We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced”
Review of The Bonham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bonham
Ranked #53 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Over priced”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

My husband and stayed at the hotel for 2 nights on the best of the bonham deal advertised on website. Thought it was a great deal and it was for a relaxed treat weekend. When I first contacted the hotel the reservation staff were very helpful and I was impressed. We arrived and all seemed ok except they couldn't see that I booked 2 nights, we were early to hotel so knew our room wasn't ready yet, we then went out for some lunch and returned to find our bags in our rooms which was fantastic.

The room was very basic no better than a premier inn standard. We were disappointed but they are spotless and housekeeping are great.

Our deal included dinner which was by far the best part! The restaurant staff are FABULOUS! The head waiter Thomas was super he recommended wines that complimented our food, was attentive, knowledgable and showed outstanding customer care. He is an assets to the hotel.

Food was some of the best I have ever had in any restaurant
in Scotland, the chef is
fantastic! This really made our stay along with our yummy breakfast which we had in bed.

Front of house staff don't seem to know what's going on! As much as they are nice they don't know if you've paid or how or how much. This really annoyed me they can come across rude and first impressions count!

Having frequented there sister hotel Blythswood Square Hotel many times I would say the staff at The Bonham could take tips from them in 5* service.

Overall very good
Would and intend to come back to The Bonham for the restaurant and maybe to stay as my husband loved it!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    680
    421
    157
    70
    15
See reviews for
99
789
48
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed in a double, standard room. Bed lovely and comfortable but the chairs were in serious need of upholstering. Rooms immaculately clean and room service staff attentive and hard working. Prices for the mini-bar were outrageous. Plenty shops nearby so I would advise bringing in your own snacks, water, juice etc rather than paying over the odds. We were only there 2 nights and ate from the hotel restaurant. Again, excellent staff but prices could not be justified. Being vegetarian, there was only one main dish that i could eat. They did make me up a very basic salad the following night after i asked if there was any alternative, but i felt it was definitely not value for money. Lift was not working when we were there which meant a hike to the 3rd floor and would have been impossible for the elderly or disabled. On balance, i wouldn't stay there again. I have given it 3 stars. Good hard working staff, but overpriced.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsStewartScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

I'll start with the positives:
- The staff are lovely (I received particularly friendly and professional service from a blonde receptionist, who was so friendly on check in and check out)
- The breakfast was nice
- The room is lovely and big
- The décor is traditional, warm and very Scottish
- The beds are very comfortable

Some things I feel need attention to justify the price and the 4 stars:
- Lack of teabags in room - the only ones which were available were cheap and there were only 2! I've stayed in 2 stars which offer a range of herbal teas in the room
- Lack of toiletries - again, even a 2 star Ibis I've been in has had nice toiletries!
- Restaurant (see other review) - too much attention to the appearance of food and not the taste. Yes the Pumpkin and Amaretto soup looked good but it tasted very strange! The price of the food is quite extortionate. I would not mind paying this if I felt the food was worth it, but for a fatty piece of meat (steak) and a small piece of Cod and 2 weird soups I don't think £50 can be justified.

If I stayed here again I would definitely give the restaurant a miss. The friendly staff and comfortable rooms are enough to make me go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _-rachella-_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed 3 nights friday to saturday. For the price its not really worth it, didn't have much wow to it and could have paid quite a bit cheaper for same kind of hotel experience. Bedroom was spacious and bed was very comfy although general look of room average and basic (expected more for the price £130/night). Staff generally nice and welcoming, although the same cannot be said for the breakfast staff, the service wasn't attentive as was seen on other tables and breakfast was very basic and inconsistent, one day it would be hot and the next cold but burnt? Last morning rudely awoken by the cleaners hoovering outside at about 8:30. Location is good but for the price you can get a better hotel. Seems a little hit or miss.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoeanLiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Just had 3 nights in a petit room, extremely comfortable and excellent food, breakfast and dinner. Hotel was in an excellent position for getting into Edinburgh on foot. Room had very little draw space, just 1 small one. Very poor reception on TV unless you left wardrobe door/closet open to reflect signal at all times. Reception told after first day but was told they would look into it.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

There's no doubting The Bonham is a beautiful boutique hotel. The decor & Georgian architecture is elegant, tasteful & luxurious.
Used an ITISON voucher for a 2 course lunch. Limited menu, but high quality food. Our starter of pumpkin & amaretto soup was absolutely divine. Silky smooth & full of flavour, scattered with pumpkin seeds. Fresh bread & butter sprinkled with sea salt. Chilled glass of Cava.
Mains, I had the duck, which was one of the best plates of duck I've ever had. Absolutely delicious, just couldn't fault it. My husband had coley, which he said was "incredibly salty". He said the salt totally overpowered & spoilt the dish. Fat hand cut chips ( 11 of them between us! ) & vegetables came @ £3.50 PER PORTION. I REALLY object to this. If you're paying for a meal, potatoes & veg should come WITH the meal & not cost extra.
We decided to pay £4.50 extra for dessert. My husband had the cheese board, which came with 2 types of cheese, celery, grapes, chutney & biscuits, which he thoroughly enjoyed. I had the lemon brûlée with citrus biscuits. The brûlée did not taste of lemon, but the biscuits did. A bit disappointing. We then had coffee which was very good, but @ £3.00 PER COFFEE.
Service was polite, courteous & lovely. Toilets & public areas spotlessly clean.
Although we enjoyed our experience @ The Bonham on the whole, it's the prices of "extras" that really puts a bad taste in the mouth.
Not wheelchair accessible.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank womenabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Having read the food reviews on trip advisor I knew this place was going to be good. It way surpassed our expectations though, especially with the main course, which was the most incredible pork belly and black pudding we have ever had - and this is coming from two die-hard pork fans.

Service was excellent - friendly and professional yet not ott.

Book us in for our next trip to Edinburgh.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Becky_Ensum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,089 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,334 reviews
New Town
The Roxburghe Hotel
The Roxburghe Hotel
#67 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#17 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,131 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,821 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#9 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bonham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bonham

Property: The Bonham
Address: 35 Drumsheugh Gardens, Edinburgh EH3 7RN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#31 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bonham 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh is a boutique hotel in Scotland with a very contemporary spirit. It occupies a series of Victorian buildings in the West End of Edinburgh, whose soaring natural proportions have allowed us to create a truly dynamic set of rooms and public spaces. At The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh, we have used bold colour, rich texture and contemporary art and photography to build an environment that is fun, upbeat, welcoming and with the unmistakable buzz of being part of a great Scottish city.There are 49 boutique rooms and suites at The Bonham, each individually styled so that, among them, you will almost certainly find the one you have been waiting for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bonham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bonham Hotel Edinburgh
Bonham Hotel Edinburgh
The Bonham Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing