We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$266
$251
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$305
$275
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$504
$419
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$400
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$626
$498
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,628)
Filter reviews
1,628 results
Traveler rating
1,073
232
136
117
70
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,073
232
136
117
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe secret gardenold rectoryinner sanctumsempill suitebreakfast hamperchampagne on iceheriot suiterestaurant with roomsred velvetlamb wellingtonroyal milefour poster bedroll top bathmain restaurantgarden roomsister hotelsitting area
Filter
Updating list...
173 - 178 of 1,628 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2017

Finally, a long-held wish to have dinner at The Witchery has been realised. My friend and I had heard so much about it - and it did not disappoint. The setting is incredible and the restaurant's interior design simply unlike anywhere else I've visited.

Food is, as you would expect, quite wonderful. And enhanced by the professionalism of the staff, with a special mention for the maitre d' on the night, Oliver, who looked after us so well.

Room Tip: Try the Oysters Rockefeller!
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redanne115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2017 via mobile

I traveled to Edinburgh with my sister and we happened upon this restaurant after sightseeing on the Royal Mile. The restaurant is in a very atmospheric, historical building. Both the service and the dinner were excellent.

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2017

We spent seven glorious nights in the Inner Sanctum suite. The suite is beautiful and inviting with a huge bedroom/living/dining area, a separate sitting room and huge bath. We could have lingered in the canopy bed or sat by the fire for hours and hours. But our greatest pleasure was sitting in the window of our dining alcove watching the on-going parade of tourists and locals and street performers on the Royal Mile. We would start each morning in that window enjoying the incredible breakfast hamper delivered to our door from the Witchery kitchen. in the afternoon, we would sit in that window and drink the champagne that was so thoughtfully put on ice for us. And when we returned from dinner each night, we would sit in that window and enjoy a cup of fresh brewed coffee with homemade cookies from the cookie jar.
The Witchery is place like no other. We have stayed in many unique and exceptional hotels around the world, but none offers the combination of beauty, ambiance, warmth, service and location. It is extraordinary.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Maureen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2017

We spent two nights in the Sempill Suite as a special treat for my wife. It was everything we hoped for and more. The staff were so attentive, yet unobtrusive and the suite itself was resplendent with the most fantastic detailing and furnishings we have had the fortune to stay in. Of course the complimentary champagne every day was a welcome extra. Obviously all this opulence was not cheap, but as an experience it was worth every penny. Most definitely recommended.

Room Tip: All of them. Find the one that's suits your individual taste for the period décor offered.
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2017

We stayed in the Turret room for one night. I wish it could have been for a week. This isn't a hotel room, it's a master suite. With 4 separate rooms, a bed made for a king, a large tub in the middle of the bath, complimentary champagne on arrival, we felt as though we were treated as royalty. The room was authentic including the winding spiral staircase to the top. The Turret room faces the street so we had a fantastic view of the castle as well as Royal Mile. While the room was pricey, I would book it again in a heartbeat just for the experience. We had breakfast in the dining room and it was fantastic. If you can afford it, do NOT hesitate to book one of their rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews