We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Ranked #58 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Had a great stay here with friends between Xmas & new year. My friends were over from the US and were really impressed. I haven't been in here for years but refurb that has taken place is really impressive, the character of the old building remains but with a classy update! Got checked in really quickly and up to,our rooms no problems at all. We had our rooms upgraded which was fab and we ended up in two gorgeous rooms which overlooked the castle, Princes Street and the gardens, stunning at night and gorgeous during the day!

We didn't eat in the hotel in the evening but had some drinks on returning, we were very disappointed with the bar service in Peacock Alley, it took ages to be served then forever to bring our drinks over, which when they arrived were not good and had to be returned, again took ages, not the level of service I guess a Waldorf would aspire to......

Breakfast was lovely the next day and plenty of choice of healthy options or the full cooked breakfast. Couldn't see any gluten free options available at all on any of the buffet, which was a shame.

All in all, we had a great wee stay here and will definitely be back, hoping we just caught the bar on an off night.....

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank eliza k s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Eliza k s,


Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. I am glad you very much enjoyed your overall stay with us, in particular your complimentary upgraded rooms with view of the magnificent Edinburgh Castle! I am delighted you were impressed with the recent major refurbishment and appreciate the building’s historic character. Please accept my apologises for the disappointing service you received in Peacock Alley ,I will share your comments with our Peacock Alley Manager as this is certainly not the service we aim to provide to our guests as a Waldorf Astoria Hotel . I am pleased you enjoyed your breakfast the following day; gluten free items are available on request, should this have been brought to our attention the breakfast waiters would have been more than happy to provide this for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the near future.


Kind Regards,

Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,869)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,914 - 2,920 of 3,869 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

A fantastic hotel, in a fabulous location. The location of the Caledonian couldn’t really be better, at the end of Princes Street overlooking the Castle.

The service at the hotel is fantastic, in all areas, from the moment you arrive you feel that you are in a 5 star hotel, and the staff genuinely want your stay to be great. As I say the service in all areas of the hotel was fab, but special mention must go to the waiters at breakfast. I don’t think I’ve ever experienced such good service anywhere.

We got a good deal with the hotel, booking and paying in advance, so we got good value. It is an expensive hotel, but you get what you pay for.

The room we had was fantastic, we were very kindly upgraded to a room with a view, and what a view, quite stunning views of the castle and Princess Street, that does mean that you are next to Lothian Road though which can be quite noisy. That said it didn’t really affect the quality of our sleep, and the view was worth any small disruption. The rooms themselves are very spacious and well equipped, and spotlessly clean.

We didn’t use the spa but did use the gym, which was well equipped.

The hotel is fantastic and is in a fabulous location, the star of the show though was the breakfast. The quality of the food was very good, best poached eggs I’ve had, but the service was incredible. We had a fantastic weekend and would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quality hotel in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a view, they cost more, but it will be worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Lee C,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. It is a pleasure to read your excellent review with regards to your recent stay at ‘The Caley’! I am delighted to hear your positive thoughts on the luxury five star service provided by our staff members throughout your stay. I will personally share your special mention with our breakfast team; I am extremely pleased you received excellent service. I hope on your next visit to ‘The Caley’ you will be able to experience our award winning Guerlain Spa!

We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Initially, after reading reviews about this hotel I was worried. I stayed with 3 friends and our experience was excellent. I'd emailed the night before about our early arrival, our rooms were ready at 1230 and adjacent. All staff were most polite and friendly. Rooms fab! Shower amazing.. Breakfast was excellent, catered for all needs. We loved it so much, booking for a return trip. Thank you

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bexkymusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear bexkymusic,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. I am delighted to read you had an excellent stay with us and we exceeded your expectations by preparing your rooms for your early arrival! I will personally share your positive comments regarding our friendly and attentive staff with the team. I am extremely pleased you are planning a second trip to Edinburgh!

We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ on your next trip!

Kind Regards,

Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Great venue for the Castle etc but the very small rooms let it down. When we first arrive our room was baltic and the heating was not working but they moved us very quickly to a room with the views of generators and fire escapes. The staff were outstanding and for that alone I would give an extremely good review but for the price you pay for this hotel it is really nothing special. Way overpriced. I have however given it a four star because of location and the staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cubaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Cubaqueen,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us overall and found the hotel in a great location to visit the castle. I am extremely sorry you were not satisfied with your room allocation and found it slightly smaller than you would expect. Due to the age of the hotel many of our rooms are larger than you would expect for a city centre hotel, however many of our room types vary in size. I am extremely pleased you were impressed with the service and friendliness of the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Pleasant, attentive staff we went just before Christmas so very busy with Xmas outings etc o bit hectic in restaurant but only to be expected i suppose Food was good.But small portions, Room was very spacious and very clean good standard of furniture and decor Very close to Waverley Station.All in all very good. Only gave an average rating for breakfast and spa as never got to try either

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Alex48,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. I am delighted you very much enjoyed your pre Christmas visit to ‘The Caley’. I am pleased you found the hotel in a convenient location to the train station. I hope you have the opportunity of using our spa and breakfast facilities on your next visit to Edinburgh!

We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the near future.


Kind Regards,

Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

A well-appointed hotel. Very large and comfortable rooms, great food, and extremely attentive and friendly staff. The location is right in the heart of things and the views are great. I was served possibly the best burger I've ever had, and that is saying a lot. To be thousands of miles from home on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day, this was a great place to spend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Dear Tracy J,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. I am delighted to hear you very much enjoyed your Christmas celebrations at ‘The Caley’. I am pleased the staff provided attentive and friendly service during the festive period, and you experienced the best burger you have ever had!

We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I got the impression that this was once a great hotel and maybe had potential to be great again but that it is now past it's prime. I am aware that it had a recent overhaul but maybe it's not just about physical appearance. Staff were pleasant but uninterested, particularly in the restaurant and appeared to be simply going through the motions. The whole place lacks a certain "buzz" which is a pity as aesthetically it is a beautiful building. By contrast, we had lunch in the Brasserie in the Balmoral on Monday and which blew us away, such was the standard of food and the wonderfully warm and genuine service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brid392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Dear Brid392,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. I am sorry to hear you were not impressed with the recent refurbishment or the service provided. Many of our guests comment on our staff members providing friendly and attentive luxury service, so I am surprised to hear the staff members in the restaurant seemed uninterested. I will share your comments with our restaurant manager.

I hope we are able to welcome you back to 'The Caley' in the near future.

Regards,

Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,008 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#19 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,976 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Address: Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland (Formerly Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $141 - $667 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, or the "Caley" as it has become affectionately known among Edinburgh folk, was and still is the epitome of style and excellence. The large, rose-coloured Permian sandstone facade, quarried in Dumfries, dominates the skyline of the city's west end. The hotel has not only remained a focal point for more than one hundred years, but a symbol of the very best of Scottish hospitality. The Caley's pivotal position at the very heart of Edinburgh has always been its greatest asset. Created out of the 19th century railway boom, the five star hotel is looking to the future with confidence and pride in its ability to keep pace with the times. The hotel's reputation is as justified now as it was when the hotel first opened its doors in 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton International Edinburgh
Hilton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing