We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel. Would stay again.”
Review of The Bonham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bonham
Ranked #46 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We stayed here with some friends for 3 days while visting Edinburgh. The hotel location is great- in a quiet street just minutes from the West End and Princes Street. The castle is in easy walking distance. Free car parking and twice the staff took my keys and parked my car. All staff are friendly and efficient . We ate one night at the hotel and recommend the Boozy Choosy- great value for money. Breakfasts are also great- our rate included full Scottish . Rooms are beautifully decorated and beds very comfortable.
Would recommend to anybody.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mckinj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,371)
There are newer reviews for The Bonham
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,053 - 1,059 of 1,371 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights in this quiet city hotel, which is only 10 minutes from Princes St. Hotel is very well appointed, nice decor and is quite classy, this theme is carried through to the rooms which are large, well-equipped and being on the top floor ours had a nice view. Staff were excellent, as was the restaurant for both evening meals and breakfast. Free parking a real bonus in the middle of Edinburgh. We booked late, got a great rate and were hugely surprised and impressed at how good this place was.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordonrgs37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

I really can't praise this hotel enough, it was fantastic! Beautiful rooms, amazing breakfasts including a buffet. Staff were very friendly and its only a 5 minute walk to the town. Also its on a quite road, so very peaceful.

Room Tip: Book with breakfast, its more than worth it.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moody2blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

The Bonham is very well located near Charlotte Square and Princes Street, yet in a residential neighborhood. I was able to walk to the center of Edinburgh in 15 minutes. My room was perfect with a great view. The restaurant is quite good and the service is excellent. I would stay again without hesitation

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler5051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

I was working in Edinburgh & my wife came up at the weekend & we booked a weekend in the The Bonham via there wb site & got a great deal on the room with breakfast.

The room was massive & as the bathroom & was spotless .

The room had all the main items LCD tv tea/coffee & was top draw.

The bathroom had a bath / shower & had all Molton Brown soaps & shower gells ( Very nice )

The breakfast was included in the price (£130.00 per person for the 2 nights ) & was realy good - full scotish / kippers/ eggs benidict & there is cerals & fresh fruit

A geat hotel with great staff

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davidjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

With just one night to spend in Edinburgh, we wanted quality & character & The Bonham was just the place. The hotel is a short walk from Princes Street and is in a wonderful setting. The room (111) we had was a little tight for two, but well equipped and had a nice bathroom. The public areas were well decorated & characterful, but the room was furnished with chain hotel fittings. No Scottish staff. All in all better than a tower block, but could be better.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickit7676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

The Bonham was a great find. A small but lovely room which was nicely furnished and a good sized, decent bathroom. The breakfasts were excellent. This was a very smart hotel, which was clean, up to date and in a great location. All staff were very pleasant and efficient. We would certainly recommend the Bonham when staying in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoHams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,384 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,854 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh Charlotte Square
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bonham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bonham

Address: 35 Drumsheugh Gardens, Edinburgh EH3 7RN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $115 - $546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bonham 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh is a boutique hotel in Scotland with a very contemporary spirit. It occupies a series of Victorian buildings in the West End of Edinburgh, whose soaring natural proportions have allowed us to create a truly dynamic set of rooms and public spaces. At The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh, we have used bold colour, rich texture and contemporary art and photography to build an environment that is fun, upbeat, welcoming and with the unmistakable buzz of being part of a great Scottish city.There are 49 boutique rooms and suites at The Bonham, each individually styled so that, among them, you will almost certainly find the one you have been waiting for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bonham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bonham Hotel Edinburgh
Bonham Hotel Edinburgh
The Bonham Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing