We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel but....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Ranked #50 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel but....”
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel but unfortunately I have to say the staff I encountered don't live up to the 5 * tag. One of the main issues seems to be around listening smd understanding English. This should be a basic in a 5 star hotel!

Room very nicely furnished only complaint air con want working. When I complained I was told 'sorry, or air conditioning does let is down sometimes'. Well a simple answer, fix it!

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank craigpatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear craigpatt,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh- The Caledonian. I am certainly surprised you feel the team members do not provide five star luxury service, many of our guests comment on the kind and attentive service they receive, however I am sorry on this occasion you feel you did not receive this.
I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,942
    847
    405
    166
    75
See reviews for
719
1,691
100
386
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (815)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights and were underwhelmed by the accommodations. The room was elegant with high ceilings and a chandelier. The air handler was inadequate to the point that the room was warmer than the hallway, making it less than comfortable after long days of walking. The maid failed to clean the room one day and no one came for turn-down service on another. The front desk, bar and concierge were very attentive and helpful and the breakfast was quite nice. We had drinks in the bar and had a pizza one night which was excellent. I would enjoy returning, but hope they can correct some of the problems associated with the room.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jpjacksonjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear jpjacksonjr,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh- The Caledonian. It is disappointing to hear whilst you enjoyed some aspects of your stay not all lived up to your expectations. I will certainly address your issues mentioned with the relevant departments to ensure our high standards are met at all times.
We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

All I can say is that people giving bad reviews to this hotel must be too picky! This is a Waldorf Astoria Property and everything on the hotel was on par with the service and quality you would expect from a Waldorf property. Excellent location within the town center and a short walk from the castle. If the budget allows go ahead splurge a little and enjoy the luxury!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sakeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear sakeb,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh- The Caledonian. It is a pleasure to read your excellent review! I am glad you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and found the location convenient for visiting local attractions!
We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed here for two nights and found it a most comfortable experience. Our room was cheerfully changed when there was a problem with the cooling system. The room and bath were large and well-appointed. We especially liked the good lighting. The bed was comfortable. The room did not provide a view of the castle, but that was less important to us than it be quiet, which it was. The location was perfect for us--at the end of Princes Street. We walked to the castle, and the charming streets of New Town were nearby. Other sites were a short taxi ride away. Thomas and Malcolm were very helpful in making dinner reservations and giving advice on other activities. We cannot comment on the restaurant as it was closed Sunday and Monday, the nights we were there. My only negative comment is we thought the breakfast was overpriced. But overall, we give this hotel the highest recommendation and would chose it again on a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorkCityJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear newyorkcityjoan,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh- The Caledonian. I am delighted to hear you very much enjoyed your stay with us; I am extremely pleased Thomas and Malcolm provided excellent service with their extensive knowledge of the city. I will certainly share your kind comments with them. I am appreciative of our guest’s feedback and will take in to consideration your comments regarding our breakfast charges.
We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed here for five days while visiting Scotland. The location is very convenient to transportation and many sights, such as the Castle. The service was excellent and staff very attentive. Meals in the bistro were very good, though pricey. We did not get the breakfast because we thought that 21 pounds/pp was a lot. However, the a la carte menu for breakfast was good. Our room was very nice, quiet, and comfortable. Overall great stay and the price was very reasonable when we prepaid our rooms.

Room Tip: i'd suggest an upper floor in the back, as the hotel is on the corner of a busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmg1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear LMG1954,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh- The Caledonian. I am delighted to hear you felt the staff members provided excellent luxury service during your stay and your room was comfortable.
We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel is practically perfect. An elegant respite. It's pricey, but you certainly get what you pay for. The service is attentive but not intrusive and not at all stodgy. The facility is not at all dated, despite the fact that this is an old (historic) hotel. The furnishings and facilities are all up-to-date and comfortable. We ate at the Brasserie (separate review written for that) and it was fantastic. The rooms are good-sized and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel is walking distance to Edinburgh Castle and Hollyrood Palace, as well as the Royal Mile, but I was thoroughly unimpressed with that - beware of stores selling tartan goods that are not authentic. Ask the concierge about how to avoid that.

Room Tip: The view of the castle is not to be missed. Pay extra for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear David B,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh- The Caledonian. I am delighted to read you had a very enjoyable stay and feel the hotel has maintained the historic feel throughout. I am pleased you found the hotel conveniently situated for visiting Edinburgh’s attractions.
We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Warm welcome, concierge was very helpful when giving us advice on where to eat. Didn't eat at all in the hotel so cant comment on that. Room was clean, very spacious (we had a junior suite), and had everything we needed. Cant say much more as we were not in that much.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirsty c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Kirsty C,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh- The Caledonian. I am delighted to read your stay exceeded your expectations and you feel your room was spacious and comfortable.
We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,726 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,767 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
963 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Property: Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Address: Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland (Formerly Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#18 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, or the "Caley" as it has become affectionately known among Edinburgh folk, was and still is the epitome of style and excellence. The large, rose-coloured Permian sandstone facade, quarried in Dumfries, dominates the skyline of the city's west end. The hotel has not only remained a focal point for more than one hundred years, but a symbol of the very best of Scottish hospitality. The Caley's pivotal position at the very heart of Edinburgh has always been its greatest asset. Created out of the 19th century railway boom, the five star hotel is looking to the future with confidence and pride in its ability to keep pace with the times. The hotel's reputation is as justified now as it was when the hotel first opened its doors in 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton International Edinburgh
Hilton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing