We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea in a Waldorf”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Ranked #54 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 26, 2014

My daughter wanted to experience high tea and a friend in Edinburgh brought us here. She told us that the place used to be a train station but I can't imagine what it used to look like given that it now has all the opulence of a Waldorf. Service was excellent and the choice of teas was excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrazzeeShopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear CrazzeeShopper,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your afternoon tea experience with us. I am delighted that you were recommend to come to Peacock Alley, and by all accounts it would appear that you have no regrets. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,789)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,684 - 2,690 of 3,789 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights over the BH weekend. The location is amazing, being within walking distance of Princes St, George's St and the Old Town. We stayed in a standard room which looked over the car park. It was a little on the small side and the tv wasn't very good but other than that it was a lovely room.

Tip: for a better less overpriced breakfast head next door to the Huxley.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank beanyyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear beanyyx,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I agree that the location is perfect for a trip to Edinburgh, amongst all of the top tourist attractions. I hope that you were able to make the most of the sightseeing, and that the weather was kind to you!

Kind regards,

Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

The highlight of this hotel are the staff: consistently friendly and incredibly helpful. The food (we had breakfast in the hotel and a light supper in the main lounge) was good too. The decor is grand without being particularly comfortable and welcoming. I would have liked to have given it a stronger endorsement but there is a strong sense that the place is a little soulless and not good value for money. For example, our room was perfectly comfortable - but tiny (you know the room is tiny when the bathroom is accessed by a sliding door because there isnt space to put in a hinged one). More than that, there was no bath. I know what you are thinking - who cares about a bath - but it seems to me at the prices you are paying a tiny shower isnt good enough. The rooms with a bath cost £40 a night more. That's irritating. As is the fact that there is only free wifi in the public areas. In your room you have to pay an extra £15. That's just cheap. That impression continues throughout - there's no complimentary bottled water in the rooms (although you can get it in the gym - why?) Overall I would say that one could do better in Edinburgh for the money - more characterful, more for your money and a greater sense of money well spent. But, it's not bad.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank springboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed in a beautiful King Deluxe Room with a beautiful view of Edinburgh Castle. Great views and the room had lovely furnishings. My boyfriend had been quite ill the weeks before, so we ordered room service a few times while there. The service was great. Great stay, and would return here without a doubt.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Hai-Ly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Myself and my wife recently stayed at the hotel for two nights after our wedding.
We could not have chosen a better choice of hotel the staff were all very friendly and courteous and the hotel is immaculate and decorated very tastefully. For a 5 star hotel we were also pleasantly surprised by the hotel prices for drink and food they were fairly priced.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting Edinburgh whether it be a special occasion or business, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We had the St John suite overlooking the castle. Amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenFellows19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Dear BenFellows19,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh –The Caledonian. It is a pleasure to read your outstanding review and I am pleased ‘The Caley’ team were able to assist in making your special occasion memorable.
We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

The room was very comfortable, the hotel whilst a bit old fashioned was very good and the service extremely good.
The location in Edinburgh is central and made getting around very easy.
The view toward the castle from my room was outstanding
The only downside was as usual in hotels poor choice of TV channels in the room

Room Tip: Ask for a castle view room on the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Dear David S,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh –The Caledonian. I am pleased you had an excellent stay with us in February and found the service extremely good. The hotel underwent a major refurbishment in 2012 and we aimed to keep the decor similar to the history and character of the hotel; however I understand the decor is not to everyone’s liking.
We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

On arrival we were welcomed and upgraded . We were moved from a deluxe room with a view to a suite. The rooms were beautiful and spotless. The staff were very friendly especially in reception and the housekeeping staff. The staff in the residents lounge were also nice. The fellow at the door with the top hat said a minimum to us. The hotel is very central with a lovely view of the castle. I would love to go back one day.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ematod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Ematod,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that we were able to facilitate an up-grade upon your arrival at the hotel to a beautiful and spotless bedroom. I am also pleased that the staff that you encountered throughout the duration of your stay were all courteous and friendly, which is one of the main aspects of our luxury brand.

Moreover, we certainly hope that you are able to return to Edinburgh and the ‘Caley’ again in the future.

Kind regards,

Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,951 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#17 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,943 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Address: Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland (Formerly Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#18 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $191 - $782 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, or the "Caley" as it has become affectionately known among Edinburgh folk, was and still is the epitome of style and excellence. The large, rose-coloured Permian sandstone facade, quarried in Dumfries, dominates the skyline of the city's west end. The hotel has not only remained a focal point for more than one hundred years, but a symbol of the very best of Scottish hospitality. The Caley's pivotal position at the very heart of Edinburgh has always been its greatest asset. Created out of the 19th century railway boom, the five star hotel is looking to the future with confidence and pride in its ability to keep pace with the times. The hotel's reputation is as justified now as it was when the hotel first opened its doors in 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton International Edinburgh
Hilton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing