We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pristine excellent experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Ranked #55 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Montreal
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Pristine excellent experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Just back from an extended stay at this uber luxe property and I miss it already!

Our family settled in and were treated very well by the fine and professional staff. The hotel itself is something special - a cross between Downton Abbey meets 5th avenue co op, high style set in a historic building.

The location is great, right off the main drag, Princes street - with excellent access to the city whether by foot train or bus.

Rooms are spacious, and while mine didn't offer any drawers, there was a large closet for hanging. Ceilings are high but windows are drafty. Because the hotel sits on a corner and at the base of a 24 hour taxi stand flanking a bar and a resto, room noise can be a problem, but we encountered this only on Saturday nights around bar closing time...3am. Light sleepers beware and consider asking for a room which faces the back streets.

The downside of our room was the beds, which for this type of property were a disappointment. The mattresses were not very comfy and the springs on one of the beds had seen better days. High quality linens and overall cleanliness do make up for these thin mattresses however.

We enjoyed the restaurant for breakfasts at the Gauvin - highly suggest giving it a try. The selection and quality of food surpassed my expectations, and the staff- chefs and front of house are a fine and compelling bunch, great way to start a day in Edinburgh.

High end hotels are a dime a dozen, but at the Caledonian, you get the sense that the staff, from the housekeeping to the concierges, managers, front desk, and restaurant staff actually enjoy their work and take pride in it and their fine city. For me that a great hotel experience makes.

Room Tip: Back is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smithid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear smithid ,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh- The Caledonian. It is a pleasure to read your outstanding review! I am delighted to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, in particular the excellent service you received from all team members. I will be glad to share your kind review with the team!
We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the near future.
Kind Regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,899
    827
    398
    163
    70
See reviews for
705
1,643
98
378
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (800)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

In simple words this has to be the best place to stay in whole of Scotland , totally recommended. amazing ambiance , perfect service and in the heart of Edinburgh . Also close to everything and great value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
1 Thank Asser A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Asser A,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh- The Caledonian. I am extremely pleased to read you feel this is the best place to stay in Scotland! I am delighted you had an enjoyable time at ‘The Caley’ and found the location convenient to visit the attractions in Edinburgh!
We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the near future.
Kind Regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

A bit of a ale review but I have just found the time to update my reviews , we went here for a Christmas party weekend in Edinburgh, the hotel was stunning especially with being decorated with Xmas trees and polar bears etc. the hotel food was as expected and of a high standard, the room we were given was complimentary upgraded to a suite which was Enormous but slightly cold but we were in Edinburgh in December so it was very cold. The peacock alley cocktail bar was stunning and a lot of the original features of the building had been kept which was lovely.

Definately worth a stay of you get the chance
.

Room Tip: We had a room on the side of the building but we had a bus stop below our window so try to get it on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear G D,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh- The Caledonian. I am delighted to hear you had an excellent time at ‘The Caley’ for your Christmas Party weekend. I am pleased you found your complimentary upgrade comfortable and enjoyed Peacock Alley for cocktails!
We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the near future.
Kind Regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

This is not just an overnight hotel stay with the usual standard facilities. The Waldorf Astoria Caledonian is a special occasion in its own right.
Staff made us feel welcome and special before we arrived and that carried right through until we checked out. Several days before our arrival we received an email from Chris Logan. He introduced himself as 'Our Personal Concierge' offering to help us plan our stay. We requested some non-standard arrangements for our arrival. Sure enough, everything was laid on exactly as requested, with some special extras thrown in.
Sure, you can expect to pay more here than you would at a lesser hotel and we felt we had good value in return.
This is certainly a 'Grand' hotel. That's obvious from the moment you see it when approaching along Princes Street. Yet somehow it managed to combine classy with friendly as the doorman ushered us through the front door to the welcoming ministrations of the reception staff.
Beyond the lobby, Peacock Alley (See the photos on their website) is a comfortable spacious sitting area where pleasant coffee and fresh pastry smells greeted us in the morning.
We were very comfortable in our quiet first floor room; quality bed and furnishings, all the usual facilities, a good size spotlessly clean bathroom, plus heating controls that worked!
We wished that we had more time available to chill in the hotel. That would have involved more time in the spa where there's a great pool, sauna etc.,more time in the Caley bar soaking up the atmosphere and more time for the restaurant with its scrummy menu.
Trouble is, with the hotel situated in the heart of the city, we had a million other things to do as well.
Simple solution for that... we'll be back!

Room Tip: If you have a room preference, email the hotel in advance and say what you want. Like us, you may be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear franthecat,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh. I am delighted your stay at ‘The Caley’ certainly lived up to your expectations. I am pleased Chris Logan was able to offer assistance with planning your stay and welcomed you to the hotel! We hope on your return visit you are able to visit the Galvin restaurants and Guerlain Spa!
We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the very near future.

Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
472 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

We've stayed in many, many Hilton properties (Gold Card Members) and The Caledonian was one of the best experiences that we've ever had. The staff could not have been better, our room was beautiful and the building itself is so impressive. The management should be very proud of how this hotel presents itself.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichiganTess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear MichiganTess,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh. I am thrilled to read as loyal Hilton guests you very much enjoyed your stay at ‘The Caley’! The entire team certainly take pride in the luxury service they deliver to the highest standards as a Waldorf Astoria Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the very near future.

Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights over a weekend.
The good:
Friendly staff!
Most fluffy dressing gown I ever had in a hotel!
Comfortable bed.
Love the little coffee station on the room.
Nice design of the room and plenty of space in the bathroom to put down my stuff, which is something that really annoys me in other hotels if they have no shelfs etc. at all.
The not too good:
No bathtub.
We had a room with view to a dirty backyard, so if you want a room with a view ask them.
For the quality of the hotel I am surprised no-one cleans the backyard properly and maybe gives it a makeover with grass or plants you easily can put on little roofs. I have seen that in some other 5 star hotels where we stayed before, and it makes such a huge difference.
I had the feeling there was some kind of "new part" of the hotel which is not as glamourous as the original part. The hallway was very generic and the carpet changed once we reached the part of the hotel where we stayed.
We ordered roomservice. My husband had a burger. The burger was a bit soggi, the chips where ok, but the onion rings where also soggy. Not 100% sure but I think we paid £12 for the burger, so expected it a bit better than that.

But overall it was a very nice stay and i would definitley come again, and next time make some time to try out the spa.

One more comment maybe: I am not too sure about the trousers from the doormen, they look like pyjama pants...

Room Tip: If a view is important make sure you ask for it, there is a dirty backyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheep81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Sheep81,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, however disappointed to learn your room and view did not live up to your expectations. I will personally share your In Room Dining feedback with the team to ensure we constantly maintain a luxury service to all our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the very near future.

Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed one week and had two rooms. The staff everywhere, from the concierge to the restaurant, front desk, spa and housekeeping have been great. This hotel is situated in a great location on the west side of town, close to many great restaurants, shopping, and tour stops. Heated towel racks and warm fluffy bathrobes make for comfortable accommodations on blistery, cold days. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the castle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennys-a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Jennys- a,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh. I am extremely pleased to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and found every staff member attentive and friendly. The hotel is situated in a very convenient location for good restaurants and attractions. I am glad you were able to relax in the luxurious bathrobes and a comfortable bedroom.
We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the very near future.

Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,628 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#23 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#87 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Property: Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Address: Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland (Formerly Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#8 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#18 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, or the "Caley" as it has become affectionately known among Edinburgh folk, was and still is the epitome of style and excellence. The large, rose-coloured Permian sandstone facade, quarried in Dumfries, dominates the skyline of the city's west end. The hotel has not only remained a focal point for more than one hundred years, but a symbol of the very best of Scottish hospitality. The Caley's pivotal position at the very heart of Edinburgh has always been its greatest asset. Created out of the 19th century railway boom, the five star hotel is looking to the future with confidence and pride in its ability to keep pace with the times. The hotel's reputation is as justified now as it was when the hotel first opened its doors in 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton International Edinburgh
Hilton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing