We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Scotch Whisky Experience

The Scotch Whisky Experience
Book In Advance
More Info
$52.14*
and up
Whisky Masterclass Experience in Edinburgh
Ranked #24 of 391 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Take a barrel ride as you actually become part of the whisky making process. Experience for yourself our regional whiskies and whether you like fruity, sweet or smoky flavours our experts will help you select your perfect dram.Enter the vault containing the world's largest collection of Scotch Whiskies and enjoy a special tutored nosing and tasting. Explore Scotland's whisky history from the very beginnings through to the global success of today. *Important access information* We are delighted to announce that our lift is currently being replaced, with a brand new facility available in the new year. Please be aware that from now until a proposed mid-May finish date for this extensive project, our lift will be closed. This will mean that our tour is inaccessible to wheelchair users, as it takes place over two levels. Our restaurant, Amber will also not be accessible, as it is situated on the lower ground floor. Our specialist whisky shop is at street level so will be unaffected
1 review
“Poor”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

It was awful. 10 mins late for a prepaid tour and they cancelled the tour but still took the money. Refused to rebook or make any reasonable concessions. The food was poor for a ore booked meal. Under cooked and bland. In fact that is the best discription of the whole experience. Poor and casts a shadow over my whole 2 day visit to Edinburgh.

Helpful?
Thank HollyHellr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScotchWhiskyExp, Manager at The Scotch Whisky Experience, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for your review. We do take all feedback on board. Unfortunately if we are fully booked, we are unable to accommodate later tours. All of our tours depart on-time and we are unable to wait for latecomers as this affects the experience of other visitors. We would have done our best to rebook you onto another tour if we were able to. I note that you were only in Edinburgh for 2 days so perhaps we did not have availability during the time of your visit. If you would like to use the contact form on our website to send us an email with a full description of your visit, we will certainly look into it further. I am also sorry that you felt that your food was bland. We use only locally sourced produce and all of our food is Scottish. As you can see on the review pages for our restaurant, we usually receive brilliant feedback, so again, please send us an email with a description of the date you visited and the dishes you had and we will take this up with our restaurant team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,818 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,075
    1,289
    324
    96
    34
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Throughly enjoyable experience, especially when you take into account the prices. Yes, we only paid £10 for the tour and experience as students but even full price would have been a good afternoon.

A very informative introduction to the history of Whiskey and the barrel ride was a unique way of 'walking' you through the process of getting from grain to whiskey. The tasting experience was one to savour (if you'll excuse the pun!) as our guide was very knowledgable and friendly, providing plenty of information about the different whiskey regions.

To top it all there was a wee dram to be enjoyed and you keep the glass (assuming you can get it home in one piece!)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MccKate_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScotchWhiskyExp, Manager at The Scotch Whisky Experience, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to review us, it's much appreciated. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your visit to us and enjoyed the concession silver tour at £10. I hope you are enjoying using your Glencairn crystal glass back home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North of Toronto
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very Knowledgeable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We went in to visit the gift shop and were happy with their knowledgeable staff. they were able to provide information about some Scotch that we were interested in.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sn0wAngels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScotchWhiskyExp, Manager at The Scotch Whisky Experience, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to our recently refurbished Whisky and gift shop. We do spend a huge about of time training our staff so it's lovely to hear your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveling cat
Level Contributor
311 reviews
180 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“didn't actually do the experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

seemed like a bit of a steep price for what they were offering but we went to the shop and one of the salesmen was very helpful and we got more information on the different whiskys available and the tastes than I think we would have gotten had we paid money to do the "experience"

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank carpefeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScotchWhiskyExp, Manager at The Scotch Whisky Experience, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thanks for your review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your visit to our recently refurbished Whisky and gift shop and found our staff to be informative. We do spend a huge amount of time training our staff and our new screens next to the Whisky producing regions of our shop would have also informed you about the Whiskies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good intro to Scotch whiskey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

The ride in the whiskey barrel car is a big hokey but informative. Staff was excellent and whiskey collection is extraordinary. Worth doing.

Helpful?
Thank mbsh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScotchWhiskyExp, Manager at The Scotch Whisky Experience, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed visiting The World's largest collection of Scotch Whisky and found the barrel ride through the production of Scotch Whisky to be informative.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Scotch Whisky Experience also viewed

 

Been to The Scotch Whisky Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing