We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmospheric Quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Witchery by the Castle
Ranked #30 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ayr UK
Level Contributor
89 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Atmospheric Quality”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We are fairly frequent visitors to dine at the Witchery but on this occasion we stayed overnight in the 'Inner Sanctum.' (Restaurant review separate.) From the moment we arrived until we left the service and the staff were first class; friendly, willing, and professional. The suite (one of seven I think) was fabulous. Filled in deep red and split into three separate rooms, it reeked of interest and fascinating history. We entered the suite into a study type room and off on each side were the bathroom and the bedroom, although the latter was rather more with a raised small dining area where breakfast is served, and a working coal effect gas fire, with a setee, chair, and tv area. A Bose stereo was tuned on Classic FM for our arrival - a nice touch and in keeping. Rather un-nerving for my wife, a large bust of Queen Victoria dominated the centre of the room and I found my shirt draped over it in the morning. The suite was full of interesting pieces of furniture and other items. Everything was just right. Any down sides? Well the plumbing and the water pressure was a bit quirky but if you want everything to run firmly, steadily and clinically, then choose one of the new modern souless places to stay. Not a fabulous sixteenth century building at the top of an ancient hill! We will do it again.

Room Tip: Have a good look on line. The suites are all different and will appeal to different tastes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    952
    206
    124
    109
    62
See reviews for
123
952
22
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, Scotland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We have dined here before , in the Witchery, but this time we were in the Secret Garden and loved it too. We were given a voucher for the light lunch with a glass of champagne and it we loved it. The food was delicious and piping hot and they have a fabulous wine list. The service was excellent, staff were really attentive and the atmosphere is great. It's not the cheapest place in Edinburgh to dine but well worth a visit. Next time we dine there we are definitely going to stay in one of their fabulous rooms. Can' t wait.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsgetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Both my husband and I had the scallop starter which was cooked to perfection. We then had the venison with chocolate oil which was Devine. Our last course was a medley of miniature desserts, 7 in all and every single one was to die for. We asked for wine by the glass to be recommended to compliment each dish and the waiter who did this for us did not disappoint. As it was New Year's Eve service stopped at 11.50 for 20 mins and we were given the opportunity to take a glass of champagne outside to watch the firework display outside the castle. It was a truly romantic evening and worth every single penny.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trosh1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We came to Edinburgh for a weekend and had a meal at the restaurant here. We loved it. It has a lovely atmosphere to it and the food and service was excellent. I would love to go back here. Maybe we might stay in one of the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshinemags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We visited the Witchery before Christmas while shopping in Edinburgh. The atmosphere was lovely and cosy. It took a while to get an apperitif, bread basket arrived before it! the haggis starter was a standard level and the venison wich chocolate sauce was missing the sauce... quite dry...it could bevserved with extra sauce on side. tri of pork was average too. we had a south african wine but the waiter was describing it as ozzy wine! oh well. will we go back? maybe not.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lu2909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Booked into the Witchery for an overnight with dinner on the 14th December, suite I choose was the " Inner Sanctum " and it exceeded my expectations, Baroque at its best, from the bust of Queen victoria in the bedroom to the Guardsman standing in the corner complete with Busby, to the large rolltop bath in a huge bathroom, large four poster bed with a " Bose " sound wave system and a raised breakfasting area, a chilled bottle of Bubbly in my suite on arrival which over the night turned into 5 more. Dinner with my wife and 2 friends in the " Secret Garden ", as I have dined there before I knew what to expect, excellent food in nice surroundings with good company and fast and efficient service, nobody hurrying you to leave after the meal finished, but instead the staff stopping to talk and give advice on the dishes on offer, the food is not so expensive but is very tasty and well presented, not cheap to stay in, but worth every penny, and the price includes a complimentary bottle of Bubbly on arrival, next time I will book into the Prestonfield Hotel a sister Hotel to the Witchery,

Room Tip: No tips, as all suites are unique, web pictures do not do justice to suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1946xela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

It doesn't matter that it is Christmas - the standard of food does not slip. Absolutely delicious as always. Service is fantastic and the food eclipses everything - even the location itself. Cannot recommend this restaurant enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghHerbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
914 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 148 in Edinburgh
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#49 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,569 reviews
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#45 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,099 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Witchery by the Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Witchery by the Castle

Property: The Witchery by the Castle
Address: The Royal Mile 352 Castlehill | Castlehill, Edinburgh EH1 2NF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Witchery by the Castle 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Witchery by the Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Witchery By The Castle Hotel Edinburgh
Witchery Edinburgh
Edinburgh Witchery
Witchery Hotel Edinburgh
The Witchery By The Castle Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing