We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Scottish Hospitality”
Review of The Howard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Howard
Ranked #13 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Wonderful classic hotel with a great level of service. Tea and coffee in the drawing room is a great way to end the night. The breakfasts are also a lovely taste of Scotland. Just a short walk from Waverley.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (806)
There are newer reviews for The Howard
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 806 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

First time staying at the Howard, booked online direct from their website. From arrival, made to feel very welcome and that nothing was a problem, extras ordered were also there on arrival in room. Room itself (more like a suite!) was amazing and bigger and better than we expected, clean, tidy and all facilities that you need. Butler service was prompt and efficient ( a new experience for us from a boutique hotel!) and staff friendly and helpful. Great location near centre of Edinburgh and would return again.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

From the minute you enter this fine establishment you realise what you've been missing at other hotels. It's not just the warm welcome at reception, the friendliness of the porters, the presentation of the public areas and luxuriousness of the rooms, it's the feeling that you are actually being treated as a person and not just a paying customer.
Forget the butler service where you can have your bags unpacked and clothes ironed. Forget the fact you can have your bath run ready from your return from a hard days shopping and that The Howard will pick your shopping up for you. Forget the ultra-comfortable beds that are turned down and can be dressed in rose petals. Forget the fact you're only 10 minutes walk from George Street and all the city centre offers.
Just remember to enjoy the city, enjoy your day/nights out and have a great stay in a wonderful hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Daftlad1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Whilst some of the decor and furnishings at the Howard are starting to look a little bit 'tired' and in need of a bit of a facelift, you can forgive this on the basis that the service is absolutely faultless and the location is wonderfully convenient. Add to this the fact that they have valet parking, do a top notch breakfast and the meal we had in the restaurant was absolutely wonderful and I'd have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

7 of us stayed at this hotel for a family birthday celebration. This included a young baby. We could not have asked for more. Every need is catered for. The staff are genuinely friendly and helpful. The butler service is amazing...coffee and tea brought to your room, washing, ironing all included! No buffet at breakfast it is all served to your table and a great menu too - not just the usual egg and bacon. We had a wonderful time and did not want to leave. If you want a truly luxurious relaxing break in Edinburgh this is the hotel to book. Lovely!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank DonnaEmmings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I made an account just to review this wonderful Hotel. It has to be one of the most amazing Hotel experiences I have ever had and I don't think 5 stars is enough to rate my time at The Howard.

We arrived about an hour early for check-in (our mistake) but our room was ready, and the beautiful female butler took our car keys and parked our car and brought our luggage up to our room.

We stayed in the Charlotte Suite, which took my breath away when I walked in. We also had a beautiful single red rose on the bed. (How romantic!) It was huge! Massive, soft king size bed, two sofas, big flat screen tv, plenty of seating area - and that bathroom!!! His and hers matching sinks, huge, deep bath and best of all - a walk in waterfall shower with jets on the wall.

We decided to dine elsewhere that evening but the dining room itself is intimate and beautiful decorated.

We did however opt to have our breakfast delivered to our room - what a fabulous service. The breakfast was generous and of fantastic quality.

I especially want to thank the staff at this establishment, they are so helpful and wonderful. They really made me feel like Queen of the castle. I cannot comment highly enough how great it was to stay here.

I would absolutely come back, hopefully to a different room (as they are all decorated differently) but the Charlotte Suite was one of dreams.

Thank you for making a romantic trip, into a memory I will never forget :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natalie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Where can I start in my reveiw of this wonderful hotel!
I was in Edinburgh for my civil marriage held over the Xmas period in 2013, we stayed 3 nights and had our Wedding Luncheon at the hotel also.
The hotel staff couldnt do enough to make our stay comfortable, easy and enjoyable. Our guets were unable to criticise even the smallest thing!

Charles and The Team are doing a brilliant job!

Please do not hestiate to book a room here!

Its truly fantastic!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeordie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,851 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,854 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
980 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,384 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Howard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Howard

Address: 34 Great King Street, Edinburgh EH3 6QH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#14 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#19 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $185 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Howard 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard is a small and discreet hotel which occupies three Georgian houses. A classically elegant hotel both outside and in, it has just 18 luxury rooms and suites. Located by Waverley train station, situated just off Princes Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Howard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Howard Hotel Edinburgh
Howard Hotel Edinburgh
Howard Edinburgh
The Howard Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing