We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite place in Edinburgh”
Review of The Howard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Howard
Ranked #12 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“My favourite place in Edinburgh”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Having sought out a place for afternoon tea for a special occasion I was delighted to have stumbled across the Howard. It was such a magnificent location and one that my friends who had grown up in Edinburgh where not aware of! The choice of teas, the delicious pastries and cakes and the discreet "refreshing" of tea pots by the butler was a real treat.
I enjoyed my first visit so much that I returned to celebrate a birthday with my mother who was visiting from Australia. We opted for the champagne afternoon tea. Despite there being only two of us having afternoon tea that day we were seated in the more comfortably sized drawing room with as much attention as when dining previously in a larger group. Once again the experience was so enjoyable that I joined their afternoon tea club
My husband and I enjoyed afternoon tea twice at the Howard in our last days of living in Edinburgh.
With our 10th wedding anniversary approaching we are considering heading back to the Howard to stay. For us the Howard is somewhere we associate with incredible service, delightful food and a wonderfully personal and magical experience.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shmeidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Not only is it wonderful to read such charming reviews, but it is also refreshing to read a an in-depth review of our Afternoon Tea offering. I am delighted this reviewer was so enchanted by Afternoon Tea at The Howard and I look forward to welcoming her again on her forthcoming 10th Anniversary. Many congratulations, by the way, from all the team!!
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    121
    40
    28
    14
See reviews for
104
450
36
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Gorgeous room with extremely accommodating staff. We arrived early expecting to just leave our bags however were informed our room was ready and taken there straight away. The idea of not having kettles in the room as the butler brings coffee and tea when needed, felt very luxurious. We asked them to chill our champagne (which we had brought to the hotel) - when we requested it, it came back not only chilled but with an ice bucket, glasses, crisps and olives...usually you get a glare for daring to ask for a glass when bringing your own champagne into various hotels. The breakfast was fantastic. Would highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for luxury and helpful staff.
We also had our nearly 3 year old with us, who was also well looked after - we stayed in the Cockburn room which was very spacious and perfect if traveling with a child.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlasgowScotland24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in a suite. A completely private atmosphere with very personal service. We could receive guests in the drawing room with a glass of champagne, have a private room for dinner. The rooms thank god not "re done" modern style, bath rooms was new, very elegant, Penhaligon products (Blenheim). All like a Victorian private home. Butler service included, pressing, shoe shine, name it...Breakfast outstanding: salmon with poached eggs, haggis or black pudding. We did not bother to look elsewhere in Edingburgh, two night dining, great food, with great detail..champagne lunch with sandwiches in the garden. Must say we had extremely good weather which is rare...no AC`s in the rooms though... However I can highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erwin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We arrived at 5:30 PM and were told by reception to have a seat in the parlor while we waited for "our butler". We cooled our jets there for about 15 minutes wondering what was going on and why we were not being shown to our room which had been reserved from 3 PM on. Finally, a "butler" showed up and led us to our room. A dowdy looking hotel from a "dusty era". The space looked old and dark although it was well kept up. Not my taste at all.
The room was very spacious, a "superior" room, but also very odd. The bathroom was huge, probably 100sq. feet or 9 square metres. BUT, in this "football field" of a bathroom, a PATHETIC little shower, perhaps 7 sq. feet or 0.6 sq. metres. I am a very thin person and found it almost impossible to maneuver in such a small space. A large man wouldn't even be able to fit in the shower stall, in my opinion. And the shower got worse. It was so poorly drained that even after a short shower, I was left standing in 2 inches (5 cms) of soapy water.
The next day, we left the hotel at 9 AM, placing the "Please Make Up Room" sign on the outside of the door. We arrived back about 5.5 hours later at 2:30 PM, tired from our touring and planning a nap. The room was as we left it, still with the sign on the door asking for the room to be made up. We called and complained, asking for the room to be made up. About 30 minutes later, someone finally arrived to service the room. It was now 3:15 PM.
Breakfast is very good; no complaints. But, I would never consider staying here again. Oh, forgot to mention the price tag; 245 Pounds or about US$400 per night. Terribly overpriced and a big disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

After starting our holiday at 2 five star locations, we did not know how the The Howard was going to stack up. On our arrival Paul and the butler staff unloaded and unpacked our luggage and got us a drink to enjoy in the sitting room. We were assigned to the Trinity room which was quite large and had a fabulous bathroom. It had a separate terraced entrance which gave a sense of privacy. This hotel's staff sets it apart from other properties. With regard to either dinners, live music ( The Antiquary-Thursday night!!!! ), transportation, or anything that we requested the staff immediately took care of our needs. We were there in somewhat of a heat wave for Scotland but they tolerated our American needs for ice around the clock. The breakfast was included and was as much as one could ask for to start the day. While the location was slightly off the main attractions, it was no more than a 20 minute walk to anywhere that one would want to go in Edinburgh. We would certainly return to The Howard and are planning so for next summer already. I cannot praise the staff enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srsuva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thanks again for posting your comments; it’s great to see another positive review.

We at The Howard Hotel aim to give each guest an individual but excellent stay. It’s great to hear that not only did we meet our guest’s expectations but exceeded them.

We offer something quite unique at The Howard and our team of Butlers will always try to make your experience as comfortable as possible. The butlers main aim to make this small hotel as comfortable and relaxing as possible, making it a ‘home-from-home'.

As this guest mentions- we do offer our extensive local knowledge to our guests and are more than happy to organise your days while staying here and beyond.

This guest stayed in our Trinity Suite which is one of our Terrace Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with my sister as a treat and had a lovely time. Rooms needing some attention decoratively to meet 5 star expectations but still lovely and location was ideal for us. Staff friendly but a bit formal for my taste although thats personal preference.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaClark01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thanks for your positive review.

Just to advise that our rooms are currently going through an extensive refurbishment and this will continue for the next year or so. Although none of the rooms are overdue for a refurbishment we hope that this proactive approach will keep us ahead of our competitors.

We are aware that offering a '24 hour butler service' can at times seem very formal. Although all our butlers are traditionally trained, they have also gone through modern customer service training which we think is a great balance.

Mr Andrew Smith
Head Butler/Deputy General Manager
Mr Andrew Smith
Head Butler/Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

For the amount of money we paid we expected more however there were many good points. On arrival we were warmly greeted by Roy who whisked our bags inside and directed us to Avis just down the road to return the car. On return to the Howard we ordered off the drinks menu - however were told after 15 mins they had run out of Tio Pepe a dry sherry so would I like a Bristol cream sherry - obviously not as they are completely different drinks so I ordered a sauv blanc and rec'd a chardonnay!!
Any way back to the good points - the room a terrace suite was a good size and we could come and go through our own front door. The room was at basement level and the outside terrace had a lot of street rubbish that had blown in and a deadish plant. Because of security the windows only open a wee bit and with the drapes drawn against the light there is very little ventilation.
The room furnishings may be tired and the carpet needs a clean but the bathroom was well fitted out with excellent water pressure and amenities. Our sleep whilst on a comfy bed was disjointed as we had to get up and open the door for half an hour to get some fresh air.
We really enjoyed having a post dinner drink in the garden which was quiet and peaceful.

Room Tip: Beware that a terrace room is a basement room - not a terrace room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 914Swanny914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
I am deeply sorry to read that this guest has left us with anything but the most positive of impressions but we will endeavor to correct most of the issues detailed.

After review and investigating all the points we found that we had not run out of Tio Pepe nor had we run out of Sauvignon Blanc, I have addressed these matters with our butlers and I am confident the negative points are addressed.

As you may be aware the guest stayed during Scotland’s unseasonably hot week! Although it is unfeasible for us to get air conditioning into the listed building we do offer extra fans in all our rooms if requested.

At the same time I greatly appreciate your positive comments about some aspects of the quality of service that you received throughout your stay.

Mr Andrew Smith
Head Butler/Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,726 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,804 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,030 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
963 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#15 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Howard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Howard

Property: The Howard
Address: 34 Great King Street, Edinburgh EH3 6QH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#9 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#14 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#19 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Howard 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard is a small and discreet hotel which occupies three Georgian houses. A classically elegant hotel both outside and in, it has just 18 luxury rooms and suites. Located by Waverley train station, situated just off Princes Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Howard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Howard Hotel Edinburgh
Howard Hotel Edinburgh
Howard Edinburgh
The Howard Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing