We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel we've ever stayed at - perfect!”
Review of The Howard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Howard
Ranked #12 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best hotel we've ever stayed at - perfect!”
Reviewed May 26, 2009

The Howard is quite simply a beautiful hotel.

Everything was perfect at this hotel: the staff are all lovely - very knowledgeable, kind and helpful; the room was beautiful with a fantastic view, bed and bathroom; the atmosphere is great; and the breakfast was delicious. This hotel is a wonderful find - luxurious and comfortable but not pretentious.

We got engaged whilst staying at The Howard and everything was absolutely perfect - I cannot recommend this hotel enough. If you want a special place to stay, this is it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellerjohnnyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    121
    40
    28
    14
See reviews for
104
450
36
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2009

Booked this hotel as our wedding night hotel. Stayed in the trinity suite and it was fab - huge room, bed very comfortable, bath big enough for a rugby team and a nice little courtyard as well.

Service was excellent anbd breakfast was first class. Only changes I could make would be a bigger TV with more channels and more variety on the room service menu.

Overall, great hotel

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2009

booked the abercromby suite for my wife's birthday and it was superb. based in the new town, the hotel is near the heart of edinburgh but it's location is very discreet and quiet. the features of the hotel & rooms transport you back to another era and the service is excellent. well worth splashing out that little bit extra for a special occasion - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glasgowbhoy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2009

Although they call it a hotel, The Howard is much more like a B&B. The style is antiquated, not modern, and feels a bit like you’re a guest in someone’s home. That said, it’s not at all depressing, as many UK B&Bs can be.

Single travelers will want to note that the considerable difference in price between a single room and a double is because single rooms (there are only two) are tiny, just slightly larger than the twin bed inside. I switched to a more comfortable double room (for a reasonable fee).

I must disagree with the prevailing opinion here that the location is great. It’s residential, and while not a long walk to the more central areas—10-15 minutes by foot—this probably isn’t the best choice if you’re someone who prefers to have the city center at your doorstep. And at night, the immediate area is quite dead.

The staff is young but well-trained, and service is one of the things at which The Howard truly excels. Breakfast represents the epitome of that, at The Howard has possibly the best hotel breakfast I’ve ever had, both outstanding and gourmet. It goes far beyond the clichéd buffet-service that even five-star hotels provide pass off as fine dining.

My conclusion is that while I quite liked The Howard and especially its staff, I would prefer to stay more centrally next time I am in Edinburgh.

  • Liked — Breakfast is outstanding!
  • Disliked — The location is a bit out of the way.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati, ohio
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2008

The Howard Hotel is fabulous! I have enjoyed visiting there a number of times. While in Edinburgh, I cannot imagine staying at another hotel. It is small and DISCREET. While staying, a private butler is available to see to all your needs. The rooms/suites are all named for various clans/families. The hotel is quite close to the city center, a short cab drive away. The rooms that I have enjoyed through the years have all been large and each special in its own way. The food is wonderful and the staff are always ready to be of help. This very quiet hotel has been visited by Pierce Brosnon and Prince Albert of Monaco. They wished anonymity and needless to say, it was provided.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — It was all perfect in every way
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ukpassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2008

We had our wedding at The Howard in October 2008. We had been double booked by our first venue, and ended up at The Howard based on a recommendation from another hotel. We ended up being so pleased that we had been double booked as our experience at the Howard was absolutely phenomenal! The staff were so attentive (especially Fernando!), and nothing seemed like too much trouble for them.
The rooms were beautifully decorated and luxurious, not to mention absolutely spotless. The food at the hotel was some of the best we've had.
I can't say enough about how special the staff at the hotel made us feel, and they certainly contributed a great deal towards making our wedding the most special weekend not only for us, but for our guests who stayed at the hotel as well.
We definitely look forward to staying at The Howard for a few nights each year when we go back to Scotland.

  • Liked — The service and excellend food!
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 78review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2008

Wow! We were blown away at the amazing service provided by the staff of The Howard in Edinburgh. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, the complementary breakfast tasty, but the staff went above and beyond our expectations. Francisco, the extremely knowledgeable concierge, offered us tea and shortbread cookies upon arrival and gave us a 20 minute overview of the city, sights, and restaurants. All of his recommendations were spot on. What really blew our minds was this: we asked him to recommend a restaurant for a special dinner in honor of my brother and sister-in-law's anniversary. Not only did he recommend an awesome restaurant and handle the reservation, but the day of their actual anniversary he bought them a card and slipped it under the door of their room that morning. Amazing.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uofabecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,726 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,804 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,030 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
963 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#15 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Howard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Howard

Property: The Howard
Address: 34 Great King Street, Edinburgh EH3 6QH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#9 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#14 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#19 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Howard 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard is a small and discreet hotel which occupies three Georgian houses. A classically elegant hotel both outside and in, it has just 18 luxury rooms and suites. Located by Waverley train station, situated just off Princes Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Howard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Howard Hotel Edinburgh
Howard Hotel Edinburgh
Howard Edinburgh
The Howard Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing