We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 5 star hotel, amazing spa , breath-taking views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #15 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
east lothian
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great 5 star hotel, amazing spa , breath-taking views”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Stayed in the Sheraton for just one night before Christmas and was luck enough to be upgraded to a club room with amazing views of Edinburgh Castle. We booked via lastminute and had a number of problems with the booking( lastminute .com issues) but the front desk manager did everything he could to help resolve the situation and in the end gave us the upgraded room at no extra cost. Worth checking if access to the spa is included in room rate, it's a lovely full service spa with outdoor hot-tub overlooking Edinburgh castle . You can access the indoor pool without extra charge but the spa is squally around £35 per person extra unless included in room rate. When we used it in December the hot tub wasn't warm enough to compensate for the chilly Scottish wind so I would have been disappointed if I had paid extra to access this, though the thermal rooms, sauna etc are all really nice. The bedrooms are really nice, following refurbishment with cool lighting and speakers throughout room and bathroom. We didn't eat in the hotel but the restuarants and breakfast area have a more corporate feel than relaxing few days away.

If I was going to edinburgh for a special weekend away I would still choose the Balmoral as it has more of a personal feel but the Sheraton is still a great hotel, with comfy beds and friendly staff.

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra go for a castle view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GGedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,709
    735
    198
    88
    43
See reviews for
358
1,320
109
482
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (671)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Just returned from a one night stay and wish it had been longer stayed in the King Castle Club Room and would recommend to anyone looking to be pampered and have the treat of receiveing 1st class customer service from check in to check out - The room was stunning and the Club Lounge amazing the staff were exceptional and it exceeded our expectations of what customer service should be nothing was too much trouble and every single memeber of staff in the Club Lounge on Saturday night was a credit to the hotel and is one of the reasons we had such an amazing time and can't recommend this hotel highly enough. I actually booked tmy stay with a 3rd party company and was a great deal I actually felt quite embarrased for the price I paid and the level of service we encountered during the whole stay.

Room Tip: King Castle Club Room most definately worth the extra and if you can go for suite can only imagine h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for this fantastic five star review of your recent stay with us. I am truly delighted that you had such a wonderful time and enjoyed the luxury and views of one of our Castle facing Club Rooms. I will take tremendous pleasure in sharing your comments with the teams here and look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Edinburgh.
Warm regards
Tristan Nesbitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The room was nicely designed, with pleasant colours and furniture; not very big but it has everything one wishes for a comfortable stay. Bed is large and the room is quite well soundproofed. Managing the lights was initially a bit complicated, but it got easy after we`ve found the instructions.
The swimming pool is terrific. It can get crowded at times as the guests from the spa are coming there as well, however we asked at the reception at what hours can we expect the pool to be empty (or at least not full) and we followed the advice.
Breakfast was good, we just missed more vegetables or at least some pickled cucumbers or olives. All that was there was a small dish with sliced tomatoes. There was a selection of smoked fish (trout, salmon), but no lemon - we had to ask personnel to bring some slices. Other than that, very good.
We had a great weekend and will come again here when staying in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pickytraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

I had the best stay this week in the most gorgeous hotel I have ever been in. You are made to feel special and welcome at all times. The rooms are second to none, spacious, modern and the most comfortable you will ever experience. The spa is gorgeous with a very relaxing atmosphere, the perfect place to spend a magic moment and unwind!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank AndieReilly01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for this wonderful five star review. I am delighted that you had a such a great time here in Edinburgh and enjoyed your stay.
I will take great pleasure in sharing your very kind words with the teams here, and thank you once again for taking the time to share your comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Warm regards
Tristan Nesbitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
136 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I've stayed at this hotel multiple times and it has never let me down. Awesome location! Centrally located but not too loud. Wonderful rooms, great amenities, and a great staff. We particularly enjoyed the gym/spa area with one of the best hotel pools I've ever seen. I definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Edinburgh.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ecatsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I have never been compelled to write a review, but after our weekend stay at the Sheraton I felt I just had to. Having stayed in many hotels around the world over the years, I have to say the level of customer service, cleanliness & friendly atmosphere is the best I have ever experienced, nothing was too much trouble.
The Spa was relaxing & the therapists were very experienced, for both my friends & I being in their presence made us feel very confident in their ability, certainly the best facial I have every had, thank you Laura.
We ate in the restaurant on the first night, once again the service we received was top notch, attentive without being obtrusive, food was very tasty, with the menu offering a good choice, puddings were to die for!
The location is central, around 15 mins walk from the station, or if you are feeling lazy, like us 5 mins £7 in a taxi. Having said that, all the main attractions are within easy walking distance, the Royal Mile, Edinburgh castle etc.
So if you need a central hotel in Edinburgh with impeccable service, the most luxurious spa, couple, girlie groups & family friendly look no further than the Sheraton Edinburgh, I am in the process of booking my second visit to take my Husband & son back there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for this amazing five star review, I am truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I have personally passed on your kind words to Laura at One Spa who was equally delighted. I am glad that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and we all very much look forward to welcoming you and your family back.
Warm regards
Tristan Nesbitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

This really is a superb hotel, with superior service, and some of the most friendly staff we have experienced anywhere. Lovely modern hotel, recently renovated, with superior service standards. The club room is excellent, and the staff couldn't have been better.

We also had lunch at their restaurant, which was excellent.

Only hitch was that a pending charge was put on our credit card, which may have been for the room charges, but was still there a week later, which isn't good.

But all in all, 5 stars.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripper16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,733 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,805 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,038 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: 1 Festival Square, Edinburgh EH3 9SR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand has been Edinburgh's gathering place for many years and it is the perfect place to discover this unique destination. From the moment you set foot inside the granite-floored lobby, you'll feel welcome. One Square, our restaurant and bar, serves a delicious range of classic British dishes all day long, while our beautiful bedrooms blend contemporary comfort and Scottish materials with cutting-edge technology. Of course, some things at the Sheraton have always been unbeatable, from One Spa's iconic rooftop Hydropool, to the breath-taking views of Edinburgh Castle. We can't wait to share them with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Grand Hotel Edinburgh
Sheraton Grand Hotel And Spa
Sheraton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Grand Hotel Sheraton
Edinburgh Sheraton Spa
Sheraton Spa Edinburgh
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing