We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Nearby Hotels
$166
$136
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$860
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$165
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$236
$230
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$170
$124
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Old Town Chambers(Edinburgh)
$234
$187
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$139
$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$249
$194
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Travelodge Edinburgh Central(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$82
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (4,017)
Filter reviews
4,017 results
Traveler rating
2,263
976
482
199
97
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,263
976
482
199
97
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspeacock alleycaley bargalvin brasserieguerlain spacastle viewbeautiful hotelend of princes streetfive star hotelturn down servicenespresso machinean upgradebirthday treatbeautiful roomhaggisroyal mileconciergedoorman
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,324 - 3,329 of 4,017 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2013

A beautiful, elegant, stunning building with fantastic staff and smelt wonderful! Rooms in the 'new' building were on the small side, but this was quickly forgotten because the bed was so fantastic! The view of the car park was less than desirable, but the room was quiet and led to a wonderful few nights sleep. Staff in the breakfast room were marvellous, I had porridge one morning and poached egs the next, both cooked to perfection, the hot plate chef had witty banter and remembered the childrens names which was a great touch! I would happily stay again when next in town, but may request a room with a view!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Blanaid O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Blanaid O,

Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review following your recent stay at The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. I am delighted you very much enjoyed your stay, in particular your quiet bedroom and comfortable bed. Due to the structure of the building the majority of our bedrooms are very large for a city centre hotel. It is unfortunate that on this occasion you found your bedroom to be slightly on the small side. It is fantastic to hear our breakfast chef and staff delivered a friendly personalised service, this is certainly what we are proud of as a Waldorf Astoria Hotel.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to 'The Caley' on your next visit to Edinburgh!

Kind regards,

Chris Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Having visited the Waldorf in New York and The Balmoral in Edinburgh, I can confidently say that the Caledonian is much better than its New York counterpart and is on par with the latter.

Stayed at the Caledonian in order to visit the Edinburgh Fringe Festival at the beginning of August. Upon arrival, my Diamond hilton honours status was recognised and was given a very nice room overlooking the Castle. The room was clean and comfortable with the standard of bedding and toiletries of a high standard. The room had tea and coffee making facilities with a Nespresso machine on hand for that decent cup of coffee.

As with all Edinburgh City hotels, especially at Festival time, street noise is somewhat of an occupational hazard and is what I have come to expect when visiting the City at this time of the year. In addition, the Hotel remains under siege from the works to complete the City Tram Network - something that seems to have been going on for ages.

I had an evening meal in the Brasserie (which doubles up for the breakfast service) and can report that the meal was first class and the Apricot Souffle worthy of mention. Given this was a hotel restaurant, it was good value.

Throughout my stay, all the staff i encountered were friendly, helpful and welcoming - something that was lacking when I visited the New Your Waldorf.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buns4vs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Buns4vs,

Thank you for taking the time to post a very positive review following your recent stay at The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. Firstly, I am delighted to hear you had a brilliant stay with us and you feel that we are on par, if not better than the Waldorf Astoria New York and The Balmoral. I am very glad that as a valued Diamond HHonors member we were able to upgrade you with a fantastic castle view, allowing you to enjoy the relaxing and comfortable room. It is disappointing to hear that the street noise disturbed your stay at the hotel, although as you have stated the city is constantly busy during the festival season and of course with the ongoing tram works! I am very pleased to hear you thought the meal was first class in The Brasserie, one of our two Galvin restaurants at the hotel. At The Caledonian we of course, pride ourselves on following the high standards and delivering a personalised service to all, I am happy to hear you experienced this!

We look forward to welcoming you to 'The Caley' in the near future!

Kind regards,

Chris Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at The Caledonian for one night whilst seeing friends and checking out the Festival Fringe. Got a half price 'mystery hotel' deal on Lastminute.com - still expensive but certainly wouldn't have paid the full going rate - about £300 p/n. This is a very luxurious hotel and the bedrooms are well appointed, although the standard rooms are on the small side. Spa is nice but nothing special. Had room service breakfast - very nice and the best value option at £15. Staff friendly and attentive. Would definitely return if another deal came up.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank organboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Organboy,

Thank you for taking the time to post a recent review following your stay at The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to make the most of the facilities the hotel has to offer. Due to the structure and age of the building the majority of the hotel’s bedrooms are larger than most would expect from a city centre hotel, so it is very unfortunate to hear you comments regarding your room size however of course, we value our entire guest’s feedback. I am delighted to hear of the positive impression you have from the staff members here at The Caledonian. We pride ourselves on delivering an exceptional and personal service to our guests. I find it unusual to hear that our award winning spa is “nothing special”; it is the only Guerlain Spa in the U.K. and continues to be highly popular with our hotel guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to 'The Caley' on your future visit to Edinburgh!

Kind regards,

Chris Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed in the Caledonian on our trip around Scotland. The hotel is well located on Princess Street with a perfect view on Edinburgh Castle. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel offers parking facility. The hotel is perfectly located to explore the old town of Edinburgh as well as the new part of the city. After a long day of sightseeing we relaxed in the hotel pool. Unfortunately the air conditioning didn't work very well the night we stayed, so that it was quite warm in our room.

Room Tip: We had a room on the forth floor with view on the castle.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Stefan K,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at The Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you found the hotel centrally located to the castle and other local city attractions. I am sorry to learn your air conditioning was not fully functioning; I will certainly pass this information on to the relevant teams to ensure this does not occur in the future, as this is certainly not the standard which we aim to provide.

We look forward to welcoming you back to 'The Caley' in the future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

A great hotel room. A great location in the heart of Edinburgh. Don't know how long it has been run by Hilton, but the hotel was unable to assist when I needed a painkiller in the middle of the night. I had to go to the night porter at an adjacent hotel. No emery boards in the vanity kit. No big deal but the place seemed a bit disorganised generally

Room Tip: you need to ask about views - otherwise you will probably get a room looking onto the internal courtyard
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vamp1r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear Vamp1r,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. The hotel became a Waldorf Astoria in September of last year as a part of a multi-million pound refurbishment, and previously run as a Hilton for over 10 years. Throughout the duration of this period, our team members have never been permitted to distribute any painkillers to our guests due to health & safety procedures. We cannot control who is allergic to certain medication, therefore we would always advise our guests to visit our local pharmacy which is located 200 yards from the hotel.

I am sure that you and all of our guests appreciate this, and I am pleased to see that you appear to have enjoyed your stay otherwise. Moreover, I do hope that you choose to stay at the 'Caley' again in the future, should you return to Edinburgh.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews