We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A night at the Bonham”
Review of The Bonham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Bonham
Ranked #51 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A night at the Bonham”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My Girlfriend and I went there for a wee night to celebrate her birthday...I booked the romantic package...late check out, 3 course dinner, breakfast, champange in the room along with home made biscuits and a rose turn down...kudos to me she loved it. Beautiful hotel, beautiful room...stunning view! food was fantastic! highly recommended and I'll be back, now one of my favourite hotels! Oh PS the staff were fantastic too, well turned out and very attentive! :) and free parking for a hotel in central Edinburgh is a bonus!

Room Tip: i had room 314 nowhere near the elevator (so V quiet) and beautiful view of old town Edininburgh wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    417
    149
    69
    15
See reviews for
95
778
46
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Didn't stay but enjoyed a wonderful afternoon tea here with family last weekend. Got our own private room, service was fantastic and the cocktails, tea, cakes and sandwiches were just yummy. Happily catered for dietary requirements e.g nut free, gluten free. One small tip re the latter, sandwiches would be much better if made with genius gluten free bread, it is a lot softer and more like normal bread. Otherwise a fabulous afternoon, thank you to you and your attentive staff.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clueless83uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

My Girlfiend took me on a magical mystery tour for my birthday and she chose the Bonham as the final destination.
We had eaten at the hotel before and the food was fantastic but we had never actually stayed there.
We had a fantastic time and the food and the room were both great. The meal was 3 courses and a half bottle of wine each for £22.50 per head and the standard was extremely high. A special mention to Craig on reception, who was both friendly and courteous a real asset to the hotel. Finally there is parking at the rear,which for central Edinburgh is a real bonus. We would most defiantly return to the hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

Dave and Carol.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank fovx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We really loved our stay at the Bonham. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. The room we stayed in was lovely and had a great view. Although it was next to the elevator, which made it a little noisy.

The car park is great and is the restaurant and food is so lovely. Can't wait to come and stay again!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room at the rear of the property on the 3rd floor. There was a fantastic view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hapsci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2013

arrived very late after a long journey - greeted with a smile directed to the private parking - after a quick shower and change in a lovely clean room with a large comfortable bed - we headed down stairs and were greeted with a smile from the barman whom was happy to serve us and made some fantastic sandwiches and cheese platters for myself and my wife - plus golfing buddy... will be going back soon

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We booked the Friday fun special at The Bonham, which seemed very reasonable. The hotel is situated in a quiet residential area, yet only 5 mins walk from princess Street.

The blurb told us that we would have a 'standard room' - well I certainly wasn't expecting a huge room, with separate walk-in wardrobe, seating area and a gorgeous big modern bathroom. Everything was immaculate and there was a bottle of wine on ice, home made sweets and petals scattered on the bed!! So, we were off to a good start!

Dinner in the restaurant was nice, although the menu choice was somewhat limited. The staff in the restaurant, as elsewhere in the hotel were extremely polite and professional -just the right balance.
Breakfast could have been taken in the room, but I preferred to venture to the restaurant. Here there was a buffet of cereal, pastries, fruit, cheeses, cooked meats and salmon. Orders were then taken for hot cooked breakfast. My husband was impressed with his full Scottish breakfast, while I was thrilled to get French toast, bacon and maple syrup (to die for!!).

As has already been mentioned there is limited car parking, but we managed to get parked despite arriving after 6pm, and on checking out were told that we could leave our car there until we were ready to leave Edinburgh -this really is a huge bonus in a city that is so expensive to park in, assuming that you can actually find somewhere to park.

As i have mentioned the staff were all really fabulous, and went out of their way to help whenever they could. I have been to Edinburgh a number of times, but this was my first stay at The Bonham - it won't be my last as I was thoroughly impressed and am hoping to return in the summer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here at the end of April it is a lovely hotel in a quiet street just a ten min walk from princes street.
Staff are friendly and helpful.
The room was described as a small room but was very spacious and bathroom a good size - comfy beds, spacious wardrobe and room was always lovely and warm.
Breakfast was superb with a good range of cereals and other delights on the buffet side and the cooked breakfasts also superb just enough.
Overall a lovely stay

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessYork84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Channings Hotel
#37 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
New Town
The Roxburghe Hotel
The Roxburghe Hotel
#68 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,055 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#14 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#10 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#27 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bonham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bonham

Property: The Bonham
Address: 35 Drumsheugh Gardens, Edinburgh EH3 7RN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bonham 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh is a boutique hotel in Scotland with a very contemporary spirit. It occupies a series of Victorian buildings in the West End of Edinburgh, whose soaring natural proportions have allowed us to create a truly dynamic set of rooms and public spaces. At The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh, we have used bold colour, rich texture and contemporary art and photography to build an environment that is fun, upbeat, welcoming and with the unmistakable buzz of being part of a great Scottish city.There are 49 boutique rooms and suites at The Bonham, each individually styled so that, among them, you will almost certainly find the one you have been waiting for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bonham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bonham Hotel Edinburgh
Bonham Hotel Edinburgh
The Bonham Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing