We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable quiet hotel in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #16 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Comfortable quiet hotel in a good location”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The room was very nice, it was comfortable, clean and quiet. I got the impression that it had recently been refurbished. It had a bath and a separate shower, the shower had a large diameter shower head and the temperature was easy to control. The lighting in the room had different "moods", It seemed to be computer controlled and the bathroom was mostly multi-colour led strips and down lighters. The temperature of the room was difficult to control, it was supposed to be automatic and had a temperature display which didn't bear much resemblance to reality, either for the actual temperature of the room or the target temperature. Wi-fi was not free, it had to be paid for which for a hotel costing this much shouldn't be the case. I found the staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great. There was a pool which I used and a spa which was extra but worth it, it had an amazing hydopool on the roof in the open air with heated water with bubbles going through, very relaxing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ludwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,705
    733
    198
    88
    43
See reviews for
357
1,318
108
482
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (669)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
140 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I stayed at the Sheraton Edinburgh on Sunday night, November 17, 2013. The hotel is well located, although a liitle far from the old town. The quality of the refurbished rooms is great, the service at the front desk very professional and the service in the restaurant and bar very pleasant. The quality of the food is a little disappointing. The food is traditional and heavy. Not very creative and healthy. When I have to be in Edinburgh again for business in the new town, then for sure I will stay at the Sheraton.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed at The Sheraton for 3 days and everything was more than what I expected.the staff were very helpful and the room so comfortable I was hard pushed to get out of bed for breakfast which had a really good selection

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alwizuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for this superb five star review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay, I genuinely appreciate your very kind words and comments. I agree that our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds that are in all of our bedrooms are extremely comfortable, and glad that you enjoyed our Scottish breakfast buffet.
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards
Tristan Nesbitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

What a fantastic hotel! From the moment we arrived, 2 hours earlier than scheduled check in, we had amazing service. We were given rooms immediately even though they were not adjacent which did not bother us in the slightest as it mean we could drop luggage and freshen up before lunch. The facilities are incredible. You simply must take time out to indulge in the spa facilities which are first class. The outdoor spa is simply fantastic. The rooms are luxurious with mood lighting, and even the little things like ironing board and iron in each room make it so convenient. The attention to detail is awesome, and the staff could not be any more helpful. Would definitely stay again if we are ever visiting the lovely city of Edinburgh!

Room Tip: I would imagine all rooms are very similar, we stayed on the 6th floor which was superb, no noise an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandyDef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you sincerely for this fantastic five star review of your recent visit. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thank you recommending the Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa as a place to stay when visiting Edinburgh.
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Warm regards
Tristan Nesbitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Clean , modern and well equipped rooms with bathrobes, slippers, minibar,hairdrayer complementary tea and coffee, steam iron and of course the flat screen t.v. The staff are helpful polite informative and have the ability to make you feel special. We were greeted at the entrance where we were helped with our luggage, as we were checking in the receptionist quickly realised it was my husbands birthday & we immediately received an upgraded with a castle view and 2 completely drinks. This introduction was just the beginning of a gr8t 4 day stay.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Alice & Klaus
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for sharing with the Trip Advisor community. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we were able to make it even more special when we found out it was a special occasion for your husband. I am sure you had an amazing time celebrating in our beautiful city.
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Edinburgh.
Warm regards
Tristan Nesbitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We were in Edinburgh for shopping and decided to give the Sheraton a go for lunch. It's been all re-furbed and does look splendid. The restaurant serves food all day, which suited our timetable but in the end we did actually call in during the lunchtime period. Unfortunately, not very good, food was cold-ish champagne (by the glass, was served without bubbles so guess the bottle was stale) and the staff were like zombies. All-in-all, a let down considering how much money has been lavished on the place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albion51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonEdinburgh, Food & Beverage Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback via Trip Advisor of your recent visit to One Square Restaurant. I am sorry to learn that you did not have a good experience and we did not live up to your expectations. It would be really helpful to us if you contact me directly at ross.clark@sheraton.com so I can investigate this further. Thank you once again for this feedback which is very much appreciated.
I look forward to hearing from you.
Best regards
Ross Clark
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed in the Sheraton Grand Hotel while on business in Edinburgh. The hotel has a great location, close to the castle and only a short walk away from many great restaurants, bars. Standard rooms are very small, but comfortable, modern and clean. There are many different colours you can lit on in the bathroom depending on your mood. Breakfast is good, I liked the selection of fresh fruit juices and smoothies.
Checking out peak time in the morning can be extremely slow. Surprisingly, there are only 2 counters operating in this large hotel. Make sure that you opt for the Express Check Out to avoid frustration.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmsdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonEdinburgh, Executive Assistant Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am pleased that overall you had an enjoyable time, however I am sorry to learn that the check out experience was not good. I will pass this onto our Front Office Manager for review, thank you for bringing this to our attention. Thank you once again for chosing the Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards
Andre Brose
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,725 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,800 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,026 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: 1 Festival Square, Edinburgh EH3 9SR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand has been Edinburgh's gathering place for many years and it is the perfect place to discover this unique destination. From the moment you set foot inside the granite-floored lobby, you'll feel welcome. One Square, our restaurant and bar, serves a delicious range of classic British dishes all day long, while our beautiful bedrooms blend contemporary comfort and Scottish materials with cutting-edge technology. Of course, some things at the Sheraton have always been unbeatable, from One Spa's iconic rooftop Hydropool, to the breath-taking views of Edinburgh Castle. We can't wait to share them with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Grand Hotel Edinburgh
Sheraton Grand Hotel And Spa
Sheraton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Grand Hotel Sheraton
Edinburgh Sheraton Spa
Sheraton Spa Edinburgh
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing