We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location in Edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #16 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This was a great place to stay. Very comfortable and clean rooms. Room service very good. Restaurant in hotel was also very good. Spa was excellent! Most enjoyable is that you could walk from this hotel to old town, the castle, shopping, restaurants etc. It was very convenient.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ritacain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,862)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,907 - 1,913 of 2,863 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for three nights I. October of this year. It is truly first class The hotel and rooms are spectacular . the restaurant had great food, the staff were very mannerly and helpful .I had a premium room so I had full access to the fabulous spa . I also enjoyed the privilege lounge for breakfast and drinks and snacks later in the day. would highly recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bayfield7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Relax, refresh, chill out, enjoy the views, be pampered, be made to feel very special by the great staff... what more???
From the moment we arrived at the Sheraton we felt totally welcomed by the very friendly and helpful front of house staff. They offered advice on local destinations and could not have been more friendly and helpful.
We stayed here for a couple of nights and enjoyed a stonking room with castle view and a super-king bed. The room had super-smart mood lighting and great audio visual options.
We had breakfast in the room each day with top selection for on tray dining, silver service and a top view from the window.
The icing on the cake has to be the highest quality spa and pool area ... oh and a large well appointed gym if you fancy that sort of thing. The spa is extra unless you are a club room guest but the pool is free and is enough to relax in and big enough to swim some lengths. In the evening you can relax on one of the many loungers in the soft mood lighting and sleep off a tough day around Edinburgh. A top treat.

Room Tip: Castle view and go for a room with a super-king. If you can afford the extra and you have time to sp...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Miss_UnderstoodHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Miss_UnderstoodHerts

Thank you sincerely for this amazing five star review. I am delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us, from the bedroom to relaxing at One Spa. I do hope that you plan to come back to Edinburgh soon, as a very warm welcome awaits you.

Once again, many thanks and kind regards

JP Kavanagh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel last night and had an excellent experience. The rooms are lovely and immaculate. The staff are friendly and helpful and the food was great. All in all a great stay! We will be back!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fesslemont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

I found the Reception staff very approachable and engaging, which adds to a very pleasant arrival experience.

We received a nice room upgrade, which is a benefit subject to availability at check-in, to a Club Castle View Room, as a result of being an SPG Platinum level member of their hotel loyalty programme. The Club Lounge, restaurant and bar were all up to the usual high standards expected of this 5 star property. Staff everywhere found to be very friendly.

Thanks again for an excellent third stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loyalty-Club
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for the super review of your recent stay with us. I am truly delighted to read you enjoyed your stay. I have passed on your wonderful comments to my colleagues who will be equally pleased.
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Best regards
JP Kavanagh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Upon arrival at the Sharaton Grand, I knew I'd made the right choice for accommodations. The hotel was immaculate and staff were very friendly and welcoming. The room was well appointed and spotless. The beds were the most comfortable I've ever slept in while traveling!

We had the Scottish breakfast buffet one morning, which was delicious and gave me a chance to try the local cuisine. (I did skip the haggis, though!). It was a bit pricey, but worth it in terms of quality and convenience. The hotel did charge quite a lot for internet access, which was annoying. I didn't get a chance to try the spa facilities, but they looked spot on.

One last note: the location of this hotel was fabulous. Close to all of the historic city attractions and also near the EICC for conference purposes.

Room Tip: Splurge and get a castle view room. You'll never forget the majesty of it. Try 681.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank birdamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here for the first time and now has to be our priority choice when staying in Edinburgh. Staff welcoming, friendly and very helpful. Rooms very nice and mega comfy beds!! Breakfast very good but buffet could have been set out better this will not put us off going back. Sadly didn't use spa/pool but looks fabulous!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BlueTomato28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear BlueTomato28
Thank you sincerely for your five star review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable time and have already shared your comments with the team here. Guest feedback is extremely important to us, so thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Warm regards
JP Kavanagh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,849 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: 1 Festival Square, Edinburgh EH3 9SR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $211 - $597 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand has been Edinburgh's gathering place for many years and it is the perfect place to discover this unique destination. From the moment you set foot inside the granite-floored lobby, you'll feel welcome. One Square, our restaurant and bar, serves a delicious range of classic British dishes all day long, while our beautiful bedrooms blend contemporary comfort and Scottish materials with cutting-edge technology. Of course, some things at the Sheraton have always been unbeatable, from One Spa's iconic rooftop Hydropool, to the breath-taking views of Edinburgh Castle. We can't wait to share them with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Grand Hotel Edinburgh
Sheraton Grand Hotel And Spa
Sheraton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Grand Hotel Sheraton
Edinburgh Sheraton Spa
Sheraton Spa Edinburgh
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing