We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ordinary room to a stiff price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #16 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ordinary room to a stiff price”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Small room with no view to a stiff price - no upgrading although we were there on our honeymoon (shall be mentioned that we were there during high season). Feels kind of ridiculous to pay over 300 pounds a night, just to find out that the room is very ordinary, and that the spa is not included. A hotel in this category should have free internet access!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hammerhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,685
    727
    196
    88
    42
See reviews for
354
1,305
107
475
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

It's hard to believe the hotel is 27 years old (as of 2012) - the renovation must have been extensive since the place looks perfectly new and contemporary from floor to ceiling.

We stayed for four days at the tail end of Edinburgh Festival. We chose a Club level (7th floor) room with Castle view, and that turned out to be a good choice. While the room overlooked busy Lothian Road and Festival Square, the room was reasonably quiet and the view was outstanding. The room was fairly large and comfortable. It was perfectly cleaned and prepared every day by top-notch housekeeping staff, and a couple complementary bottles of water were provided every day - a nice touch. The only quirks with the room were the indecipherable lighting system (based on "scenes" instead of individual light controls) and the frosted glass bathroom walls. Internet access was blazingly fast (expensive if you have to pay per day, but thankfully it was included in our rate). Most importantly, for those who prefer air-conditioning to open windows, the room had a strong and quiet air-conditioning system - one of the best we've seen in all our travels in the UK (lack of air conditioning was the primary reason we didn't stay at one of the Marriotts in Edinburgh, and we don't regret that decision - the Sheraton was superb).

The Club served an extensive continental breakfast and was a comfortable place to hang out between excursions to the city. The Club also served light snacks and wine/beer between 5:30 and 7:30. Unfortunately, the hotel missed out an opportunity to promote local Scottish brews and instead chose to offer bland mass-production beer. Similarly, a selection of single malts would have added some local flair to the evening drink service.

The hotel staff were warm and courteous, and every issue or concern was taken care of right away.

It was a delightful stay, and we won't hesitate to stay there again the next time we're in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mooneydriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Having recently been refurbished you could not fault the decor, furnishings and general ambiance. We stayed for 2 nights over the Bank Holiday Weekend, had tickets for the Tattoo and Fringe so the location was superb. Everything within a few minutes walking distance. The one outstanding memory is the staff, everyone we encountered was positive, professional and seemed genuinely interested in their work. We had room service, a meal in the restaurant and quite a few sessions in the bar, with friends. The Hotel was very busy with tourists, business people and quite a few functions, seating was limited but staff were always running around re-arranging furniture to make sure you could be seated if you wanted to. Service was always faultless.

We had a Castle View room, but without panoramic windows you would have to have been dedicated to stand at the window for long! You get a better view from the Restaurant. We paid £510 for 2 nights room only, the room had been newly refurbished to a high standard, the beds are very comfortable and the aircon first class. However, we were "issued" one small bottle of complimentary water between us, the toiletries are very small and unexiting and the bath towels, were just that, not bath sheets as you would expect.

We had room service breakfast on both days, cooked breakfast was superb with haggis & scottish black pudding, everything else was fresh and substantial.

We ate with friends (6 of us) in the restaurant on the Sat night, again the food was all first class, well cooked and service excellent and there is a good wine list which is not over priced. We though the restaurant good value for money at about £45 per person including for 3 courses inc wine.

All in all a good option. Car parking is £9 a day extra in the adjacent car park.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cardons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary and we had a fabulous time! We were upgraded to castle view and the room was beautiful and view great! We also visited the spa and thoroughly enjoyed it - the hydro pools were great and I could have sat in the outdoor jacuzzi pool enjoying the sun for hours! It's a good central location and staff were helpful - wd definitely come back.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank feeby_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I have stayed in the Sheraton twice in the last 6 months, and the service has been faultless.

The first time we stayed here was during the Edinburgh Marathon Festival. We had such a great time that my mum booked a club room as a surprise for my birthday.

The spa is worth it just to lie in the rooftop hydropool all afternoon! The refreshments and breakfast served in the club lounge were delicious with a great selection available. The rooms are beautiful with great attention to detail.

The location of the hotel is perfect, just a few minutes walk from Princes Street.

The staff are so courteous and friendly and really make you feel at home. (If your home was a stately mansion.)

My mum was really impressed by the refurbishment having stayed in the hotel a few years before. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarabee87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Had a room on the 7th (club) floor. Very high tech & modern. Great breakfast & very attentive, friendly staff throughout. Also enjoyed a fantastic high tea - well worth the money. Watch the breakfast buffet closing time & leave plenty time to enjoy! We didn't use the spa (it costs extra, though the pool is included).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R_and_K_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review from your recent stay. I am delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. To explain the charges at One Spa, we offer guests complimentary use of the Fitness Studio, 19m Swimming Pool and the Cleopatra Baths. All other treatments are charged separately which include the Thermal Suite and Hydro Pool area (known as Escape at One) as these heat and hydro experiences are a treatment within themselves, hence the reason that there is a charge.

Thank you once again and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
JP Kavanagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for several days with a colleague for a conference. The doorman was wonderful, greeted us by name every time and all staff charming. Breakfast buffet excellent. The room was very nice - views are not great as there is a massive new building going up next to the hotel. Didn't have time to check out the Spa. The drawback came some weeks after leaving. Discovered that the hotel had debited my credit card for an additional amount long after I had settled my bill and left the hotel. Is this legal? When queried, the admin staff at the hotel claimed that they had undercharged me so had helped themselves to money from my credit card without notifying me. Refused to reimburse the amount. Speaking with colleagues from the conference someone else had a similar experience. I recommend you check you check your credit card statement carefully after staying here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fleur50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,671 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#26 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#10 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: 1 Festival Square, Edinburgh EH3 9SR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand has been Edinburgh's gathering place for many years and it is the perfect place to discover this unique destination. From the moment you set foot inside the granite-floored lobby, you'll feel welcome. One Square, our restaurant and bar, serves a delicious range of classic British dishes all day long, while our beautiful bedrooms blend contemporary comfort and Scottish materials with cutting-edge technology. Of course, some things at the Sheraton have always been unbeatable, from One Spa's iconic rooftop Hydropool, to the breath-taking views of Edinburgh Castle. We can't wait to share them with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Grand Hotel Edinburgh
Sheraton Grand Hotel And Spa
Sheraton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Grand Hotel Sheraton
Edinburgh Sheraton Spa
Sheraton Spa Edinburgh
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing