We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Another fabulous stay.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Howard

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Howard
Ranked #13 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Another fabulous stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

I've stayed at the Howard on a number of occasions now and continue to rave about the hotel to friends and family. On this occasion I've reduced my normal rating of 5/5 to 4/5 due to some very minor disappointments on my last visit, none of which really affected my enjoyment or comfort during my stay, but was a reduction in quality I had previously experienced. I stayed at the hotel for two nights. The first disappointment was that I was not offered the turn down service on either evening. Previously I had returned to my room after an evenings entertainment to find the room tidied and bed turned back. The second disappointment was on the second evening when on my way out to a restaurant for dinner I informed the receptionist that my coffee tray in room was ready for collection, only to find it still on the desk in my room when I returned some three hours later. Like I said nothing major but not the perfect service I had previously enjoyed. I learnt that Andrew the Head Butler was absent for the two nights that I stayed so hope that this is why there were these oversights by the Butler team. I will return at some point in the near future when I hope to find things have returned to the perfect service I have previously experienced.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    115
    37
    27
    14
See reviews for
91
417
36
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed here on several occasions and have always left completely satisfied, But most recent visit felt a little let down, didn't have the finishing touches which previously alway made our stay perfect.

Such as turn down service not offered , trays not cleared despite requesting this,
I felt it was it was a little less welcoming,
Certain aspects were still very good but lacked with the finishing touches which had previously made this perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michellej1975-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Although a very positive review overall - I would like to extend my personal apologies to this guest for lack of turndown service as this is something we absolutely do provide unless having been advised otherwise. I will make no excuses as to why this did not happen - we simply got it wrong!
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Fortunately I read through the lines of the' odd' few bad reviews and gave this wonderful, unusual hotel a chance. We loved every aspect of it and will be returning frequently. It felt more like living in ones own 'upstairs downstairs' town house than a hotel. The staff/butlers were informal, but discreet and attentive to our every need. The food was excellent. The location is central, on a cobbled street, and very quiet.
If you want brash, music blaring, ultra modern decor and chips don't go there.
Amazingly good value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank satellina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
I am glad to read that this guest was persuaded to experience The Howard and I love the comparison to Upstairs/Downstairs, as this type of environment was exactly what the property was initially built for although I hope you will find the service much more relaxed these days!
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights with my boyfriend. We had a fantastic stay; it was truly luxurious and we didn't want to leave. We loved being able to have breakfast in our bedroom each morning and the bathroom was equipped with two sinks, a huge bath and a shower. The bed was extremely comfortable too. In terms of location it is very good because it's nice and peaceful but you are just a short walk from Princes street and Hanover St contains some lovely restaurants. I would definitely return if I were to visit Edinburgh in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonHayley_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Many thanks to this guest for her kind words and it is great to again read feedback on The Howard of this nature. Hope to see this couple again soon..
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

I stayed with my husband for a couple of nights. So convenient for the city yet in such a quiet position. Couldn't be better! Room very comfortable and super big bathroom. All staff friendly and helpful yet unobtrusive. We thought it was a great bargain. Did not have opportunity to sample food other than breakfast. Good choice but we did have one gripe (otherwise it would have been a 5* review) in that eggs on Eggs Benedict were hard while poached with bacon were slimy and unpleasant; also far too much vinegar used to cook the eggs. I smelt it as soon as the plates came into the room. But, other than that wee gripe, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willows6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Overall another fantastic review but I am sorry to read that we were denied that all important fifth star because of a problem with our eggs. Rest assured this was a very rare occurence and I have addressed this with Williamt, Head Chef, who passes on his personal apology and will ensure this does not happen again!
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

I have recently had the pleasure of spending a night at The Howard. This was really a business trip booked at short notice. Since I had reserved a single room I had expected a small pokey room with a dreary outlook. to the rear of the hotel..but not at all...I was shown to super triple windowed room with comfortable double bed and an excellent bathroom looking out into Great King Street. Breakfast was just excellent and all of the staff extremely pleasant and attentive. Sadly I was only there for one night but I hope to stay again and would recommend this hotel very highly. For the comfort and quality on offer it was also excellent value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fifeadvantage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Another fantastic review for The Howard and I was thrilled to read how we managed to surpass this customer's expectations - rest assured - there are no "pokey" rooms at the hotel, and in times of low occupancy we will always try to upgrade our guests wherever possible on a complimentary basis.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkby Lonsdale, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

A lovely couple of days in a lovely hotel booked last minute. Beautiful room full of character, large spacious bathroom and a quiet location but easy walking distance to the city. A fabulous breakfast, a rarity these days. We will be back. Pauine s.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
A great write up and one that perfectly encapsulates the "Howard Experience"! My thanks to this guest for their custom and for taking the time to share their experience.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,712 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,404 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#14 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Howard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Howard

Property: The Howard
Address: 34 Great King Street, Edinburgh EH3 6QH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#14 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#19 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Howard 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard is a small and discreet hotel which occupies three Georgian houses. A classically elegant hotel both outside and in, it has just 18 luxury rooms and suites. Located by Waverley train station, situated just off Princes Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Howard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Howard Hotel Edinburgh
Howard Hotel Edinburgh
Howard Edinburgh
The Howard Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing