We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!”
Review of The Howard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Howard
Ranked #12 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at the Howard in February this year for a birthday celebration weekend and The Howard was an amazing experience. Our entire stay at the hotel was perfect from the moment we checked in until we left. The hotel is traditional with a luxurious homely feel with great attention to detail and superior customer service. The butler services means you want for nothing and as first time visitors to Edinburgh our butler went out of his way to recommend restaurants and places to visit. We have nothing bad to say about The Howard other than be mindful it is a long walk up some very steep hills to get to the city centre, not a problem for us, but it would be for someone not keen on walking. We highly recommend the Abercrombie suite. Thank you The Howard, we had an outstanding weekend!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thanks again for posting your comments, its great to see another possitive review.
We at The Howard Hotel strive for excellence and it’s always good to hear that not only did we meet our guest’s expectations but exceeded them.
We offer something quite unique at The Howard and our team of Butlers will always try to make your experience as comfortable as possible. The butlers main aim to make this small hotel as comfortable and relaxing as possible, making it a ‘home-from-home'. I agree with the review that our Abercrombie suite is exceptional.
I hope to see you again next year for your birthday.

Mr Andrew Smith
Head Butler/Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    121
    40
    28
    14
See reviews for
104
450
36
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

WE stayed at The Howard for 5 days in July. The room was spacious and lovely. The bed was comfortable and the chairs were perfect for sitting and reading. The bathroom was very spacious but lacked adequate water pressure at times. Overall we were very comfortable and felt like we were staying in someone's cosy home rather than a hotel. The staff were exceptional. As soon as we arrived, our butler asked if we wanted tea and brought it promptly. They were very attentive and we never had to wait for anything we asked for. They also provided very helpful advice for restaurants, getting around Edinburgh, and even for our next stop in Glasgow. We were so comfortable that we hated to leave. We doubt that we will find this level of service and comfort elsewhere.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are said to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Another great review for the Howard Hotel, thanks again for posting your comments.
We at The Howard Hotel strive for excellence and it’s always good to hear that not only did we meet our guest’s expectations but exceeded them.
We offer something quite unique at The Howard and our team of Butlers will always try to make your experience as comfortable as possible. It is for that reason that we are particularly happy with the comment that 'the hotel felt more like someone’s comfortable home'.


Mr. Andrew Smith
Head Butler/Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The Howard's furniture may be a little faded and tattered, but the rooms and service were excellent. Very comfortable accommodations - terrific bed, recently refurbished bathroom, and clean, large room. The service was outstanding and the food was delicious. It is well situated, just a 10 minute walk to the Royal Mile.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CA_Traveler_1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, Manager at The Howard, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your review and for pointing out that we exceeded in your expectations both in service and our rooms.

Mr Andrew Smith
Head Butler/Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed last weekend, part business, part pleasure. The room (a four poster feature room) looked lovely and was very spacious, although we later found dusty, uncleaned carpet under the radiators (if I noticed it sooner I would have asked for a re-clean.....).
We ordered some tea upon arrival in our room but the order was forgotten and we had to ring down after half an hour to remind them. As we were eating out that night we also asked them to book a taxi but this was forgotten too. Alarm bells starting to ring........
On Saturday we also mentioned that we'd be dining in the hotel on the Sunday night and were told they were never over booked on a Sunday and so there would be plenty of room. However upon returning from our day out on Sunday we found out that the restaurant was in fact fully booked for the evening as they'd had a rush of bookings in the day! Not overly happy but we then said we'd avail ourselves of the 'in-room dining served by your very own butler'. Can't do that said the young lady as they already had 3 couples dining in their rooms..............the best they could do was sandwiches/snacks!! At this point we asked to see the Manager who informed us that they would 'squeeze' us in to the restaurant. By this time it was 18.45 and we had a booking elsewhere for 19.00. I'm afraid I took exception to being 'squeezed' in anywhere!! - especially as we were paying in the region of £300 per night (room only!!) to stay in this hotel - so we declined. To add insult to injury upon our return to the hotel (at around 20.30) we were somewhat surprised to find only one couple dining in the restaurant and 5 empty tables!!
Off to complain again but the shine had gone from our weekend. Regrettably we were offered no gesture of apology from the management apart from 2 complimentary liqueur coffees - too little, too late I'm afraid.
On the plus side we had a very nice lunch on our day of arrival and I also had a lovely breakfast served in my room on Monday morning before I had to go off on business.
As a comment the 'butlers' that they obviously promote as a unique point are in fact the normal hotel staff but they are just called butlers!
I could only suggest that the problems we suffered were due to a serious lack of training - so Managers take note. At the prices you are charging you need to up your game considerably - we could stay at The Ritz in London for this price and save on the airfares....

Room Tip: Choose a room in another hotel until their staff training improves.............
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Silverstriders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, Manager at The Howard, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
I am deeply perturbed to read that this guest has left us with anything but the most positive of impressions. Myself and the management team will endeavor to correct each point where we failed to meet expectations and reply to the guest in person- I am confident that I can address most of the issues detailed and correct them as a matter of urgency.
I do feel that the guest was a little ‘unfair’ mentioning that the butlers were just ordinary hotel staff. Our small team of butlers go through extensive and traditional butler training to provide the service that is mentioned in so many reviews. We have modernised it slightly making it less formal and stuffy but feel this is a positive step and not a step backwards.
The traditional middle aged men in tail coats are still visible but are helped by a team of younger (and older!) boys and girls to create a modern and friendly service.

Andrew Smith
Head Butler/Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in July 2013 for 2 days and it was just great. We wanted then to extend our stay but unfortunately it was fully booked. Rooms are very nice and they have a cosy sitting room/ bar.They offer a wonderful, very well prepared breakfast.The personal is helpful and provide with suggestions.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronika J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, Manager at The Howard, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Another great review for the Howard Hotel, thanks again for posting your comments.

The Howard Hotel is a small hotel with only 18 on suite bedrooms and with our unique service and traditional settings we are often fully booked. My recommendation is to book early to avoid disappointment.

We were extremely pleased to hear that this guest enjoyed their stay so much that they wished to extend it, but can only apologies that we were unable to do so on this occasion.

Mr Andrew Smith
Head Butler/Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed in a suite, which honestly was the nicest room we have ever stayed in and we travel frequently. The size and decor were outstanding. The breakfast is quaint and service undeniably perfect. The smaller size of the hotel makes the stay feel like home. I want to come back to Edinburg and stay again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimmCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, Manager at The Howard, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Another great review for the Howard Hotel, thanks again for posting your comments.
We at The Howard Hotel strive for excellence and it’s always good to hear that not only did we meet our guest’s expectations but exceeded them.
We offer something quite unique at The Howard and our team of Butlers will always try to make your experience as comfortable as possible. The butlers main aim to make this small hotel as comfortable and relaxing as possible, making it a ‘home-from-home'.

I am pleased that this guest would like to come back and they are most welcome to return.

Mr Andrew Smith
Head Butler/Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I was transferred to The Howard because my original hotel had overbooked. It's a really pleasant hotel with complementary butler service (which I sadly didn't have time to take advantage of).
My 'compact' room was certainly that, but the bed was very comfortable and the decor, though dated, was tasteful and in keeping with the ambience.
My room faced the street and there was a fair amount of traffic noise but not outrageous.
It's a period building, so don't expect all the mod cons (like aircon in every room).
All in all a nice hotel, I would stay again, but perhaps in a quieter room next time.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdorrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, Manager at The Howard, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Overall another positive review for The Howard.
Although The Howard is situated within a very quiet affluent area of Edinburgh the tradition cobbled stone road does from time to time cause noise when a heavy vehicle travels over them, thankfully this is not very often.
When a guest highlights that this may be problem we do endeavor to move them to a quiet backward facing room. I hope this guest on their return visit will request this so that their experience can be 5 start instead of 4!

Mr. Andrew Smith
Head Butler/Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,725 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,804 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,026 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
963 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#15 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Howard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Howard

Property: The Howard
Address: 34 Great King Street, Edinburgh EH3 6QH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#9 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#14 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#19 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Howard 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard is a small and discreet hotel which occupies three Georgian houses. A classically elegant hotel both outside and in, it has just 18 luxury rooms and suites. Located by Waverley train station, situated just off Princes Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Howard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Howard Hotel Edinburgh
Howard Hotel Edinburgh
Howard Edinburgh
The Howard Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing