...... unlike the reception staff the head waiter/maître'd or whatever he wishes to call himself was rude, abrupt and very condescending at dinner. Don't expect to have a steak cooked the way you wish, flatly refused to have it cooked well done, insisting it could only be cooked to a maximum of medium, 'we wouldn't like it any other way'
Always thought that was my choice??? Order a side with your main as you will need it.
Breakfast, the full Scottish was very bland, most of it appeared pre cooked and kept barely warm until service. Not as described, a duo of eggs but only one served, interestingly a lunch the previous day was also short of the described bread and butter to accompany a meat platter, and easy way to make savings or very forgetful? Breakfast tea was awful absolutely tasteless. Staff slow to clear away at breakfast, annoyingly what I presume was a manger was able to chastise a waitress about something trivial (that should be done out of customers earshot ) before messing about with menus at the side and ignoring the tables needing cleared.
Bar prices are expensive, but no more than you would expect given its location.
Should be much better, senior restaurant staff in particular, both breakfast and dinner should take a leaf out of others books and brush up their customer care skills, far too full of their own self importance it seems.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rha08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Just had a wonderful meal at The Bonham Edinburgh. The staff were all very friendly & the food really was excellent. I honestly could not fault our visit and the other 3 members of our party all agreed. Thank you so much to all.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cupraturbofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Within walking distance to all of Edinburgh's major attractions, but just off in a quiet area, the Bonham is a lovely little boutique hotel. The rooms are pretty large by UK standards and immaculate. Beds are comfy and bedding is nice quality. The staff are very nice as are the bar and restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Knitwhiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a lovely hotel that is just close enough to all of the tourist attractions of Edinburgh to be convenient, while far enough away to be calm and relaxing. The staff was great, and the option to receive breakfast in the room was very welcomed. The beds and bathrooms are very large by UK standards. We would definitely stay here when in Edinburgh again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alaniadancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,043 reviews
New Town
The Roxburghe Hotel
The Roxburghe Hotel
#66 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,076 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#14 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,806 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#16 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,118 reviews
Channings Hotel
#37 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bonham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bonham

Property: The Bonham
Address: 35 Drumsheugh Gardens, Edinburgh EH3 7RN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bonham 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh is a boutique hotel in Scotland with a very contemporary spirit. It occupies a series of Victorian buildings in the West End of Edinburgh, whose soaring natural proportions have allowed us to create a truly dynamic set of rooms and public spaces. At The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh, we have used bold colour, rich texture and contemporary art and photography to build an environment that is fun, upbeat, welcoming and with the unmistakable buzz of being part of a great Scottish city.There are 49 boutique rooms and suites at The Bonham, each individually styled so that, among them, you will almost certainly find the one you have been waiting for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Bonham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bonham Hotel Edinburgh
Bonham Hotel Edinburgh
The Bonham Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing