We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the entrance fee”

The Scotch Whisky Experience
Ranked #27 of 397 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Take a barrel ride as you actually become part of the whisky making process. Experience for yourself our regional whiskies and whether you like fruity, sweet or smoky flavours our experts will help you select your perfect dram.Enter the vault containing the world's largest collection of Scotch Whiskies and enjoy a special tutored nosing and tasting. Explore Scotland's whisky history from the very beginnings through to the global success of today.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We visited this attraction although neither of us being whisky drinkers. The entrance fee £10 each (concession) was very good. We started with a barrel ride detailing the story of how whisky is produced and then went on to a short talk and tasting of one of the whiskys from an area of your choice. The tour concluded in a room with a vast collection of whiskies lining all walls. There was the opportunity to further taste different malts at an extra charge or just relax in the cafe.
A thoroughly interesting and value for money attraction + you get to keep your tasting glass !

Thank camvad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScotchWhiskyExp, Manager at The Scotch Whisky Experience, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Many thanks for your review, it is much appreciated. I'm really pleased you enjoyed your visit to us. I hope you are enjoying your Glencairn crystal Whisky tasting glass at home and that we found a Whisky to suit your taste on the tour!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"barrel ride"
in 543 reviews
"scotch whisky"
in 467 reviews
"silver tour"
in 396 reviews
"platinum tour"
in 170 reviews
"tasting room"
in 144 reviews
"whisky making"
in 102 reviews
"amber restaurant"
in 73 reviews
"sniff cards"
in 62 reviews
"largest collection of whisky"
in 48 reviews
"free glass"
in 47 reviews
"private collection"
in 43 reviews
"single malt"
in 89 reviews
"love whisky"
in 39 reviews
"irn bru"
in 59 reviews
"tasting session"
in 60 reviews
"wee dram"
in 61 reviews
"tour starts"
in 73 reviews
Filter

3,729 - 3,733 of 5,544 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

May this experience is not too interesting when you know a lot about the real Scottish whisky, but for a amateur or dummy like me, it is a good way to learn a little bit more about whisky. I had a really good time, it was worth every penny.

Thank GuidoNoorlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScotchWhiskyExp, Manager at The Scotch Whisky Experience, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Many thanks for your review. I'm glad that you found it to be informative and pitched at the right level for you. I'm pleased you found it to be value for money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We visited here and decided to skip the whisky tour. We went right to the whisky tasting room. Our server was very knowledgeable about all the Scottish whiskys and chose a selection for us to try. We learned a great deal about the different whisky tastes and where they were made. I would strongly suggest a visit to their tasting room!

1  Thank sufeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScotchWhiskyExp, Manager at The Scotch Whisky Experience, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Many thanks for your review. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your Whisky tasting with us. Our staff are certainly very knowledgeable and like to impart their Whisky knowledge onto our visitors so it's great to hear that they chose a perfect selection of Whiskies to match your taste.
Slainte!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

If you have any interest in whiskey, this is a must-see experience. In an entertaining way (part ride, part presentation) they go through the process of making scotch whiskey, the history behind it, and how to tell the difference between various single malt whiskeys (and mixed blends). All of our group had a great time. The chance to taste some whiskey at the end is the perfect finish. We took advantage of the "Gold" package. For a few pounds more you get a discount at the store and a sample platter of various scotch. Highly recommended. This visit was among the highlights of our trip to beautiful Edinburgh.

Thank Edward D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScotchWhiskyExp, Manager at The Scotch Whisky Experience, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your visit to our beautiful city and that your visit to The Scotch Whisky Experience was one of the highlights!! I hope your group continue to enjoy Scotch Whisky at home with your Glencairn crystal Whisky tasting glasses!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I actually learned something during this tour, and I had fun at the same time! Of course, being served a wee shot of whisky doesn't hurt either...

The tour guide put on a professional and interesting show which culminated in us getting that famous taste of whisky. If you're in Edinburg, even for just a short stay, this is one of the experiences you probably don't want to miss out on.

Thank Terje Mikal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScotchWhiskyExp, Manager at The Scotch Whisky Experience, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Many thanks for your review. I'm glad you found our tour to be both fun and informative. Glad you enjoyed your wee dram too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Scotch Whisky Experience also viewed

 

Been to The Scotch Whisky Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing