We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Even better than expected” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Ranked #54 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Even better than expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

I stayed at the Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian recently for one night when on business. As part of the Hilton (extended) group I was able to get all the benefits of being a HHonors Gold Member. The booking, check in and out were really professional. I was upgraded to a suite looking out over the park and castle which was so impressive I ordered continental breakfast in my room the following morning to make the most of the view.

The public rooms are lovely and I can recommend the Brassiere for a slightly less formal dining experience. For the heart of Edinburgh it was all surprisingly good value for money and so conveniently located. I will look no further in future and be back to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcmjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear mcmjones,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. As mentioned, it certainly a great benefit being a member of our wonderful Hhonors scheme, and I please to hear that you were able to take advantage of it on your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh – The Caledonian.

Moreover, I do hope that you will have the opportunity to return to the ‘Caley’ again in the future.

Kind regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,860
    819
    386
    160
    69
See reviews for
688
1,607
96
375
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (792)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

I go to Edinburgh often and have stayed in a few hotels whilst there, none of which have ever been disappointing, many are very, very good. So standards are high in this city and the competition intense.
The Caly however is the one that hits all the sweet spots for me. It's a large hotel but somehow never feels impersonal as the staff are always friendly and helpful. The rooms overlooking the castle are fabulous and substantial in size. Would always stay here out of choice if I could.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Acrobatic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Acrobatic1,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear of your wonderful experience, and even more so to read your positive comments on our wonderful friendly and helpful staff, whom without we would not be able to keep such high standards.

Moreover, I do hope that you will have the opportunity to return to the ‘Caley’ again in the future.

Kind regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

We recently stayed here for a work event and it was as expected for a grand hotel in the center of Edinburgh. Its location is first class, right opposite the castle, although the entrance is small and we missed it initially. The car park isn't big enough for the hotel, so you are instructed to use the NCP nearby, which is free for hotel guests.
We had a few drinks in the afternoon in the hotel lounge - main issue is the service was slow! We sat there for nearly an hour before realising we were still sitting there without a drink and no one had actually come over to our table to ask if we wanted to order, despite staff wandering around and attending to other tables! (just to mention we were catching up and deciding on whether we wanted to go for a wander or stay for drinks hence sitting there for such a long time!)
The rooms are lovely, and very well equipped. The beautifully soft bath robes were awesome! Typically the mini bar charges for soft drinks (inc water), snacks and the filter coffee capsules where on the high side.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tuckers77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear tuckers77,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. It was an honour to have a large group from your workplace staying with us during your time in Edinburgh, and I am pleased that the overall event was a success by the feedback we have received throughout. On the other hand, I shall certainly share your comments on the speed of service in the bar with our food & beverage manager, who embraces all observations both positive and negative. Furthermore, I must also stress that our Nespresso coffee capsules are indeed complimentary on our rooms for future reference, and I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the ‘Caley’ again in the future.

Kind regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

A stunning hotel just across from Edinburgh castle which is lit up at night and looks wonderful. We had a lovely room looking out on the castle. the hotel has good restuarants and bar and a really nice lounge where you can get afternoon tea, it feels like the outside of a grand train station. we went for Valentines and had a lovely meal in the pompadour restaurant, a bit pricey but special occasion. the next night we had our meal in a pub across the road ! there are grand staircases and a very nice spa although we didn't use it . I would definitely go back

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JACYLONDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear JACYLONDON,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that we were able to assist in making your valentines celebration such a special occasion. There is no better restaurant in which to dine on such a romantic evening that the Pompadour by Galvin, and I shall certainly share your feedback with the team members.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the ‘Caley’ again in the future.

Kind regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Thank you to all the staff at the Caledonian. :) My boyfriend and I traveled from Dublin to Edinburgh to celebrate our five year anniversary and had a ball. I don't usually write reviews but we just loved our stay. Thanks again, and cheers for the umbrella, we were just going out to buy one and was lovely to be handed one by the staff. <3

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Leanne H,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to meet with you and your boyfriend, and I am delighted to hear that the umbrella came in useful!!
Hopefully you will be able to return to the ‘Caley’ again in the future, however this time, please bring the sunshine.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

The Caledonian embraced my daughter and me from our arrival until we left, making us feel as though we were guests at a great country house for our short stay. The food, service, rooms and amenities were all excellent and we would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

A beautiful hotel in an excellent location right at one end of Princes Street. The public areas are elegant and immaculate, as is the service and food. Couldn't fault anything other than the room we were given which was very small, more like a single room and barely adequate for a two night stay. However, it was still beautifully furnished and serviced but would probably ask to be moved next time. Would not hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: Some appear to be more suited to single guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tiggy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Tiggy27,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh- The Caledonian. I am delighted to hear you very much enjoyed your stay at ‘The Caley’ and you found the amenities and location to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#87 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Property: Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Address: Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland (Formerly Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#9 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#18 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#31 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, or the "Caley" as it has become affectionately known among Edinburgh folk, was and still is the epitome of style and excellence. The large, rose-coloured Permian sandstone facade, quarried in Dumfries, dominates the skyline of the city's west end. The hotel has not only remained a focal point for more than one hundred years, but a symbol of the very best of Scottish hospitality. The Caley's pivotal position at the very heart of Edinburgh has always been its greatest asset. Created out of the 19th century railway boom, the five star hotel is looking to the future with confidence and pride in its ability to keep pace with the times. The hotel's reputation is as justified now as it was when the hotel first opened its doors in 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton International Edinburgh
Hilton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing