We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Ranked #52 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Recently visited there for afternoon tea in the company of my wife, her mother who was celebrating her eightieth birthday and an elderly aunt. On arrival the doorman on duty was very kind, helpful and attentive to my elderly guests and assisted with parking my car near to the doorway before personally escorting my relatives inside..
The afternoon tea was plentiful and delicious and the service by all staff was of the highest standard. None could have been more helpful or friendly. our table had birthday decorations on same and staff produced a small cake with a candle which delighted my mother in law.
The surroundings and indeed the whole experience was absolutely first class and in my opinion the staff concerned are the best I have experienced in any hotel visit I have made.
I would recommend the afternoon tea at this hotel to anyone and found this excellent value
I did not stay at the premises but will be doing so in the near future after this visit

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank croftheadbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your Afternoon Tea experience with us. I appreciate your wonderful feedback, and I am delighted that we were able to assist in enhancing your birthday celebrations.

Furthermore, I do hope that you return to Peacock Alley in the near future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,972
    859
    417
    170
    75
See reviews for
739
1,713
103
390
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (823)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We have just returned from The Caledonian following a 2 night stay to celebrate a 40th birthday with family. As a Hilton Gold Card holder, I was upgraded twice to a Junior Suite which was beautiful - the in-laws were also upgraded to the same grade of room which was an unexpected bonus.
On the first night (Friday) we ate at The Pompadour which was superb, although it could have done with a few more patrons to increase the atmosphere. The food and service was first class. I understand that it was fully booked on the Saturday night so I am sure that there would have been more of a buzz.
On the second night, we ate in the Galvin Brasserie. Again, a very good experience. The restaurant was busy (looked fully booked) but the service was friendly and efficient. They even brought out a birthday cake for a rousing rendition of "Happy Birthday to You" - to the suitable embarrassment of the recipient.
Small niggles - we were woken before7 on our first morning by a pre-set alarm on the TV (I assume by the room's previous occupant). My brother-in -law and his wife were woken by the alarm clock in theirs. Perhaps housekeeping could turn off all alarms upon check-out?
Also, we were unable to get a table for 7 of us at breakfast despite our eating as a group in the various restaurants for the rest of the weekend. It wasn't a big deal though.
Lastly, the pool area is pretty uninspiring - no real design or decoration, just a blank, white room. It could do with some imaginative tinkering to make it look a little more inviting and less like the local council leisure centre.
All in all, a very enjoyable stay in a beautifully refurbished hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TedLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. Overall, a very satisfying stay has been had, including your dining experience in our Pompadour by Galvin restaurant. I also appreciate your feedback with regards to the decor of the bedroom, although we are aiming for the clean, white, crisp furnishings, I shall certainly pass your comments on to our General Manager.

Moreover, I do hope that you will be able to return to the 'Caley' in the near future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights and I absolutely loved it! We had a deluxe king room. Large bathroom, a lot of space and a great walk-in closet. The bed was very comfy. Great location, directly on Princes street, in front of the gardens, park and the Edinburgh Castle. The service was very good, they even checked-in with me a week before my stay, just to know if I had any special requests. Smooth check-in + check-out, very friendly. Special thanks to Kelly Lei who helped us make reservations and recommended The Pompadour (try this restaurant if you have the chance). The concierge was also very nice. We went to the Caley bar twice and the drinks were good. Perfect to relax after dinner. Only little downfall: no turndown service + no complementary water bottles at night. It is not that big of a deal, but still the kind of things you do expect from a 5 stars hotel. Tried other Waldorf Astorias and they do it. But overall, very good hotel and it will be my first choice when I visit Edinburgh again! Thanks for the great weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mc_1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your 3 nights with us, and the service appears to have exceeded your expectations. I would also like to ensure you that I have shared your comments with regards to the turndown service with our Executive Housekeeper as it is only through your constructive feedback that we are able to improve on the service we provide for our guests.

Moreover, I do hope that you are able to return to the 'Caley' again in the future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Did not actually stay in hotel, so can only comment on Afternoon Tea, which we enjoyed after shopping on a Saturday afternoon. Upon arrival we could not be accommodated as there were no available tables. However we left the hotel, shopped a little longer and returned one hour later (as arranged) for afternoon tea. The service was excellent, ambiance in the room, although busy was very nice. The quality of freshly made sandwiches, home made scones and cakes were delicious and the choices of tea (which was fresh leaf tea) was very good. There were so many cakes that we were unable to eat them all and we noticed that others like ourselves had requested cake boxes to take home the left over cakes - the staff were more than happy to do this for us. A lovely treat and can't wait to return another occassion.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrchidScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your afternoon tea experience with us. I am delighted to hear that we were able to accommodate you on what was certainly an extremely busy Saturday in Peacock Alley. I am happy to hear that the ambience was to your satisfaction, and hopefully you will return to the 'Caley' again to relax in and enjoy our facilities.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This sumptuous luxury hotel has recently been refurbished making it an ideal place for a city break in Scotland's capital city. The rooms are huge, and there is a variety of styles (we had three!), but all display impeccable sophisticated taste in their decor, and some have wonderful art. The building oozes history, and sits almost beneath the castle, so all locations are easily reached, but there is no problem from road. noise. The beds are sumptuous, and the staff are incredibly efficient and friendly. I could not recommend this place more highly. Probably the best hotel I've ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Rooms with a castle view are the most atmospheric.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaddyBurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I cannot thank you enough for your wonderful comments, and to be described as a 'sumptuous luxury hotel' is certainly a compliment of the highest order!

I have no doubt that we will be welcoming you back to the 'Caley' again in the future!

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Do not consider any other hotel to stay whilst in Edinburgh, the rooms, the amenities and especially the staff are great, nothing too much trouble, just returned from celebrating my birthday with a couple of friends and the attention to detail was second to none, special thanks to Chris,I have stayed previously and never been disappointed, will be returning hopefully very soon .

Room Tip: Worth asking for a room with a view of the castle, beautiful to wake up to .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathykiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to meet you all, and I am delighted that we were able to assist in making your birthday celebration such a special occasion!

I hope that your journey back to Preston went well, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the 'Caley' again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northeast
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

A recent 2 night stay for a birthday treat left me feeling somewhat let down. Despite pre booking an upgrade if available on arrival, we were not offered it at check in. After a speedy efficient check in we found our room. Not the biggest of rooms and not much storage space either, just as well we were only here for 2 nights, we would have struggled to find space for a weeks worth of clothes! The bathroom was functional with luxury bath products and robes. Well stocked minibar (chargeable) but not enough supplies of tea/coffee. My main gripe about the room was the decor, although it didn't spoil our stay i was however surprised by some faults, especially after a multi million pound refurb. There were cracked floor and wall tiles in the bathroom, the ceiling spot lights in the bathroom were loose and the heated towel rail whined all night, there were water stains on the bedroom ceiling and the windows were really difficult to open and close, even for a relatively fit person.
There are some positives about this hotel, the staff are polite and courteous and deliver a high standard of service. We ate in the brasserie on our first evening and although tables are very close together, we did enjoy a lovely meal. Peacock alley is very grand but lacks a bit of atmosphere, maybe a resident pianist?? Breakfast were served in the brasserie, everything from full cooked breakfast through to cereals and fruits.
Would I stay here again, I don't think so. I don't think Hilton have quite got it right with this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytreks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am however sorry to learn of the issues experienced with the standard of room in which you stayed. Although an up-grade had been requested as mentioned, this is a complimentary basis only according to availability. Moreover, I understand that this was a special birthday celebration, unfortunately due to our high business levels; we were unable to provide this on this occasion.

On the other hand, I would like to thank you for your feedback, including your kind remarks on the high standard of service received from our team members. Overall, I do hope that you choose to return to the 'Caley' again in the future, and please contact me directly at chris.logan@waldorfastoria.com should you wish to do so.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,769 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,799 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,820 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Property: Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Address: Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland (Formerly Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#18 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, or the "Caley" as it has become affectionately known among Edinburgh folk, was and still is the epitome of style and excellence. The large, rose-coloured Permian sandstone facade, quarried in Dumfries, dominates the skyline of the city's west end. The hotel has not only remained a focal point for more than one hundred years, but a symbol of the very best of Scottish hospitality. The Caley's pivotal position at the very heart of Edinburgh has always been its greatest asset. Created out of the 19th century railway boom, the five star hotel is looking to the future with confidence and pride in its ability to keep pace with the times. The hotel's reputation is as justified now as it was when the hotel first opened its doors in 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton International Edinburgh
Hilton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing