We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Ranked #56 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 17, 2014

The hotel is beautiful and in a great location to see the city. Room service food is good and of a reasonable price - size of the rooms is quite variable (but a bigger room seemed to have a poorer quality shower, and none of the rooms were exactly small!). The staff were friendly and clearly recognised the regulars at the hotel. Would definitely return

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Kirsty T,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to learn of your wonderful experience on your visit to Edinburgh. Due to the shape and age of the building, you are correct in stating our bedrooms are of variable size, which I believe adds to the character of the building. We also pride ourselves on recognising and appreciating our valuable regular guests within the hotel, thus creating the personalised service that we aim for. I have no doubt that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the ‘Caley’ again in the future.

Kind regards,

Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,688)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,727 - 2,733 of 3,688 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2014

I have stayed at the Caledonian a number of times, and when I think of my favourite place to be I always remember the Caledonian. It has a timeless elegance that is purely majestic, especially with the beautiful castle as its backdrop. The rooms are elegant, the breakfasts are quintessentially Scottish, and the staff look like there were taken straight off of a 19th century street. I love everything about this hotel. Make sure you get a room with a view of the castle at night. It is worth the upgraded price.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the castle. It really is worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Lisa K,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to learn of your wonderful experience on your visit to Edinburgh. I am honoured to read such a complimentary review about the hotel, and such positive comments make all of our hard work worthwhile. I am particularly pleased by your feedback on the staff who assisted in looking after you. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the ‘Caley’ again in the future.

Kind regards,

Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Very good value if booked as part of a flights/hotel package. Excellent breakfast included. Would have been nice to have free wifi in room. It was available in dinign room but had to ask for password.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Barbara B,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear that you have departed feeling overall satisfied, and hope to be able to welcome you back to the ‘Caley’ again in the future.

Kind regards,

Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We have visited this hotel twice, both times as a last minute get away. The location is great, the staff helpful. The leasure club and pool are good. We have eaten an evening meal and breakfast at the hotel and both have been excellent. A visit is an event to remember, a treat and overall well worth the money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonSophieEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear LondonSophieEC,,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. As always, I appreciate the kind feedback provided, especially with regards to the helpfulness of the staff. Moreover, I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the ‘Caley’ again in the future.

Kind regards,

Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

A spent a truly great weekend staying at this brilliant hotel. The location at the end of Princess street is perfect for viewing the city on foot. The hotel is warm and the staff extremely friendly. Dinner at the Galvin Brasserie was excellent. Great food in a lovely venue and again high quality happy staff. This really is a hotel that deserves to be visited.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear john w,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear of your wonderful experience with us, and you have mentioned many positive attributes of the hotel, including the location. I am also pleased that you were able to sample our wonderful Galvin Brasserie De Luxe Restaurant, and I shall share certainly share your feedback with the relevant team members. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to the ‘Caley’ again in the future.

Kind regards,
Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This was a great hotel to visit - the staff were excellent the in-house dining facilities were excellent and plenty of great restaurants nearby. Had a great time here and the views facing the out to the castle are excellent. Cannot recommend highly enough.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing out towards castle the views are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear G O,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am extremely grateful for your recommendation, and very pleased to hear that we were able to provide you a wonderful view of the castle, certainly a reason to visit Edinburgh alone! I look forward to welcoming you back to the ‘Caley’ again in the future.

Kind regards,

Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Central and swish. The 'Caley' puts you in the heart of Edinburgh with pleasant public spaces, a good bar and choice of restaurants. The Spa is also very well done, if a bit tucked away. Room service breakfast actually managed the feat of warm toast - hurrah! Staff are friendly and eager to please

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank trufflehound81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear trufflehound81,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to see that you were able to take full advantage of our many facilities within the hotel throughout the duration of your stay, including the newly refurbished Guerlain Spa. I shall also pass on your praise to our In-Room Dining team, as well as our friendly team members, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the ‘Caley’ again in the future.

Kind regards,

Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,890 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,893 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Address: Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland (Formerly Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#18 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $205 - $666 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, or the "Caley" as it has become affectionately known among Edinburgh folk, was and still is the epitome of style and excellence. The large, rose-coloured Permian sandstone facade, quarried in Dumfries, dominates the skyline of the city's west end. The hotel has not only remained a focal point for more than one hundred years, but a symbol of the very best of Scottish hospitality. The Caley's pivotal position at the very heart of Edinburgh has always been its greatest asset. Created out of the 19th century railway boom, the five star hotel is looking to the future with confidence and pride in its ability to keep pace with the times. The hotel's reputation is as justified now as it was when the hotel first opened its doors in 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton International Edinburgh
Hilton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing