We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for both scotch lovers and newbies”

The Scotch Whisky Experience
Book In Advance
More Info
$22.20*
and up
Guided Silver Whisky Tour of Edinburgh's Scotch Whisky Experience
Ranked #20 of 428 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Take a barrel ride as you actually become part of the whisky making process. Experience for yourself our regional whiskies and whether you like fruity, sweet or smoky flavours our experts will help you select your perfect dram.Enter the vault containing the world's largest collection of Scotch Whiskies and enjoy a special tutored nosing and tasting. Explore Scotland's whisky history from the very beginnings through to the global success of today.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I like scotch a lot, but my wife doesnt. I learned alot and my wife was introduced to scotch. We did the silver tour, which is about 12.50GBP. not a bad deal considering you get a dram of scotch and a tasting glass to bring home (those two would cost about 9GBP if bought alone). Its pretty cheesy with the barrel ride and videos, but its all in good fun. I would recommend doing it if you are interested in scotch at all

Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,827)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,051 - 3,055 of 4,828 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

tour stated with a travel in a barrel train that provided the background into how whiskey is produced. then we were in a group explained the differences between the four types, five if you include the blended whiskeys and the aromas and tastes of each area. Followed by a taste of one of the region in a glass w we got to keep. The we saw a collection of rare whiskeys that was very impressive well worth the 12 pound charge

Thank Retired039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

This was our second trip to The Scotch Whisky experience (the first time was four years ago and they were renovating, so we didn't get the full experience).

It's a great way to learn about the process of Whisky making and how to to taste Whisky. The Whisky collection at the end of the tour is astonishing!

Thank y30man5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We visited the Scotch Whisky Experience during a recent trip to Edinburgh, we are not huge whisky drinkers so decided to do the Silver Tour which includes a single taster of your choice of whisky (very small nip of around 15ml).

It started well, pleasant service at the front desk and only a 20 minute wait for the next tour. Unfortunately the gremlins were in force and after barely getting round the first corner all the screens and lights were plunged into darkness, so we ended up riding round the circuit with no idea what was going on.

When we left this part of the tour I think we were meant to be given a brief on the whisky making process, unfortunately the gremlins were still tinkering so we missed this part as well but were told to continue with the tour and we could go back and see these later.

We progressed to the next stage, a nose and palette briefing session followed by a small nip of your choice of whisky. We waited 20 minutes in a stairwell as the tasting rooms were full, when we finally got there we were not able to sit together due to the seating arrangements so we waited a further 15 minutes for the next briefing. By this point we had made it clear we weren't happy and to be fair we did receive an apology, unfortunately it didn't feel genuine.

When we finally got into the tasting room the presentation was very good, probably not great if you are a whisky lover as you probably already know the majority of the content but for us it was ideal. You finish the tour in a room with the largest whisky collection in the world, very impressive indeed, before going to the bar area.

Needless to say once the tour ended we didn't take up the offer of doing the early part of the tour again. I don't doubt for a minute we were unfortunate to experience such a poor tour, I'd imagine if it all goes well you will enjoy it.

Thank KonkyWonky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScotchWhiskyExp, Manager at The Scotch Whisky Experience, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

We're so sorry that things went so wrong for your tour. As you can see from the balance of other feedback on tripadvisor, such an unfortunate experience is extremely rare, so we're very sorry that this happened to you.

I totally understand that you did not feel like re-doing the early part of your tour on the day, however, we would really appreciate you getting in touch so we can discuss this further with you, with a view to you possibly returning in the future. s.robinson@scotchwhiskyexperience.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Housing the worlds' largest collection of whisky and telling the story of how all whisky is made in Scotland, this is a great venue for both lovers and doubters of the real "amber nectar" to find out more. There are several tours you can take, ranging from the basic, right up to the masterclass. You get to go on a short tour in a whisky barrel which tells you the story of how whisky is made and then the guide tells you how the different tastes are aquired in different areas of the country. then comes the all important part, the tasting. You get to pick one style to taste, plus you keep the crystal glass afterwards. If like me you take the Gold Tour, when you reach the end and go to the whisky bar you get to taste 4 more totally different single malts. Probably not a good idea to take children as they might get bored, although they are catered for with soft drinks. The guides are all very knowledgeable and will answer all questions.

Thank Trevor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Scotch Whisky Experience also viewed

 

Been to The Scotch Whisky Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing