We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will never stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Ranked #56 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Will never stay here again”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed here for New Years eve and came away feeling robbed. We arrived at the Hotel and were given a room costing over £400 that was more like a prison cell. Virtually no natural light at all.
Whilst the common areas are what you would expect from a Hotel of this calibre the rooms leave a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adam600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear adam600,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. However, it is with regret to read such a negative view after your Hogmanay experience. Due to such a demand in Edinburgh over this period, the hotel was full and this is reflected in the room rate which we demand, as everyone will understand. Moreover, with over 500 guests staying in the hotel on this evening, as well as those attending the traditional Scottish Ball and dinners arranged in our famous restaurants, I must say I am surprised with such feedback compared to the number of pleasant comments which I have personally received, since such a successful occasion for Edinburgh and the ‘Caley.
Furthermore, I would be disappointed if this was the reason for you never to return being such a unique evening. Therefore if you were to give us the opportunity to show you the level of luxury service that we provide on a daily basis, please feel free to contact me directly at chris.logan@waldorfastoria.com.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,000
    874
    428
    174
    78
See reviews for
754
1,739
105
394
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (831)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2014

The Caledonian Waldorf in Edinburgh is one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in around the world. We have just returned from a four night stay in a Deluxe King Room. The room was very large, nicely furnished with a huge sumptuous bed. On a previous visit to the Caledonian in 2012 we stayed in a Deluxe Queen Room which was slightly smaller but equally as nice and furnished in a similar fashion. The location of the hotel is excellent for shopping, and within easy walking distance to all the main attractions. The only negative point with this hotel is the lack of free WIFI, which is quite disappointing, especially considering the cost of staying here. The Caledonian would definitely be our hotel of choice once again on returning to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank 784janetj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear 784janetj,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. To hear that Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh – The Caledonian is one of the nicest hotels which you have stayed in means so much to me personally, and I shall express your opinions amongst the entire team. I have no doubt from your positive review that we will see you again at the ‘Caley’ again in the future.

Kind regards,
Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Our room was well decorated, great views and massive comfy bed.

Staff were helpful, location was ideal for everything including a bus to the airport (so don't waste money on a taxi) and we also ate in their Galvin restaurant which was great.

The pool and steam room etc were not relaxing as they were too bright and had more of a 'gym' feel than spa. However they did give you big towels! Just don't go expecting serenity! Too many kids screaming....all 3 times we used it.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AlysandRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear AlysandRich,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am thoroughly appreciative of your feedback, and pleasing to hear that you dined in our ever more popular Galvin Brasserie De Luxe restaurant. As it was Easter holidays, there were more children enjoying the leisure facilities than normal, and I am pleased that you are in agreement the large comfortable towels available. Furthermore, I do hope that we will have the opportunity to return to the ‘Caley’ again in the future.

Kind regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Just had a long weekend here, the service was faultless. We had a king junior suite what was superb, the only issue was there was no full length mirror; vital to any lady getting ready for a night out, you can compromise and check your outfit out in the lift on your way out though!

This hotel also in an excellent location, all members of staff were very polite and helpful, I would highly recommend this to anyone visiting Edinburgh

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Very friendly hotel. Staff were superb. Nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were very comfortable and very well furnished. Called bar was lovely, bar man (sadly cannot remember his name but recently arrived from Poland) was a little cherub. Concierge as expected knew everything we needed to know. Maps on hand with with things pointed out. Breakfast was great, little slow with the the coffee delivery but all in all a great place to stay. Not cheap but very very comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jostcjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear jostcjn,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. It appears that we have ticked many of the boxes for your luxury visit to Edinburgh. As I would expect, nothing was too much trouble for the staff, and this is extremely pleasing for me to hear. Moreover, I do hope that you will have the opportunity to return to the ‘Caley’ again in the future.

Kind regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

This is an historic hotel in an historic location - newly refurbished and brought up to the standard you would expect in a Waldorf Astoria hotel. This means there are luxurious touches and flourished in the decor and the furnishing - all set within this old, listed building.

We parked ourselves in the car park around the back of the hotel. Reception was very efficient and welcoming. We were upgraded to a suite (Room 160) and were impressed with the spacious bedroom and separate sitting room. The only disappointment was the shower over the bath rather than a separate shower which you often get in suites at this level of hotel - but that is just a personal preference.

Dinner at the Brasserie was very good - with particularly impressive and efficient service from the delightful waiter - and delicious authentic Brasserie good which we enjoyed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Matthew L,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. It is a pleasure for me to read such glowing comments on the hotel, and pleasing that we reach the expectations of a Waldorf Astoria hotel. Moreover, I shall certainly share your praise with our Galvin Brasserie De Luxe team, and hopefully you will choose to return to the ‘Caley’ again in the future.

Kind regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We have just left after spending a fabulous weekend in Edinburgh. The staff at this hotel are a credit to the company, they were all very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful from the concierge through to the cleaners. A special ' thanks ' goes to Maite, Jose and Butch ( the A team) at breakfast, and Johannes at dinner, they made our stay even more enjoyable. The hotel itself was beautifully clean and comfortable. We will definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Book a castle view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anji2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Anji2512,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear of your fabulous weekend in Edinburgh, and I agree that my team at the hotel are a credit to the company. Rest assured the members of staff mentioned shall get the relevant recognition, and I am delighted to hear that you will return to the ‘Caley’ again in the future.

Kind regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,812 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,835 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,836 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Property: Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Address: Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland (Formerly Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#18 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, or the "Caley" as it has become affectionately known among Edinburgh folk, was and still is the epitome of style and excellence. The large, rose-coloured Permian sandstone facade, quarried in Dumfries, dominates the skyline of the city's west end. The hotel has not only remained a focal point for more than one hundred years, but a symbol of the very best of Scottish hospitality. The Caley's pivotal position at the very heart of Edinburgh has always been its greatest asset. Created out of the 19th century railway boom, the five star hotel is looking to the future with confidence and pride in its ability to keep pace with the times. The hotel's reputation is as justified now as it was when the hotel first opened its doors in 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton International Edinburgh
Hilton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing