We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good choice for a City break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Ranked #54 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A good choice for a City break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Central and swish. The 'Caley' puts you in the heart of Edinburgh with pleasant public spaces, a good bar and choice of restaurants. The Spa is also very well done, if a bit tucked away. Room service breakfast actually managed the feat of warm toast - hurrah! Staff are friendly and eager to please

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank trufflehound81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear trufflehound81,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to see that you were able to take full advantage of our many facilities within the hotel throughout the duration of your stay, including the newly refurbished Guerlain Spa. I shall also pass on your praise to our In-Room Dining team, as well as our friendly team members, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the ‘Caley’ again in the future.

Kind regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,860
    819
    386
    160
    69
See reviews for
688
1,607
96
375
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (792)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Thank you at all for my holiday in this luxury hotel, thank you very much at Giuseppe Lauro housekeeper!! You are the Best !! Thanks a lot for making me relax and rest very well!! Keep it up and i will certainly be back as soon as possible!!!!!!!!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Severouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Severouk,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear of your wonderful visit, and I thank you for choosing to stay at the Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel to stay at on your holiday.
Moreover, I shall pass on your regards to Giuseppe Lauro, who assisted in making your stay so special, and I look forward to you returning to the ‘Caley’ again in the future.

Kind regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

The refurb of this hotel has been successful and it is eye catching. I was there for 5 days over New Year in a suite with a view of Edinburgh castle. It felt more like a corporate business hotel than a famous 5 star Scottish Institution. It was impersonal, bland and the service was unable to think beyond the corporate line. An example is I like a tea pot. Each day, I ordered a teapot from room service and the next day, the maid service took it away, meaning I had to re-order every single time. You get 2 tea bags in the hospitality tray. I asked for more but it never happened, I went out to the shop and bought some, but the maid service also took them away. I think the hotel has a strict policy of how each room should be serviced and the staff are unable to see beyond this and see the human beings who are staying with them and their individual requirements. Finally, the breakfast was excellent but I was up early and avoided the queue. I was very shocked to see a huge queue building up as I left. Again, there is a corporate formula even at breakfast, woe betide you if you enjoy orange juice, it is very much rationed, not part of the buffet and only poured by staff on request. The staff can't see beyond that. It was a very disappointing visit. I miss the old Caley.

Room Tip: The suites are beautiful, but a little chilly. keep the curtains closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmhzx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Jmhzx,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. Although overall it would appear that you had a satisfactory stay, it disappoints me to read you felt that the service received was impersonal. I must admit that this is not the feedback I am accustom to hearing, as I try to encourage our team members to treat our guests as individuals, and personalise the service when possible. However, I shall certainly take your comments on board, and share your thoughts accordingly.
Furthermore, I do hope that these impressions do not deter you from returning to the hotel, as I would like to see you returning to the ‘Caley’ again in the future.

Kind regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

A hotel where you feel really looked after. Very attentive member of staff in charge of breakfast who really looked after you. Very good reception and concierge staff. A luxurious feel to this hotel and very handily located.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Jonathan K,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear of your wonderful experience with us, and especially pleased with the ‘luxurious feel’ that was portrayed throughout.

Furthermore, I do hope that you will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the ‘Caley’ again in the future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

The Caledonian has class! From the reception, to the restaurant to the concierge we received high quality service. The food both at breakfast and dinner was excellent, good choice and well presented (although expensive but for a 5 star what else can you expect!) Wine list was extensive, varied but pricey. Rooms are gorgeous, large and well appointed. Location superb and everything was within comfortable walking distance. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HVD_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear HVD_12,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. By all accounts, it does appear that you were more than satisfied with your experience, including the location and service received throughout the hotel.

I do hope that you will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the ‘Caley’ again in the future.

Kind regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

I only stayed one night here but I would highly recommend it.
The hotel is conveniently located for the shops in Princes Street, the pubs along and around Rose Street and it is situated right next to Princes Street Gardens.
There are doormen at the door to welcome you into this old, but very characteristic old railway hotel.
Internally it is opulent with old charm but also a good mix of shiny new-looking docor. The hotel seems quite large inside but reatins its charm. It is extremely well furnished with contemporary decor throughout.
It is immaculately clean throughout.
The room was large and spacious.
The food was superb and there is lots of choice, including, as you would expect, lots of local produce for you to savour and enjoy.
This hotel would be ideal for business, tourist or romantic couples alike. There are so many tourist-related sites on the doorstep of the hotel with some fine views looking up at the castle.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eebz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Eebz1,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you would ‘highly recommend’ the Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria after encountering the positivity's mentioned. I agree that location is very conveniently located, and pleased that you are in favour of the recent refurbishment works that we have underwent. Moreover, I am particularly thrilled that you were able to enjoy the delights served in our food & beverage outlets. I have no doubt that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the ‘Caley’ again in the future.

Kind regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

I was really impressed with the Caledonian Hotel in Edinburgh. Whilst previous reviews were quite good, I found my experience to be marvellous! Firstly, the service which is always important no matter how good the property, was impressive. The staff from Concierge to front desk to room service were all extremely obliging and professional. They bent over backwards to make sure you enjoyed your stay. Secondly, the location is second to none. One can walk everywhere yet unlike the other two main luxury Hotels, the Caledonian is very quiet. It sits right at the bottom of Edinburgh Castle so has beautiful views. The restaurants too were very good, especially the Brasserie where the food was of high quality. One wouldn't think the restaurant was part of a Hotel. Lastly the rooms were nicely decorated, comfortable and quiet. Overall this is a very nice Hotel and one gets a feel that they are in Scotland with the decor which is a nice plus!

Room Tip: The Queen Room is definitely the one to book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Caroline R,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am honoured to read such a glowing report on your experience, and you have highlighted many of the strong attributes of the hotel, including the wonderful service received, and the quality of food served in our Galvin Brasserie De Luxe. Rest assured, I shall certainly thank all of our team members personally, and I hope to be able to welcome you back to the ‘Caley’ again in the future.

Kind regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#87 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Property: Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Address: Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland (Formerly Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#9 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#18 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#31 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, or the "Caley" as it has become affectionately known among Edinburgh folk, was and still is the epitome of style and excellence. The large, rose-coloured Permian sandstone facade, quarried in Dumfries, dominates the skyline of the city's west end. The hotel has not only remained a focal point for more than one hundred years, but a symbol of the very best of Scottish hospitality. The Caley's pivotal position at the very heart of Edinburgh has always been its greatest asset. Created out of the 19th century railway boom, the five star hotel is looking to the future with confidence and pride in its ability to keep pace with the times. The hotel's reputation is as justified now as it was when the hotel first opened its doors in 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton International Edinburgh
Hilton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing